AUTUMN QUINOA 🧡🌿🧡

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Foodies,

This weekend is the last one of the summer season, at least here in North America and Europe. Although, we are having a beautiful weather today, and it doesn't feel like autumn is around the corner, the calendar says it is!

Anyway, here in Canada we are also going to celebrate our Thanksgiving very soon, which is on OCTOBER 14th. Our stores an supermarkets are are already in a Holiday mood, there for I thought I better get with the program, lol.

I made this simple Quinoa with Roasted Yams just to get started, which turned out delicious. And even though I am having hard time letting summer go, the smell of autumn cooking does make me feel little better.

rt6cgau502.jpg

AUTUMN QUINOA
Quinoa with Roasted Yams, Beets & Thyme
Vegan – Gluten Free
Author: Lena's Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS
• Quinoa 1 cup
• Yams 4 small or 2 large (or sweet potatoes)
• Red beets 2
• Golden beets 2
• Red onion ½ diced
• Sunflower Seeds
• Apple cider dressing ¼ cup
• Himalayan pink salt
• Dry thyme 1tsp
• Dry rosemary 1tsp
• Fresh thyme ¼ cup

PROCESS
• Cook quinoa by following the instructions on the package and set aside.
• Preheat the oven to 375F.
• Peal the beets and yams and cut into quarters than slice the quarters into triangles.
• Place into a bowl and mix with dressing and onion.
• Transfer into a casserole dish and sprinkle with dry herbs.
• Cover with lid and bake for 40min.
• In the meantime, roast the sunflower seeds on on hot frying pan until golden brown. You may reduce the heat and stir with spatula. It takes only couple of minutes. Make sure they do not burn.
• When ready, take the lid off and check if the veggies are tender by piercing them with fork.
• Toss the veggies with spoon, add little bit more dressing and set the oven to 500F. Roast for 10 more min.
• When ready, mix all with quinoa, sunflower seeds and fresh thyme.

jr28evq8oc.jpg

APPLE CIDER DRESSING
• Organic Apple cider vinegar 1/3 cup
• Maple syrup ¼ cup
• Avocado oil ¼ cup (or oil of your choice)
• Garlic minced or powder 1tsp
Mix all in a bowl or shake in a mason jar.

f2a4os6g5d.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT
FOR RECIPES PLEASE VISIT MY Lena's Vegan Living Blog

qp7kqls8bm.gif

xdtrk7rypl.png|

xvn49swa4x.png

Sort:  

❤️ Autumn=Harvest ❤️

It uses to be a time of abundance, then we invented the global express market...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Delicious vegan treat for real food lovers yumyumyum

Thank you so much Michel 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much 😊

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Thank so much, I am so grateful 😊

Congratulations @lenasveganliving! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much 😊

Hello lenasveganliving!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thank you so much my Dear 🧡

I think I just might make something similar this week! This type of dish always hits the spot for me. Such delicious flavors. I got some beets at the farmers market this morning, and we've got plenty of butternut squash to work with for my own hint of fall. Thank goodness we have had some cooler evenings as it still feels quite hot here, as well! I still think I might have chili on the menu for the week just because I'm craving it regardless of the temperature! :)

Thank you so much Katie I am glad you like it 😍

Oh yeah! I wouldn't mind some chili neither! And by the way I make my with butternut squash, but it would would go perfect with this mix as well. The squash time is coming so I have to make some recipes before the end of October.

oh my goodness this looks and sounds amazing my dear :) You are definitely ushering Autumn in with a tasty dish! Your Apple Cider dressing sounds delicious, I'm definitely going to have to try this. Love it!

Well, I don't want to be behind the trend, lol. Thank you so much my Dear, I am happy you find it appetizing; that means a lot to me 🧡😍🧡

I miss quinoa so much, we had it while in Ecuador almost every day. Here in Suriname it is nowhere to be found. It's too hot and wet here to grow. I do miss it so much, it's so much more filling than rice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66