My WTF moment with the European Trade Regulations

in #europe6 years ago

Background


I purchased some popupar health supplements from the USA.

Apparently it's an amazing product.

I live in Spain and I tried finding a reseller at least in my continent, but that specific product was not available for online purchase anywhere in the EU. I had very good recommedations for that specific product so I decided to go for it despite the long delivery time and extra shipping costs.

So basically I ordered just two items of this fuity juice powder to test it out. The expected time of delivery was 2 weeks. All good, I was eager to try it out!

2 weeks later, Surprise!



I received a letter from the Spanish Custom Authorities explaining that my delivery had been seized. I fucking had my innocent dietary supplements under custody of the customs!

My first reaction was like "Oh c'mon, this must be a freaking Joke". I keep reading the letter, and it basically explain:
"Your customs authority informs you that we temporily hold a sending on your name..."

Now comes the best part: "This procedure MUST be perform for every shipping that is sent from Not Communitary Countrys (non EU) which contains commodities (any article except documents including gifts and personal effects.."

Bureaucracy Nightmare



After calming down and encouraging myself, I decided trying to understand the requirements for the unseizing procedure.

The requirements where "only" the following:

  • Copy of the product invoice
  • Copy of my national ID card
  • Personal data such as telephone number, email address etc..
  • A Customs Form with questions regarding the nature of the delivery and the nature of the purchase (its even required toprovide the website url of the trader)

My personal conclusion

After a mix of anger, disapointment and shame towards Spanish Authorities, I can say with objectivity that this European shithole is finally becoming the infested swamp the EU wants us to be. Extreme regulations and over-sized State control.

Parasitic over abusive regulations are plaguing our lives thanks to our lovely politicians and bureaucrats (both local marionettes and EU bureacrats!).

Dont get me wrong, IT IS NOT ABOUT THE FREAKIN POWDER! Its the trade regulation! Its very symbolism! Its the attack on free trade, on free market. Such an innocent product had to be seized? Really? Why? For what? What does justify it? Who pays for my PRODUCT or THE TIME I'd need to waste filling those carcinogenic Forms! Its a clear assault on my right to trade with no justification (in the letter there was no reason whatsoever explained!)


I value my sanity and privacy, they can go fuck themselves and keep it!

Sort:  

You got a 32.14% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @steemium!

You got a 40.30% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @steemium!



Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 100% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

So you'd like to go back to era where the EU doesn't exist and you have customs and ID checks between every country instead?

Not to mention seperate country valuta and trade tarrifs.. Be glad it's only outside the EU now.

Well atleast you got huge upvotes for complaining about it instead 😉

"Well atleast you got huge upvotes for complaining about it instead"

By bidbots? 😂😂

"Every government interference in the economy consists of giving an unearned benefit, extorted by force, to some men at the expense of others. By what criterion of justice is a consensus-government to be guided? By the size of the victim’s gang."

Ayn Rand,Capitalism: The Unknown Ideal, 205

It is an energy formula that will blow us apart

I'm going through similar getting my Steem branded silver 1oz rounds through Australian Customs.
Here's some paperwork, find the exact description of your specific goods amongst thousands of different products, and write in the corresponding number.
Then we'll just need all of your personal details, how much you paid and to who, with proof, a $90 processing fee, and after a week or two delay we might send your goods on to you.
Have a nice day.

$90 processing fee?? I'm glad I didn't buy any... I was planning on it. But I'm not paying $90 just to get them into the country.

They've nabbed me for it twice now, importing silver. First lot of Steem rounds got through fine, then a delivery of 10oz bars from a private American got pinged for the $90 declaration, now this.

That is insane. I had no idea that that could happen.

Here in Australia i have never had problem, but i know the custom in Spain is quite a headache.
I know that product and it's really good. Is not possible to get it in a sealed bag instead of the tub?

images.png

@disposable, Here in European Trade Regulations I have never had issue, yet I know the custom in losAngles is a significant headache.I realize that item and it's great. Isn't conceivable to get it in a sealed.I was anxious to give it a shot!

You got a 40.85% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70