Because Farmers Have All Kinds of Stone Working Skills - Freewrite Day 727

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

3wrk55z4xw.jpg

I saw miles upon miles of stone walls when I went to Rhode Island for the Navy. I was there a few times for conferences and drove around a lot to get dinner and to see the sights. This was my first and only New England experience and these walls made an impression on me.

4pv1rmjeu0.png
source

Supposedly farmers made these walls all over New England in the 1700’s and 1800’s while clearing land to farm. Most of the walls are very well built and not falling apart now. Some are in stands of trees. None have mortar, and all are straight as straight can be.

What is the likelihood that thousands of farmers eeking out their existence on the land could all decide to make walls like these? They are not high enough to keep out wildlife and are made with such skill. Did they all carry rocks by hand in their free time?

New England Is Crisscrossed With Thousands of Miles of Stone Walls

I had a teacher in high school that used to say, “All of history is a mystery and you should believe none of it.” In the case of these stone walls, he and I are on the same page.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest for the prompt of “stone wall.” Freewrite is a great way to post on STEEM when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting, and I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

steemitmamas.png

vppq9tmex7.png

Sort:  

I used to do stone walls all day long in sun and cold, it's hard work but satisfying when the wall is done...

I imagine it to be back-breaking work, @wales. Do you feel like it took skill, or can anyone who is strong do it?

I was taught by a stone mason how to build the different kinds of walls, dry stone walls, cement walls, and lime walls, the hardest is the lime walls. I picked it up fairly quick as I liked to build things and walls of stone were a puzzle that suited me. I've done a few posts on walls but can only find this one for you: https://steemit.com/stone/@wales/how-to-build-a-dry-stone-wall-in-the-garden

Those are some beautiful wall pics in your post. I have arthritis and can barely hold a pen or open a doorknob, so I can only imagine what it would feel like to carry rocks all day. I might carry one and my hands would be gone for a week :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Those walls are intriguing! Beautiful photos.

Posted using Partiko Android

They really give me thoughts too, @wandrnrose7. It was so amazing to see them everywhere near all roads. I just don't know about farmers having all the same idea and skill level.

They probably came in handy as windbreaks, snow breaks, to sit on, and to do something with stones you don't want in the field. the ones in a forest could have been next to a plot of land that became forest again. I have built walls in my yard to do something with the stones...

Maybe - I just find it hard to believe that so many had so much skill. Most of the walls I saw were maybe 3 feet high, straight as can be, and they are EVERYWHERE over there.

Good on you to build walls yourself, @mariannewest! What can't you do, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58