F is for Fruit - My Entry for A - Z Photography Contest Week 6

in #esteem6 years ago

l5xtdtjh0j.jpg

My photo essay about fruit is for Week 6 of the A - Z Photography Contest by @sustainablyyours.

You can enter too for a chance at SBI shares and @steemmonsters cards too!

My post has a lot of random fruit photos and some health information too; so please enjoy!

In my opinion, this is the "best" photo of the bunch :)

57n2b19icc.jpg

This papaya was sold by a street vendor with a table out in my Bangkok neighborhood. I don't know why the ends are cut off on the orange ones. They were large, tender, delicious, and about 75 cents usd each.
lfdniv2k8q.png

I eat the seeds of papaya for the peppery taste and anti-inflammatory properties. The seeds are used to make a pill you can buy for inflammation so I get them at the source when I can.

yt3t50pos1.png

A big, heavy banana bunch is out to ripen in Northern Thailand with my foot for scale. These were some of the best bananas I have ever eaten even though they are not my favorite food.

npj6ajctb3.jpg

My deformed toes are much more deformed now from Rheumatoid Arthritis and this is why I look for anything and everything I can find to fight inflammation.

Below are the best grapes I have ever had the Farmer's Market in Coronado California. Expensive and only available two weeks a year.

te2eb0alsc.jpg

Fruit is a demonized food category in the world of diet these days. When I was fat - fruit was off my list with a lot of other good food. But I was drinking "diet" drinks full of chemicals so this may have been why I was not able to lose.

There are so many benefits in fruit! If you eat French Fries or other garbage food, you can eat fruit for the benefits.

We are looking to increase your intake of the 31 essential nutrients.

3tvsb7z0ju.jpg

Fruit has some of them, and other healthy aspects too. Here is what the Worlds Healthiest Foods site has to say about fruit if you want to get your reading on.

What is the Special Nutritional Power Found in Fruits and Vegetables?

And here are their top fruits from the site. Try them all and see which ones you like get a couple of servings and day and see how you do.

4l9rks576b.jpg

All fruit is cheaper and better in season. Take this list to your phone and start looking for these fruits while you shop. Buy small amounts of the cheapest and best looking fruit off this list each week and don't stick to just one or two.

This "hunt" for good food is a good task for your kids while you are shopping. Have them look all over the produce section to find the good deals.

Don't forget dried and canned fruit. These are both good for convenience, cost, and to have them on hand.

Get organic when you can, especially for the "Dirty Dozen" fruits. These are the "most sprayed" by pesticides.

For example:

When was the last time you ate an apricot? They are good fresh or dried.

  • Chop dried apricots and put into a mix with nuts, seeds and grains for a muesli type snack. Also good in salad that way.
  • Put a fresh apricot in your smoothie or just eat it.
  • Soak dried apricots, chop, and add to baking.
  • Seek healthy recipes including apricots by searching on the internet.

Back to Photos!

My Bangkok friends are preparing and selling Durian in season from a cart out in front of their home. Thy do this every year for a few weeks.

czlin8bnaw.jpg

Durian processing is not an easy job. Those things are very heavy with rind like a rock.

lmsda9002x.jpg

Some people will buy whole one, but most people are lined up to get these delicacies as fast as my friends can cut and wrap them.

vegbha0lfo.jpg

Not fast enough.

d4nl7fntq6.jpg

Here is the gold and they had to really dig for it.

cv5n324tny.jpg

Durian smalls strongly and the fruit is a bit like pudding in texture. It's better frozen to my western taste.

This glass of watermelon juice below was found at a restaurant in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia and is well worth the trip. They have a juicer and make it when you order it.

If you are drinking juice in the US, do not get blends or anything reconstituted. All of that has fluoride and other chemical additives you do not need. Consume less crap and you will feel better.

s30s6zlwvs.jpg

Jackfruit is a "superfood." The fruit is a bit like gum in texture, and you have to really chew it. There is a big seed inside to roast. So yummy, filling, and very cheap everywhere I have been in SE Asia. This pack is 3-5 day's worth for 60 cents usd.

I will buy some for my trip to Singapore next week and it will be a good addition to my traveling food.

pbgmoiq69y.jpg

Here are many different varieties of oranges at the Farmer's Market in Chula Vista California. The lemons in front were strong and sour.

c19vkyww40.jpg

Limes from the Coronado Farmers Market with pomegranate to the left and persimmons behind.

f1c1orexj2.png

Chopped street pineapple, pumpkin, and sweet potato in the bowl waiting for some dill and lime to be squeezed on. I also added sunflower seeds and coconut oil for a very delicious lunch.

nybbburca2.jpg

Wash your produce with baking soda and vinegar (not shown). Just do it one time and you will never not do it again. Citrus is especially dirty.

n98fni1oam.png

Here is a photo I entered to a contest long ago and it won!

44vhm5fldy.jpg

But I entered this photo too so long ago, and I like it better, so this is the photo I am entering for the contest!

57n2b19icc.jpg

Fruit is very diverse and you cannot find easy lists with the health benefits for them in general, but here are some ideas from musely.com:

2sekznctpk.png

and more from holistichealthjournal.me:

evszlp4ku1.png

Thank you for the contest, @sustainablyyours. I will be back next week with a blockbuster entry for the letter "G" so don't miss it!

= =

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here. These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What do do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

Recent events have not been easy, and you can read about them here:

Situation Critical – My rent and wifi are not paid and now are both overdue

UPDATE: I am so happy and relieved to tell you that:

  • my rent and a wifi top up have been paid.
  • the money sent to my US paypal account has arrived, through Thailand to Malaysia!

A bigger post describing current events will be posted soon, but I want to let anyone checking on me know that the first part of the situation is solved and that at least I will not be cut off from the world without a roof over my head.

And I can afford to go to Singapore for my required visa trip. Can you go to Singapore for three days and spend a total of $75 USD? Watch me!

I am so grateful to you all.

I am dedicated to STEEM and trying hard to carry on with your help. Here are some ways you can help and I would love to hear of any suggestion you may have for me.

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD to @fitinfun

I live in the 3rd world - yes, one STEEM will help me.

Here is what you can also do to help:

Follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@bxlphabet
@fitinfunfood

We post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@bxlphabet
@fitinfunfood

Delegate SP to any of us

Upvote any of our older posts which are close to payout.

If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

If you can do more and think my presence here has value, I hope and pray you will.

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is almost Super Bowl Sunday. Statistics say that only 5% of people with health resolutions for the New Year will still be on track. Is your fitness equipment still out and are you still on a "diet?"

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. I started on December 5th and did not give up. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Be happy you do not see the fruit over here. Not much choice and expensive. Two small bananas 1 euro. So that will be the only fruit for my kids for this week, perhaps pineapple (canned... small can 2 euro) with yoghurt.

Btw better do not see my toes

Posted using Partiko Android

lol - I think we are the same person sometimes. Mine look crazy now - going in all directions.

The farther north you go, the more expensive the fruit. What do they grow locally there? That is your best bet for produce.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 174 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

It's always nice to see you, and I hope your dream for me comes true @trufflepig!

Your post has been sent to the promoted section of Steemit
because of your participation in our Followers Appreciation Promotion !

Thank you so much! I really appreciate this help.

Awesome, as usual! I've heard bad, bad things about durian fruit, but I wouldn't mind trying some jack fruit! Enjoy your travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31