Am I Crazy?

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Some time ago I got a reply from this @haikubot saying that it detects haiku. Must confess, I had absolutely no idea what haiku is but nowadays Google makes everything possible, so now I know what it is.

Turns out I'm pretty talented in making or creating haiku because I got like five messages like this.

vv1g77frur.jpg

Today on the other hand the haiky comment got a reply from another bot called @pleasestop, asking me to downvote the haiku bot for a number of reasons. Not to mention the message is full of links sending the readers who knows where.

So please make me understand. The haiku bot is a spam comment and the servers that maintain the blockchain are extremely expensive because of comments like this. How about replying to a spam comment with another useless bot comment? How is that helping?

Downvoting takes away from your voting power just as much as the upvoting. I'd rather use my voting power to reward a good content.

I would really love a block option so i can block spammers, scammers and cheaters once and for all.

One thing that makes me happy is that some curation programs have "ignore" lists and that's for life! I've seen some cases lately and spamming and cheating is not paying off here.

Just my two cents.

steemit-border

P.S. One minute after posting this blog, I got two spam comments. Looks like I'm attracting these users. Lucky me!

steemit-border

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My reply is no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

...the message is full of links sending the readers who knows where.

This is unfair, as all of the links except my downvote tool go directly to Steemit, and my tool ultimately redirects you to Steemconnect, so they are all legitimate links. I'm here for an open dialogue, but the irony here is that the answers to most of the question you may have are contained in those links you have dismissed.

How is that helping?

It is easy to dismiss my work at face value. You would need to carefully review the full history of this account and my @duplibot account to get the full picture and understand how fighting fire with fire is appropriate.

Since downvotes do impact voting power just as you've described, I've built this tool to allow you to make a smaller downvote of any percentage to spare your voting power.

And on every profile page in Steemit you will see a Mute button in the upper right hand corner. This is the "block option" you've described.

Another form of the block option is to downvote, which lowers an account's reputation and once it reaches 0 or less that account will be automatically hidden for everyone. I have had success moving accounts to 0 rep with my other @duplibot account.

I've openly admitted many times that my comments are no different than the spam I'm fighting, but I have continued to received considerable support from the community and I have been able to reconcile this. Long term, I do plan to shift my efforts more toward flags to eliminate my comments but I need to build my SP a bit more.

Please share your thoughts, I appreciate an open dialogue such as this.

Thanks for your comment, I'm going to answer it soon.

My thoughts about this, long story short, no matter how many downvotes you give to these people, they are still here, still spamming and scamming, advertising services that (I'm not sure) are good. Even if their reputation goes below 0, they still can post. I've seen reputations like -11. No one stops them.
So if I'm downvoting them, I'm practically giving up my power to help others grow. And what do I or we get in return? Absolutely nothing!
As about your links, they might be legit, but with all that phishing and scamming going on here, let me be suspicious and not click any link from someone I see for the very first time, even if your intentions are good and the links take to Steemit.

I appreciate your effort but downvoting is not the answer, not for me!

no matter how many downvotes you give to these people, they are still here...Even if their reputation goes below 0, they still can post. While they can post, it really doesn't matter since NOBODY will see it. That's what I'm working toward.

Right on this post is a comment by @a-0-1 which you may not have even noticed because it is automatically hidden at the bottom of the page and you have to click 'Show' to reveal it.

I have asked the community to help move accounts to zero rep and this has proven effective at stopping these accounts.

...downvoting is not the answer, not for me!

I totally understand this, which is why my long term goal is to build my SP enough so that I my downvotes are impactful.

And finally, this account does not post. At all.

Look at my account as well as my other account and you will see continued engagement with the community seeking validation of my work, which they have given me overwhelmingly. I'm not out there commenting frantically, I talk about my work and respond to feedback such as yours to open a dialogue. Here is a great example of the community offering some harsh criticism that I turned into an open dialogue that resulted in the original account replying:

I just want to apologize...

I'm here to support the community and the platform itself and I think that's easy to see after reading through my history to get the full picture.

Hi, I am not a bot,

and really get tired of people abusing bots. Pretty discouraging and I think it turns people off to Steemit having possibility of gaining legitimacy.

As far as the "are you crazy?", maybe, but not for worrying about this bot stuff :)

I'm glad I'm not alone with this. Thanks :)

The first time I got that haiku bot I thought it was funny....and by the 2nd time it was already annoying. Blocking would be such a useful feature!

Same here, at first it was funny but not anymore. I had enough, we need a good solution. I have to check this Mute function, let's see if it's what we need.

Ah...that Just may work! I forget to use mute.

I'm testing this function.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49