Using Shutter Speed For Effect

in #esteem6 years ago

How often do you come across a scene and think about different ways to capture it by controlling your shutter speed?

This can be one of the most effect means of creating "special effects" in-camera instead of by using software after the fact. I've got two very simple examples to show you.

Nikon D750, 1/800s f/6.0 ISO1600 450mm
3bn60mwq7w.jpg

The first shot is very straight forward. I saw this fellow on the leaf blower and I wanted to freeze the action so that the leaves in the air would be clear and in focus. I set my shutter speed to 1/800 second and you can see the result. There's nothing too special here but I thought the light was nice. That got me thinking.

Nikon D750, 1/40s f/10.0 ISO800 250mm
welvc9u9bt.jpg

What if I wanted to allow some motion to come into the shot? I wondered how I could blur the leaves but keep the driver in focus. This would capture more of the essence of the scene which was all about the motion and noise. It took some trial and error and several shots to accomplish. (Yes, I know there's no sound but if I really got this right, you might hear the sound in your mind!)

I like to use slow shutter speeds like 1/20th or 1/30th second for panning shots, but that proved to be too slow for this scene because the driver and tractor were also in motion. Eventually I hit on 1/40th of a second, and with a bit of luck I caught the leaves in motion but the driver remained sharp.

Now I was hardly invisible standing there with my big zoom lens, taking shot after shot. If you look closely you can see the driver is giving me an annoyed look... And that's how I came to have a restraining order, and can no longer come with 500 metres of the park! ;)

Have a great weekend my friends, and happy shooting!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub

You can see our daily report in this link

Thank you very much @phototalent!

oh wow those are both super cool shots sir keithboone! I suppose that guy is used to people hanging around taking pictures.

He didn't seem too happy with me because I spent five minutes or more... I would take a shot, check the back of the camera, and try again. He must have wondered what the heck I was doing! Lot's of people in the park with cameras, but I was pointing that huge lens of mine straight at him from about 40 yards out. Nope, he didn't like me much, but he just kept working ;)

ha! That's right, you have that huge lens, lol. Lucky he didn't try to run over you!

I know, I was getting worried! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28