Flood Damage Inspector Bangkok Thailand - Peoplephotography by worldcapture Week #12

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

We had a terrible flood in my Bangkok Thailand neighborhood last winter. A small soi canal runs a few houses in front of this home and the trash in it blocked the water’s heavy flow.

I did not even hear a storm that night. By morning many feet of water had backed up into most of the homes and streets behind me. A couple of hours later, the water receded and everything it touched was now a water-logged mess.

People came and saved what they could for the next many days. This shot was taken a few weeks later when the destroyed buildings were being torn down.

A neighborhood boy came over to inspect some of the damage caused by that awful event.

ddrdckzj0m.jpg

Unlike in the us, the site was not secured. The street in front of this former home is only wide enough for motorcycles and this is only one small part of the ruins.

Notice the Buddhist shrine in the lower left. I do not know if it had been there before. My view was previously blocked by a house that is gone by the time I took this photo. But the shrine was still active and attended until the whole place was finally leveled down to the dirt.

I’m posting to the weekly peoplephotography contest by @worldcapture and nominating @fotostef to participate too since he has great people in his photos.

okqyugrc33.jpg

Are you worried about gaining weight over the holidays?

Or are you just going to worry about it later?

December 2011 is the month when my weight loss efforts really took off. Please follow my blog for weight loss information, or contact me directly if you would like some individual help.

Sort:  

Commenting to see if I can.

Thank you, @fitinfun, I'm already in. I think ;) Good luck and have good holidays!

Thank you for letting me know. Great shot you put in :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for participating again @fitinfun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89