Vladimir Putin and Vitalik Buterin?

in #ethereum7 years ago

So I just read about this story from cointelegraph:

https://cointelegraph.com/news/suddenly-vladimir-putin-meets-vitalik-buterin-endorses-ethereum

I looks like Russia wants to make a strong play into the blockchain. Interesting timing since this comes a week after Russia has said they are going to create their own cryptocurrency as a country.

725_Ly9jb2ludGVsZWdyYXBoLmNvbS9zdG9yYWdlL3VwbG9hZHMvdmlldy9jOGY5OTlmOTRiYTkyY2Y5YWE5MzU2NTlhMzgzYTdkNy5qcGc=.jpg

(Picture taken from the aforementioned link)

Well, I hope anything built on the ethereum network is successful.

Sort:  

@realcodysimon
I think it's cool that Russia is wanting to participate but I am concerned that this could be a negative, too. Why? Because this could could lead a cryptocurrency into more of a centralized direction, which is the opposite of what most want in the crypto world.

True, I agree with you there. However I think if some countries want to have a sort of digital centralized currency, it might not necessarily be called crypto. But, it would give credence to the blockchain and the trust issues behind it. things like ethereum can always be government proof I believe/hope, but if a dapp is built on the network and it wants to be centralized I'm just happy people are using it.

@realcodysimon
I think your point is well said. :) It's entirely possible that they could do this the right way and possibly work to be beneficial. Time will tell!

Very very interesting. Althought my inclination is that a government would want to participate in a manner to keep control of it somehow. Possibly having the highest investment in their own crypto currency and somehow making it no so decentralized. Thanks for the post. Its definitely got me thinking

Welcome! I agree, most governments must be terrified of crypto. But Russia has always been technologically advanced so my assumption is they want to get on board ASAP and fully understand it so they can be a leader in the cryptosphere

That will be interesting to see how it plays. More countries are going to be forced into changing; they won't be able to stop it.

Thats what I love about blockchain and crypto in general.brings the power back to the people.

Their names go together way to well in my opinion! Glad to see some countries opening up to the idea of cryptos

what i've seen on youtube about russia today reminds me a LOT of the USA I grew up in.

i think government cryptocurrency is coming - bitcoin and altcoins were the test of public opinion and now its time for money system official update...
as fiat replaced gold, cryptomoney will replace fiat - and goverments wont let it be not centralized *just because they can pay with they crypto))))

Very very interesting. This could be really good for cryptos if instead of blocking development, russia starts to work with it.

I think the smart countries realize it's historically impossible to halt progress, so their just jumping in early in the hopes to have more influence.

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43