Have you ever used Ethereum? Augur as example.

in #eth6 years ago (edited)

To me Ethereum is still in a sort of alpha state. It is being built and tested. We will know if it works once it is productively used.

What does using Ethereum mean?

Quite simple to me it means are there dApps that are being used. But "used" is quite a subjective term.

Clearly people are using Ethereum to send transactions. Also clearly many teams are building dApps. Many are worth many millions of $. And that is the crux! Is the value we put on the projects justified by the value they generate? This in turn should be reflected by the usage, which works sort of as an approval by and end user that the app is providing use.

So when it comes to usage it is not just the transaction count that matters, but also the relation between value and usefulness.

DappRadar

A recent find lets us actually analyze this a bit, with some hard facts. A list of all the dApps on Ethereum and the amount of users can be found on DappRadar.

dappradar.JPG

This is interesting as it lets us check actual progress of the value the Ethereum blockchain brings to end users.

One interesting chart they present is the amount of dApp users as well as money used by such apps

ethusage.JPG

It looks like about 10k users are using dApps every day on average with a volume of maybe 15k ETH per day or a few million $.

Puhhhhhhh…..

I have used Ethereum recently

There are two examples where I have used Ethereum recently other than to invest into the platform itself and sending money from one wallet/exchange to another. I have tried to make a bet on the world cup using Augur and I used Dai to ... ummhh how do I put it .... print money into existence.....

This is in contrast to Steem, which I use daily to read and blog every once in a while.

So here I want to quickly talk a bit about my experience and potential conclusions from it.

Let's Gamboolz!

Augur to me was one of the early and interesting projects. I am a gambler (poker player) so somewhat familiar with the topic. I think blockchains can really change the game as it suffers from high levels of corruption and lots of money grabbing in conjunction with resulting bad user experience.

The think is, that in order to make prediction markets works, you are competing against existing solutions such as Las Vegas as well as online gaming and the new kids on the block that offer such services via bitcoin to work around banking and legal restrictions.

As a blockchain project one has to solve the technical aspect, but also need to be able to roll out and market the new product to compete with the old gard. I kinda saw only a partial solution by Augur, which is why I did not invest in the ICO.

But I was still going to use it.

So when it launched during the world cup I tried to make a bet.

Augur is too complicated

Augur has two issue in my mind: First the UI is way to complicated. I have download an app, that seems to be a wallet. Then I need to use browser with a wallet integration. It took a million steps just to sent my money to the bet, and it was confusing as hell. And I did not really see what was going on. it was kinda like betting in the dark.

I had to use a blockchain explorer to see that my bet was actually sent to the smart contract.

Every action requires an Ethereum transaction, which often does not go thru, because the fees are not set correctly. Its a mess.

Obviously the money I used was not huge, so I was fine with blowing an amount that did not super matter, but I cannot imagine sending any amount of value that matters. Given the fees however making bets under a few hundred dollars does not seem to make sense.

So this was horror from the perspective of having to use Ethereum, as well as Augur itself. Its just bad UI.

augur.JPG

The usage of Augur according to dappradar unfortunately reflects my experience.

augur_usage.JPG

Conclusion

I think the evaluation of Augur is crazy high. 60 users per day is not worth 300M USD. At least I would not want to pay for this. This to me seems like one of these projects that have great idea but part of the solution is just missing.

In this case the onboarding of users as well as the user experience in general are lacking.

Unfortunately this is also a bad reflection for Ethereum, because many of the issues come from the transaction experience with ETH. I have sent several transactions several times, not knowing if they went thru. When you are making a bet this not tolerable.

I am not sure of Augur can be fixed. It would surely be amazing to have an open betting platform that cannot be manipulated.

What do you think?

I want to know If you think Ethereum is usable and what the impact fundamentally is on its value? Do you think Ethereum is failed or do you think it is on a good path and its price is justified.

Sort:  

I have used Ethereum in 2 instances and have a negative observation or experience to share from both these.

  • Used a platform built on top of Ethereum. Was mandatory to install metamask extension, create an account over there and use the addresses over there. Felt like an overhead.
  • First time participated in an Airdrop. The transactions are still being processed on Ethereum network. Feels like it is extremely slow.

I haven't seen such issues while using Steem platform.

Very much appreciate your input on augur and eth.

60 users per day is not worth 300M USD.

Sure give logical explanation as to why augur is not worth what it is priced right now.

New follower. Thanks.

I have mainly used ETH when using Dash wasn't an option or when I just mined some. As for Augur, like many projects, the "potential" of the project is taken into consideration way too much. Basically it's a lot like startup valuation.

On the other hand using Byteball was a breeze. If the team can market it properly and create great incentive based system like Dash/PIVX, they could take over some mess like IOTA while barely trying hard. The fees are tiny, chat bots are great and confirmations still happen in a matter of minutes (most of the time).

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

thanks for give us the latest information

I have used augur but it's slow as hell. We need faster solutions, scalability is one of the biggest issues in crypto right now.

I use Ethereum only to pay gas fees during those token transaction,nothing more. So have only a few dollors of ethereum :)

very interesting and nutritional your content thank you very much !!

@knircky has set 2.000 SBD bounty on this post! logo_for-light-bg_1000.png
What is a bounty exactly?

A bounty is money sent to a post to be distributed to the users commenting on it. It provides a way to reward users directly and works in addition to the steem/sbd they receive from the blockchain. It works independently of SteemPower.

You create a bounty by sending any amount of sbd/steem to @steem-bounty together with a post-url in the memo.

How can I earn a bounty Users are then competing for the bounty by writing their answers to the post in comments that will achieve upvotes from the community and especially the bounty creator. The money of the bounty gets distributed to all top level comments of the post at the same time when the post is paid out (7 Days after it was written). How much everyone gets depends on the votes the comments received. The sender of the bounties votes are weighted higher so that she decideds where 80% of the bounty money goes and all other votes determine the rest.

@steem-bounty does all of this for you automatically. You can use this service to automatically pay out a challenge, ask a hard question or simply to reward the people that interact with you.

Read more about how it works, even in different languages here.

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Although my ether wallet is zero for now,am sure the same way bitcoin grow up etherum may even surpass it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72