A little bit of minimalism never killed anyone

in #esteem5 years ago

...or did it?

Among the many crazy mind in the world, handling a camera, I guess that at least one is wacko enough in order to kill someone or something just for the sake of a minimalist photo. Like in that movie with the guy killing young women in order to make the perfect perfume from their essences.

Nobody thought about this?! More room to grow as a photographer I guess.

1e7a6hswgt.jpg

I'm not a trained photographer but I do like to study. Nowadays it's just as easy as being able to spell, almost correctly. It's a matter of will more than of possibilities. Google is struggling to be as close to everybody as possible so unless you live in some tribe, deep in the jungle, that likes to kill civilized society missionaries, then you could get instructed very easily.
Minimalism came easy to me because I like to look for individual details and I strive to find the angle of shot that separates those details from the crowded world we live in. Sometimes it's harder, sometimes that's a natural thing. It depends on the location, the detail, the moment.
For me minimalism is not only about unanimated things or only about sceneries. I know very well that there are those that claim that minimalism is not about people but I have to disagree. Minimalism is about a lot of things as long as you keep it simple. Or at least try to.
66pieqwr9d.jpg
Yes, this last photo is taken with my Zenit TTL and you can see the flaws in it but I would say one should also notice that the lack of details helps the minimalist composition. I personally think that a camera which captures little detail can help with the compositions in this cases. Yes, the contrast is not even close to what it should have been and that aspect damages the overall feeling of the composition but the fact that it lacked to take the details of the crows is a plus in my humble opinion.
b0zax2cdwo.jpg
As I'm not really a photographer, by the nature of my income, I need to invent occasions on which I photograph. Moreover I lack the time to only do tha, so minimalism in my photography just pops-up and it's really inventions of my eye. Sometimes they work, sometimes they're just bullshit.
And I like to gather them, over time. I'm not the kind of photographer on the blockchain that will claim your attention for just a photography because I don't have the certainty that it's just that good.
"Less is more", that's how I see minimalism. Try to express a heavy emotion through few visual things. Even a combination of simple patterns or lines can take you up to a very nice minimalist composition. So try it!

That's what I always say!

g4a6puwg4a.jpg

Don't just look at it. We don't shoot on film anymore and it doesn't cost more than the camera usage to take a shot that impressed your eye. It may look like nothing at first, in the small camera LCD. Take it into Lightroom. Play a little with it. After all photohraphy was never ONLY about straight out of camera information but it was harder in the past to just play with the composition the way we can play today.

cbxz1gosst.jpg

I'm always trying to have a simple subject so I tend to find minimalism even if I zoom in. And I always zoom in physically, going there, getting in the face of the subject. That's because I'm using a fixed 50mm lens in 99% of the cases. I know my lens inside out and I'm so close to it that we learned to help each other through this cheap symbiosis.

pso3jar4cp.jpg

What I like about minimalism is the fact that it doesn't really hold a lot of rules so "the beauty is still in the eyes of the beholder". You can play on its margins a lot, debate about it and you can find a lot of reasons why it is minimalism while your debater arguments for the opposite.

What about you, my blockchain photographer friends? Do you shoot minimalism? Or do you have examples of minimalism in your archive that you never thought they were worthy enough to post?

Drop your pic in the comments, maybe I'll learn something today eh? :) I'll try to upvote everything.

pblm0a4aya.jpg

Sort:  

I absolutely love minimalism in photography. I often shoot more 'complex' stuff with my mirrorless camera and on my iPhone I tend to do more minimalist shots, since I don't expect them to be perfect but I just like to grab a few details. I'll share this that I posted this week on my blog:

These were two layers of nature basically, one a straight plant, the other trees. I 'layered' them over one another so it's barely visible. Most of it is grey sky without any contrast whatsoever, so a lot of negative space.

https://s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/backend-alpha-kw-50/45b15f5887ac7224fc8aee12934eecab

You say you're not a photographer but I kinda dig these shots! :-) Glad to got pointed to your profile via my contest. I'm following from now on - Cheers!

Hey thanks :) You’re not bad either :p I like the way you lined up the shot. What I like to do as well, especially when I see a clear delimitation line between the subjects and the background, like the sky is in your shot, is to try and get that line aligned to one of the horizontal ones in the “rule of thirds”. I never shoot without the grid :) As far as I can tell you are usong the grid too or you are having it well imagined in your head. I guess we both need to thank @photostef ‘cause I followed u since I checked out your profile and i liked what I saw.

Hehe, yes, the rules of thirds is a great one! Really works! I never use the grid because the 'rules' are in my head... Plus... Sometimes I really like breaking the rules as well ;-) I've been doing photography for over 13 years now so certain rules or preferences become your sort of 'style' :-) Yes, I agree, we have to thank Stef for connecting us! Talking about a great photographer... ;-)

No need to thank me, I am just glad I pointed to the right direction :)

I studied photography the old-fashioned film way. The first class on the school was to shoot lines, the second one to shoot shapes and the third one to shoot subjects in the round. The lesson to be learned was that subtraction (you can call it minimalism) is the mother of every composition.
I have no idea where those pictures are now...

I guess that studying the basic shapes of the surroundings is a normal thing. If I were younger for sure I would start a photography course just to start learning from 0 all that it is to learn... unfortunatelly I’m old :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

First of all you are not old (because that would have made me older) and second learning is a non stopping process for all of us. Anyway you are doing just fine without the school :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post is supported by $0.09 @tipU upvote funded by @photocircle :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97