A squirrel raiding peanuts!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago

62jehym9qy.jpg

Warming himself in the early morning sun!

We are blessed with a large palm tree on our new property and also with the presence of many squirrels. So what we lost at the last home was doubled at our new home.
Check this guy's actions!

g2521eqs4o.jpg

But then he spotted some food!

v6f48lernd.jpg

Aah Jackpot! Somebody lost some peanuts here!

85gfdc28m5.jpg

Hangs upside down to eat and to watch the nuts below in case another squirrel comes!

nw7im9ecvi.jpg

He is only hanging from his hind paws on the palm tree trunk whilst eating with his front paws!

l32r9yzuil.jpg
Here he moved lower down as when this nut is done, he could get to the rest faster!

They are indeed lively little critters and one also ran into our house this morning. Our little dog almost had a heart attack, but thankfully a window was open and the squirrel escaped.
I am surely going to have much more fun with them in the future!

Hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

PHC-Footer-05.gif

f6ktvemotl.png

Sort:  

Awww. I love watching squirrels too. If I'm not mistaken, they are already starting to collect for the winter here in Germany. At least I've seen some on the fields the last days.

Thank you my friend.
The strange thing is that we are now slowly starting our spring season here in South Africa.
I have taken many photos of them burying their nuts before the winter that is now over.
Thank you for stopping by.
Blessings!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

what cool shots I am always fascinated by how agile the squirrels can be as you have shown us here with it hanging upside down and eating

Thank you JJ.
How are your posts doing?
I have seen a slump into only cents for my posts and I don't know if it's due to the steem value dropping?
Blessings!

Most welcome and yes my posts have dropped as well,I think its a mix of the value of Steem and it seems to me that quite a few have stopped posting of recent and also of voting or commenting which is having an impact

Squirrels are the funniest little creatures. I remember once I must have uprooted some of their stash when I planted a bush, because I saw two frantically digging all around the new bush, I think looking for food. Was funny.

Thank you and oh yeah, they are also very inventive as they can find the most amazing places to stash their nuts.
And they never forget where they planted their nuts.
Blessings!

Coming into the home, Troy is going to have fun, better hide the nuts away!

Lovely photography of nature in the new surroundings Stephen.

Thank you Lady Joan, we think that we will be happy here. Early days yet and in all honesty I am struggling with the idea of finally settling down, but time will tell, as it always does.
Blessings!

Good to have a home base, it looks comfortable and in a reasonably quiet area, planning to go out learning the area is where the fun lies.

Settling after the moving for the last couple of years always makes it hard to accept you no longer need to worry about finding a place to call home.

Thank you Lady Joan and oh yeah, the many new discoveries await.
My entire life thus far has consisted in moving from place to place ever since we left the farm when I was a child. I must have been in several primary schools and even in an afrikaans and a different english high schools. It sowed the wandering seeds and didn't get any better after my first marriage at the age of 20. Then I moved around to even more places, as I forever worked in the country.

Now all of a sudden it's sounds like it's all over! Just like that!
It will surely take some doing to get used to methinks, but at least we can go out for long drives.
I am sure tat I will cope, eventually Lol
Blessings!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Very cool sir papilloncharity! I didn't know they could hang upside down like that for a long time!

Thank you Sir @janton and they are simply amazing critters.
Blessings!

Hanging upside down for humans is supposed to be really good for your back but I haven't tried it and if I did I don't think I'd be eating at the same time! lol.

Maybe you should give it a go my friend?
I mean, how bad could it be and maybe it could sort out you back problem?
Or then again if you don't have a back problem, then maybe afterwards you would have one hahaha
Blessings!

lol! Well, we are planning on putting in a home workout gym and we want one of those hang up things because they really are super healthy for the spinal cord. They align your back and nerves, relieve stress and bunched up vertibrae, and some other things that I can't remember. lol. Oh yeah, they help your memory by flooding your head with blood!

Wow! So one of these days we will have a new series about spine alignment with nail tags of a certain Texan having upside down squirrel style hahaha.
Blessings!

lol! that's a great idea, I can use your hanging squirrel photo too!

Ah! So that's why I posted the hanging squirrel.
I knew there was an unexpected message for someone in that post my friend Lol
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50