You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Because Farmers Have All Kinds of Stone Working Skills - Freewrite Day 727

in #esteem5 years ago

I used to do stone walls all day long in sun and cold, it's hard work but satisfying when the wall is done...

Sort:  

I imagine it to be back-breaking work, @wales. Do you feel like it took skill, or can anyone who is strong do it?

I was taught by a stone mason how to build the different kinds of walls, dry stone walls, cement walls, and lime walls, the hardest is the lime walls. I picked it up fairly quick as I liked to build things and walls of stone were a puzzle that suited me. I've done a few posts on walls but can only find this one for you: https://steemit.com/stone/@wales/how-to-build-a-dry-stone-wall-in-the-garden

Those are some beautiful wall pics in your post. I have arthritis and can barely hold a pen or open a doorknob, so I can only imagine what it would feel like to carry rocks all day. I might carry one and my hands would be gone for a week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51