Social media and a good mental health don't go together

in #esteemapp6 years ago

I have to say it. I hate social media! I hate how it is screwing people's lives and how it drains our energy with its nonsense, multiple hours a day. Now in my title you can see I've mentioned "mental illnesses" also and some of you might ask what has one to do with another. It does and I am not going to rewrite some articles just to make a post today but I am going to offer my take on the matter and also link some interesting articles at the end.

One reason that made me write about this topic is the fact that a friend of mine is suffering from some form of mental illness and unfortunately he's not a rare case. Today I was talking to another friend that is a common friend of us and he said to me that he is amazed how many people are depressed nowadays and have mental problems and he didn't see the reason why. Most of them smart guys working in IT or other related fields.

Now I can't point out towards social media( Facebook, snapchat, Instagram, etc) as the main cause of such illnesses but it's definitely an important one. It is an important one because this type of interaction that it offers is what takes most of our free time nowadays. No matter if we are at the subway, at home, on a launch break or even on a date we can't hold back from checking up on our "friends" on social media and that's a sick thing... It may sound hard but I consider it sick find it hard to stay away from an app and a virtual world.

lonely-1822414_1280.jpg
image source

I say that because on social media everyone posts their happiest moments( some of them being even fake ), on social media everyone seeks for recognition and sometimes conciliation and it's also the place where we "fight" on all sort of topics and discussion themes. In other words it is the place where you go to bombard your brain with all sort of hormones and to burn it out even more after a long day of work. Instead of relaxing it we overwork it and then how can we expect to keep it healthy this way? It has its limits and sometimes pushing them too much it might harm us.

I am out of Facebook and Instagram for a year and a half but I have to say I still "feel" their remains in my thinking and feelings and sometimes when I sneak at other people's phones browsing their feeds I can only feel pity and also feel worried for our future getting more and more into "this mud". Social media creates fake life standards, fake relationships, fake feelings and fake interaction and you can live a quality life "feeding yourself" with these fakes.

Bottom line, in my opinion, there is no app to replace a good talk, there is no life better than yours and there is no better way of spending your free time than with your loved ones or outside and of course there is no need for such social media apps. Absolutely none, not to mention about their tracking abilities which are very often overlooked. I might sound weird and outdated but I think social media is screwing our lives and mental health much more than we can even imagine and in some cases couple relationships and families also. Still, people are diving into it more and more every day and some are going to even celebrate Christmas by scrolling feeds comparing their presents with others. Not me though...

More info on the topic:
https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/social-media-mental-health-negative-effects-depression-anxiety-addiction-memory-a8307196.html
https://www.psycom.net/depression-teens-social-media

Thanks for attention and have a great day...without social media!

Sort:  

Excellent article
You spoke my mind
Having a mental illness is a fashion now a days

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Please sir check my vlog, Every day i post on use @esteemapp but you have not support me.. Why?

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

...but you are using steemit, what is the difference in the end? I have never used facebook or instagram but I know what you are talking about. It is this second-hand world we follow instead of living our proper life. On the other hand, oh man, how much did I learn here and enjoyed fine conversations! Steemit is addictive, I am sure. But so is alcohol and it up to us how much we consume.

Steemit is very different from Facebook. A whole different world. You can't compare it.

Hello @acesontop, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77