Let's Check out What The Vegetables Seller Has In His Moto-cart!

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Fellows!

I have written about this subject, months ago when I started My Steemit journey. But I think it's about time to re-write and add some more information.

My Vegetables Ride on Moto-Cart!

592z8bdong.jpg Do you need anything today, Maam?

This Moto-cart owner comes everyday around 11 am to 2 pm and Stops right in front my gate, blowing its horn, turn off the machine and shout "sauurr...sauurr" hehehehe, Instead of "sayur..sayur" which mean vegetables, Jawirio, The Vegetables Seller would said "saur" which mean is a special time to eat in the fasting month, at 3-4 am, before dawn. Yeah... we've been getting close since I knew him last year. Sometimes My Hubby @dipoabasch is changing joke and news with him while I'm selecting things to buy.

e6z2fv2ih2.jpg Jawirio is checking on his cold box, to get a iced (not frozen) whole chicken for me which he will cut it into 16 pieces as requested

Well.. you can see what's he has in his cart, right? but let's get a little closer, not to everything.. but something not usual for people who doesn't live in Indonesia. Here is a masterpiece original from Indonesia and already well-known in the world.

ll2nid5b3z.jpg Tempe in Plastic sheet


# Tempe

I made a little research on Steemit to seek for information about Tempe and I found more than 30 articles about it. How to make Tempe, The history of tempe, The philosophy and many recipes how to cook delicious food with Tempe as the based or main ingredient. But, Wikipedia, historia and other external blogs still my best refferences, though. Check this out Tempe. According to Indonesia National Standar issued on October 9th, 2009, SNI: 3144:2009, Tempe is products obtained from fermentation of soybean seeds using rhizopus sp, a compact solid, slightly grayish white color and distinctive smell of tempe.

il5aqcm0eg.jpg Tempe in banana leaf

Let me tell you a bit about Tempe that I've read from some sources. Tempe has been mentioned in the spiritual journal book called Serat Centhini, which is re-arranged by R Ng Ronggosutrasno in 1814, but the word for soybean already mentioned in another book entitled Serat Sri Tanjung created in 12-13 century. Well, paper was not availaible that time, people might write the verses on palmyra leaves. There's no spesific history about who made the first Tempe in the world, but during the Japanese occupation, Tempe become popular as the main food to prevent malnutrition.

The Dutch has introduced Tempe to Europe in 1946. Japan knew about it in 1952 then America in 1958 after an Indonesian Researcher made a scientific research about tempe for the first time, his name is Yap Bwee Hwa.

Do you want me to write about how to produce Tempe? Uhmm.. I've never made this one before, so you'd better find the information about how to make it by yourself, though I knew the principal of making it in my mind just now too, LOL. all you need is Soybean, water, special mold like Rhizopus Sp, and plastic or banana leaf.

There are many type of tempe in Indonesia, we even create tempe made of cassava leaves. The most common tempe is made from soybean, but there is Tempe made from Tofu dregs called Tempe Gembus, made from coconut's pulp called Tempe Bongkrek, made from Lupin Peanut called Tempe Lupin, etc. So, soybean is not the only main ingredients to make Tempe.

How does it taste? can you eat it without further processing? Yeap, you can eat the raw Tempe if you like it, it delicious because the soybean was boiled before it fermented. I have 12 Nephews and Nieces, all of them like to eat raw tempe while I cut it into small pieces before frying it to make "sambal goreng tempe" or fried tempe in sweet sauce.

Oncom

70phblm2bz.jpg This is Red Oncom, Not Tempe

Oncom is origin to West Java, there are two types of Oncom, Red and Black. The process to make Oncom is a bit different from tempe, the red oncom made from tofu's pulp, mold and tapioca flour. If Tempe ready to consume after 2 days of fermentation in a wrapper and covered by white mold, Red Oncom is kept unwrapped and ready to consume when its covered by the orange mold. well.. I've never seen the Black Oncom, yet. Nobody eat Raw Oncom, it must be fried or roasted before being cooked into some delicious food (Nasi Tutug Oncom is the only food made with oncom I've ever ate)

image sorce

Let's Check another Special things in Indonesia. Do you Know Kerupuk? uhm.. some kind of crackers. Kerupuk is food made from tapioca flour dough mixed with shrimp or fish lard, after steamed, cut into thin pieces or molded with molding tools then dried in order to fry easily.

hv5itmq1iy.jpg kerupuk 10 cents each, so if you saw my payout, all I can afford with that is only Kerupuk!

