4 steps to move Ethereum data wallet to other disk on macOS!

in #ethereum7 years ago

I'm using Ethereum Wallet and Mist (0.8.10) from (https://github.com/ethereum/mist/releases/) on macOS Sierra 10.12.5 to store my Ethereum, my laptop is MacBook Pro early 2011 with 2 disk:

  • 01 SSD 120GB (Installed OS and Applications)
  • 01 HDD 500GB (Replace DVDRom with Caddy Bay store my data).

It is cool wallet and very easy to use. But a few days ago, I got a problem, my disk space is not enough to store Ethereum data, it's out of space to store anything. I spent a half hour to looking for solution to move my Ethereum wallet and I resolved my problem very easy. So If you also got same the problem, don't worry! Today, I will show you what did I do to move the wallet data to an other disk.

First

You should backup the keystore  folder to a safe place (keystore folder contains your wallet keys so it is very important to backup to safe place). By default, the wallet data was stored: /Users/your-user-account/Library/Ethereum/keystore. (Replace your-user-account by your user). 

Second

You need to move all file and folder in /Users/your-user-account/Library/Ethereum/ to other disk. In my case I moved to  /Volumes/DATA/CryptoCurrencies/ by mv command with Terminal.

 mv /Users/your-user-account/Library/Ethereum /Volumes/DATA/CryptoCurrencies/ 

It will be taken a while.

Third

Create symbolic link for the wallet by command ln -s. This command create a soft link from /Users/your-user-account/Library/Ethereum to /Volumes/DATA/CryptoCurrencies/Ethereum/. It's mean /Users/your-user-account/Library/Ethereum just a link and do not store any data, the real data will be stored /Volumes/DATA/CryptoCurrencies/Ethereum/

 ln -s /Volumes/DATA/CryptoCurrencies/Ethereum /Users/your-user-account/Library/ 

Fourth

Oops! It's seem just 3 steps to do! Now you can reopen Ethereum wallet and It should be work.

Enjoy it :D !

Sort:  

I am trying to get an Ethereum wallet since last month. I download the zip file but I can't extract the data. This article is helpful. THANKS!!!

You are welcome, doloresreyes!
btw, when you download the zip file, you just need extract and run Ethereum Wallet, the data (ethereum blockchain) will be sync when you connect Internet.

thanks for your sharing

Congratulations @hjt! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hjt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50