MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

Seasons Greetings from Scarborough, Australia!

What does Christmas mean to me?

Firstly, I'd like to Thank Steemit and all my Steemit friends for a very interesting and fulfilling year. I joined in January, not really understanding what it was all about and like most of us, there have been times when it has been a big effort to log in and interact.

We've all had certain expectations and disappointments but there is still such a lot of positivity circulatiing on a daily basis and I make sure to take time to read encouraging view points with regard to the future of steemit and crypto as it helps to keep me motivated and 'on track,' to reach my desired goals.

I really do appreciate the wonderful support and encouragement I have received throughout the year and I'd like to thank all of you for making it possible for me to express myself creatively on this platform. This has been such a vital part of my recovery after a lengthy withdrawal process from addiction to prescription drugs.

No longer a repressed hermit, I embrace life with every fibre of my being and many of you have played a big part in helping me find myself again. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart!

4pnvzueu58.jpg

The images from this post were all taken from one home in Brisbane.

For many years an elderly grandmother has assembled all her Christmas paraphernalia from a large shed at the back of her house to spread joy to anyone who would like to visit, by producing an elaborate and beautiful display in her front yard. It takes her five weeks to set it all up.

7vhg3237n7.jpg

She has a nephew who is an electrician and he devotes his time to help her with the millions of lights which make up this awesome display each and every year.

0rn4ezkbqu.jpg

Some people have a gift for giving. And the lady of this house is one of them.

x1iba4g3bw.jpg

We met her granddaughter when we were viewing this marvellous Christmas display. In between giving out free candy canes to children, she hid behind a wall and sprayed the kids with artifical snow which surprised and delighted everyone.

q1x31rpjr6.jpg

Snow in Brisbane is a very rare thing so when this happened, it created a happy and festive atmosphere. Unfortunately the photos I took didn't turn out but I think you can imagine what a treat this was.

hfrltckxrh.jpg

I got to thinking about this grandmother who has dedicated her home and her time to the citizens of Brisbane for many years. She asks nothing in return for her labours of love and I imagine she looks forward with anticipation to November when she can start to build her Christmas wonderland in her garden.

sow9ku0arr.jpg

Each year she adds more and more items to her display. How much this has cost her over the years is unknown, but I'm sure it would be significant. Has she counted the cost? I don't think so. Has she sacrficed goods she'd like for herself? I'd assume the answer to this question would be, 'Yes.'

t4xe08o84z.jpg

When I saw the number of toys, dolls, Christmas stockings, decorations and santa figurines everywhere, I also saw the grandmother as she was, as a young girl.
.

ifp1rvkrmg.jpg

How important it is for us to be able to cherish traditions whatever they are, and to keep them alive in our hearts, especially if we are not able to re-produce them physically the way this grandmother is able to do.

zznhua7jku.jpg

It is those constants that help us focus on the important things in life and more importantly, the things that really matter in the lives of those that really matter to us.

There are awards given for the best and most popular Christmas displays and this one received Runner Up recognition for the 4KQ Northern Suburbs, Christmas Light Competition.

Is this what inspires the grandmother of this home to do what she does every Christmas? No. After talking to her granddaughter, I am convinced that these awards are very secondary, as she gets so much pleasure from seeing the joy on the faces of hundreds of children.

2upqda1hew.jpg

We all have the ability to be generous, to provide peace, to give comfort and to love. But the willingness to do these things sacrificially is where we often fail.

35iiz3ntfa.jpg

What I have observed over the years is that when someone gives sacrificially, it prompts others to do the same. It instigates feelings of goodwill, self worth, acceptance and peace.

bb9xvzmmaw.jpg

It encourages us to look within to see how we can make a difference in the lives of others.

evv9vk3tfw.jpg

We do not have to be wealthy in order to give. In fact, I have lived with some of the poorest people in the world and I've noted that they are people who love to give.

They have no real expectations of receiving but when they are given the smallest of gifts they value it like gold. But not gold to hold on to selfishly. Gold that is shared without hestitaion, amongst their loved ones.

x13ja8rgvp.jpg

They have so little and yet they are the happiest of people and the joy they receive in sharing what little they do have, is profoundly moving.

Have you noticed how some rich people like to tell the world what they have given? I believe they do it to derive a sense of justification for enjoying their wealth on lavish scales. It's great that they give. Don't get me wrong. But giving from the heart without needing a pat on the back for doing so, is more powerful in my opinion.

lt3pp3riwo.jpg

I have been employed by extremely wealthy people in the past. I mean billonaires.

erkrmbknkf.jpg

Were they happy people? No. Were they secure in their wealth? No. The wife confided in me one day that she was always fearful of loosing what they had and she would be forced to live without all the 'trappings' of wealth.

gqj3aa0fom.jpg

Trappings is an interesting word is it not? I witnessed every day just how 'trapped' this wealthy couple were and it was very sad to see.

ikjv9bsqi8.jpg

Their mansion was an elaborate shell. It lacked warmth and atmosphere. It was crammed full of antiques, expensive jewellery, designer labelled clothes and 'trophies' some that never saw the light of day and rarely did dust have time to settle on the luxurious furniture before it was vigorously removed.

f2i0dfyano.jpg

This couple were not close. They shared a house. But it was not a home.

8orgjp73nx.png

For a house to become a home it needs a heart. And that heart needs to beat with the vibrations of loving friends and family. Presents are great but the best gift we can give is ourselves. Our time. Our attention. Our love. Regularly.

8ryp2hiivn.jpg

This is what Christmas means to me. The greatest gift of all......the son of God, the King of Kings who humbled Himself to be born in a lowly manger, without fuss and fanfare, and without the need for a grand royal entrance, so that He could teach us about sacrificial and unconditional love.

And To Be Loved.......regardless or in spite of, our wrongly perceived and often mis-judged 'status in life.'

ne4h6xfrtz.jpg

tzy8sf1n4o.jpg

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Sort:  

Merry Christmas Trudeehunter!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much shaidon I hope you are having a wonderful day and I wish you every success for 2019.

Enjoyed and love this post! Merry Christmas!

You have collected your daily Power Ups!
Learn how to power up smart here!

That's good to hear @violetmed Your visit and support are much appreciated. Blessings.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you Danielle. I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you all the very best for 2019.

My Christmas Card .jpg
Merry Christmas Trudee
(100% upvote)
Original Image from last year

Thanks very much Jerry. I hope you had a very enjoyable Christmas.

Wow what wonder Christmas photos! So many cool
displays, sights and colors! Very lovely!!

Merry Christmas 🎄 Happy Solstice & New Year @trudeehunter!

Thank you for your visit @shasta. All the very best for 2019.

Congratulations @trudeehunter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 comments. Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Merry Christmas, dear Trudee.
What an amazing place. This lady really has the spirit of Christmas. What she does for the kids is simply amazing.
Can you imagine how world would be if more people will consider giving instead of gathering?

Thank you dear Roxy. It would be a wonderful indeed if there were more people in the world like this grandmother. Actually, I do believe the world is made up of millions of kind and caring people but the media focus mainly on the negatives and we get a distorted view of the lives of average citizens.

Enjoy the countdown to the New Year my friend.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=merry-christmas-everyone


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50