My First Day As An eSteem Intern/guest CuratorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteemapp6 years ago (edited)


"There is nothing quite like the feeling, of being awarded a position, desired by passion from within." -Futuremind

Greetings Steemian's,

Today is a special day for me. I've been selected, and awarded the position of Intern/Guest Curator for the eSteem Encouragement Program.

Before I present a comprehensive breakdown of how intend to fulfill this position, it's of the upmost importance for me to express my gratitude to the @esteemapp team.

First, a huge thank you and expression of gratitude to: @good-karma, your hard work and dedication has not gone unnoticed by the community. You are an inspiration to all who value the future of STEEM!

Next, the curators of the eSteem team. If I were to tell you all, just how much time these individuals have dedicated to helping others, while maintaining an active curator role for the community, you might be shocked. I cannot even estimate the copious amounts of time that have been spent to help me prepare for this. Thank you curators, you are all appreciated.

Lastly, but certainly not least! Any and all who contribute to eSteem via developments, right down to the core root of the community base! Each and every one of you are to thank for this amazing journey I am privileged to be a part of!


esteem-best-mobile-and-desktop-client.png

If you are reading this, and are new to the Steem blockchain, you might be wondering a few things. Like:

  • Why am I on Steemit reading about something called eSteem?
  • What is a curator?
  • What is the eSteem encouragement program?

These are probably some questions I would ask if I were new. So let's address them briefly.
Firstly, if you are new, welcome to the Steem blockchain! I am excited to see you here!

Why am I on Steemit reading about something called eSteem? -

Now that is a great question!
The Steem Blockchain is a network of nodes in communication with one another, constantly producing blocks of data which verify transactions with one another, creating an immutable system in which users can remain confident that their transactions are safe, so long as active nodes remain on the network.
Steemit is a web based (frontend) client, which connects you to a user interface in which you can easily interact with the blockchain.
Think of this in terms of a computer operating system. You have the core OS, where all the different process are happening simultaneously, long lines of code, and not something that would make for an enjoyable computing experience for the vast majority. This is where the UI, (user interface) or GUI (graphical user interface) comes into play. The GUI is your mouse, and all the pretty icons displaying on your screen for you to interact with. The GUI essentially gives you an easy way to make changes in processes that are occurring beneath the scenes. Pretty cool right?
What is exceptionally unique about this concept, is that devolopers are able to create their own dApps (Decentralized Apps) that communicate with the Steem blockchain in the same way, or similar fashion as Steemit!
eSteem is built on dApp based utility, creating a portal to your blockchain experience by way of interacting with the same exact nodes! So on eSteemapp you will see posts that were created on Steemit, as well as many others that are currently interacting/transacting with the blockchain and vice versa.

Curator -
Is a community member who "curates" (adds value to) content. In layman's terms, we all "curate" content when we use our stake based vote, (Steem Power, or vesting shares as you might hear reference to) to promote content we find agreeable in terms of quality.

What is the eSteem encouragement program? -

The eSteem encouragement program, is an incentivazation program for Steem users. It's a generous incentive to give back to the community, by way of encouragement votes from @esteemapp
But these votes must be earned! They are not a guarantee, and this is where the perceptive eSteem curators come into play!
Potential eSteem curators are analyzed by established eSteem curators, and this is how the recruitment process goes, as well as self advocating of course. eSteem curators are deemed as community members who've earned a respectable reputation amongst other users, and are deemed to have a keen sense on what is quality, and what is not. Because of the fact that different people have different opinions, eSteem ensures to maintain a variety of different curators. This gives everyone a fair chance to get curated.
There are some guidlines that must be followed in order to recieve the encouragment votes, and as long as guidlines are followed and curators find the content agreeable, you will be offered incentive to use eSteem as your preffered posting choice, by way of votes!
The rules and guidelines of the eSteem encouragement program can be read in our discord

Futhermore, the curators are very responsive with actively engaging with the community, and answering questions regarding any confusions. You can find me in the eSteem discord, and I will be happy to assist in any questions or concerns you may have. If I am unable to assist, I will ensure proper assitence is fulfilled.

Now I will discuss my plans in which I am to serve the community. I have made some executive decisions for myself, and these decisions were made long before the induction of my new role, for I have been mentally preparing for this.

Some of my plans will evolve with time, and much of this will be determined on whether or not I am inducted as a permenant curator. I do not intend to fail the community, so my plans will be on the basis of permanance.

