fondness of Franklin Street, September 22nd

in #esteem5 years ago

She was tall and gentle, and I like her because she’s like me. Quiet, but a mischievous smile about her face, cheeks swollen with delight, like she knows something. Not so much the color in her eyes, though remarkable like gems, yet I always find myself driven to her, the jokes, a shoulder punch on occasion; whenever she spoke my nickname, I stood at attention. Often, I look past the new fire station, at the left turn down the hill, past the shady grove of trees, and I see her house on the corner. What could explain this bashful aversion with straightforward manner when I saw her? A muted infatuation, nay, a reverent affection at times I could feel my heart in my throat, the blood rush, audible in my ear, other times, a blushing warmth knowing at times, she noticed.

Many times, others, it felt, could engage her, charm even, and while I could boast a comedian, she favored them over my awkward demeanor. To leave the household at the age was laced with stringency, responsibility sits on the shoulders of a firstborn. I retrieve my brother most days, by piggyback once junior high let out, and await my sisters’ arrival via school bus. Those days, kids could visit the local house of pizza or the park down the street, sit on the courts against the fence, or warp the utility bin behind the field house, the recreational lot of land in full view. Most days, I could be found at the library, devoid of a delinquent’s influence, I read and read, and surged and thought my crush often. Perhaps, the solitude of an only child holds room for growth and development unique to the individual. That small town was my whole world, idyllic, innocent, days grew the kids like trees, tall and together rooted. My heart, no; I managed the affair and sealed my heart, at least a portion remains in the groves on the south shore.

Existence is mysterious; thus, this author of confusion remains uncertain of what dispensations of his time to unearth, and testify to, scribbling tomes and recording imagery of the past. Is there room to return? Perhaps not, but today with the reverence of a sabbath, I revisit those days, that town, these memories, as I begin again; to seek meaning and give these objects in my life permanence. Hesitations to touch subjects so far removed, so charged like offshore power, the resource is an internecine project. Almost too long since acknowledgement, like an over-ripened fruit, forgotten times sit rotten. Images are but a visual aid to experience, supplementing memory where it falters. Photography is an exercise for the forgetful. But I could never forget the blessing of a birthday celebration at a budding age, sixteen. Photography is an exercise for the forgetful. Invitations went far and wide, to span cross timelines, junior high and high school, Holbrook and Belmont, a bash of braggadocious bounty. This festivity needs more justice, much of the story does, but she arrived demurely as ever. No image could capture the cleft of her cheeks, swollen dimples, the subtlety of her form in a dress, white to match my suit, in black trim. I would’ve no sooner asked her hand in marriage, such is the fervor in the springtime of youth. I miss her, I miss that day, I live for these moments.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations and keep up the great work!

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Follow the curation trail to earn while supporting great photography on STEEM

Visuals can be guide towards experience, potentially, at least. Yeah, existence is pretty mysterious and that is why it is treasured, uniquely.

Hello @thatkidsblack, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for the support, truly. I can keep it up because people notice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51