The first decision I made when considering the role of a curator was automation. I have a list of automated votes, in which users I deem as quality posters recieve my auto votes. However, this does not align with my duties as a curator, because I do not have adequate Steem Power to make efficient use of voting power regeneration, while maintaing healthy vote weight. Simply put,
I will no longer be using automation for votes, effective immediately.
For the users who've been recieving my auto's (and I will tag as a courtesy)
I want you to know, that I will still stop by your blogs and support you! That this is not a reflection of any kind of disagreement on my part with what you post. It's important for me to express this, because many of you have given me a great deal of support, and I am not talking the monetary kind. You are my friends, and my Steem family . Although my support might not be as high, as often, I will do my best to maintain voting your exceptional content. I trust, that most of, if not all of you will understand the basis of my decision.

@barge @sanmi @mjhomb @c0ff33a @qurator @canna-curate @geekgirl @horpey @sharpshot @cryptogamestrat @iamjadeline @trudeehunt @dfacademy @helpie @jlordc

This is actually quite an emotional thing for me to do. I really don't want to, but for me to serve the community to my fullest potential, I feel it is the correct move. Much love you, this fine group of Steemian's.
As soon as this is posted, removal process of the autos will commence.

The next order of operation is how I will vote.
My current self vote is 0% and it will remain this way.

As an eSteem curator, self vote for reward of the position is considered acceptable, but because of my opinion regarding VP being a limited resource dictated by time, I feel that voting myself takes away from the community, and this is a misalignment of my goals as a curator.

So, I will vote with curation efficiency in mind, maximizing my curation rewards, and this will serve as ample reward to me, regardless if some of my posts are not voted by eSteem. This is ok with me, because my morals stay in tact!

The rest of my goals are pretty simple and standard as a curator. I will maintain active presence as a full time working Steemian.

I will maintain active presence in the eSteem discord to assist with questions, concerns, comments, and overall eSteem engagement.

I pledge to use the upvmost diligence with my decisions regarding curation of content, and the upmost vigilance in determining abuse of the reward system and/or any other terms of disagreement within the structure of the eSteem encouragement program itself. I will be fair, I will be compassionate, I will be responsive, and I will follow the guidelines.

With this, it is my goal to serve the Steem community in a productive, loyal, and respectable fashion.

Much love to you all. Thank you for this amazing opportunity, and confidence in my abilities to serve you.


@futuremind



Get some good karma into your life, vote @good-karma for witness!

Steem witnesses
bjj27qo8l7.png


Sort:  

Best wishes on your new position on the eSteem Team. Cheers! :-)

Thank you! Cheers!!!

You are doing great and have my support. Do what is best! You have my honor and respect. :)

Awe,🤗 thank you! @iamjadeline , you are such a kind person. I really appreciate the nice words of encouragement and support 😊

Fantastic! This is outstanding post about being a curator! Congrats on your eSteem appointment!

Thank you for all your help and guidance with my journey in preparing for this @horpey, I will not let the team down my friend 🤗

There is always a sense of happiness when awarded a new position congrats on your new position

Thank you for your kind words! I will work hard to ensure I'm able to make a good impression with the community! 😃

congrats Bro... Nice to see you in the Team.
Welcome on board Bro.. 😁

It's been an amazing experience so far! Thank you for the warm welcome bro!!! 🤩

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Really appreciate it Pennsif, thank you :)

Really great stuff FM - full support from me all the way bro 🔆 !

Highly rEsteemed!

SteemIt2.png

Thank you @frankbacon, you're appreciated brother 😎

Thanks bro, that means a lot to me 🤗

it's good to have you on the team! all the best and happy curating :)

Thank you for the faith and confidence. You're a very kind person @jznsamuel, I will work hard to ensure my duties are met, and I will be responsive with the community! Really appreciate it bro! 😎

Great to hear. Couldn't imagine a better curator to encourage and nurture the community.

It feels so nice to have this be so well received by everyone. Thank you for the kind words and support @mjhomb, you have a light in you that shines bright 😉

Nice to know a little bit about esteem curation and their encouragement program. I see how transparent you would want to be in terms of your plans moving forward. You had my respect when you mentioned about self votes. I think the esteem community is blessed to have you. Congrats 🎉

Hi, I'm very honored to have the communities approval! I feel transparency is important in a space like this!

Thank you so much for the blessing! Truly grateful. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52