That's all for today, let me know if you want to know more about what else that Jawirio provides in His Moto-cart. Thank you for stopping by. Have a happy week and Keep Steem-it On!

0ptuzunvw9.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @cicsaja, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 82

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. I have seen many of these food carts in Thailand, not so much in Australia, I am always a bit scared to eat from them as I never know exactly what it all is. lol, thanks for sharing @insideoutlet

Thank you @asapers😉 and @insideoutlet.
I was scaring too when the first time I saw that "oncom" 😊tempe is already produces all over Indonesia, but oncom is special and only the "sundanese" from west java loves it. And sometimes, it can be poisonous too, if the oncom not fresh and long exposed to the sun.

jos imsomnene yuos hantupost!!!

beck that new peu got post lag enyan..hehehe
lon han jeutkuba CA...

Hana peu... na ureung laen nyang jeut baca, loen tuleh mantong. Galom sempat peugot lam basa toko

meu ah cut kak beh? comen lon bnoe ka dilua bataih
mgkin nyan,, saleum jroh sabe mtg...

hai.. neu yue promosikan bak sahabat2 yg dronh turi
konteh #pehtem nyan, bah rame yg ikot bah seumarak ta meusuka ria ngon budaya droe teuh, neu yue resteem.

nyoe ta peumaju budaya droe teuh, kon mesti dgn ma SBD

Hana masalah hay teungku meutuwah.. lanjut ju bak ureung nyang kira2 jeut basa Aceh dan galak #pehtem.. han jeut keu hai sagai nyan.

Uloen tuwan sangat menikmati

droneuh sit hana galak keu rame,rame itu seru tau!!!!!??? lebih mnggairahkan, smarak lom, nyoe
mseu hana urg ikot, sow taneuk tunang???
ku tunang po puduek konteh?? hana pat cok
hadiah

Hahaha... so peugah loen hana galak ramee😲 ramee jeut.. tapi teutap meusaneut lah. Kiban ta peugot.. pehtem panton asmara memang hana mandum ureung jeut kadang😂.. ta jok tema laen, bhah panton asmara.. tabri lapak panton asmara.. ka laen lom alasan.

Kakeuh.. bah hinan keudeh😃 na hana ureung ikot, hadiah teutap bagi miseu bak loen. Urosan bangkrot.. singoh-ngoh ta pike😂

lon takot bangkrot toke kahana le #pehtem.
pat na konteh laen yg basa aceh????
kapayah ta meu cae ngn bak kaye sang!!!!

Tenang... han bangkrot😂Insya Allah.. ne pehtem bak komentar loen beu panyang2, meu balaih2 ubee lapangan iraq ngon ujong blang... nak meunang 1,5 Steem.. mudah2an 5 Steem sibinggu sigoe, ka leupah keu hadiah pehtem mantong nyan 😉

Pokok jih.. bek keundo.. nyan cara loen jaga nak jeut loen seudia hadiah sabee. Preih.. nteuk malam loen peugot nyang versi bahsa toko bha nyou.

Shows you how medicated I have been. I could have sworn I commented on this post. I think it's really neat that he carries such unique things on his cart. It looks yummy (well not sure about the red oncom, never know until you try )

Glad to have you back on your seat again @tryskele😙 so thank you for your comment😉 feels like taking a full glass of fresh coconut water when ginabot said @tryskele has commented on your post😊

It's not unique for the Javanese.. but I am an Acehnese and have never seen things like that at my hometown. If there's a challenge to eat red or black oncom.. I'd better be the spectator rather than a contestant😁

I admit, it's a bit of a struggle still. I really have to stay with my commitments. Glad it made you happy to see me peeking around :)

The closest thing we have to this is an ice cream truck.

Hope you can cope with it soon, it's a bit late to stay awake right? Are you just awaken.. no body around to ask "are you still working with it?"

Well.. we don't have ice cream truck..but bicycle ice cream box😊

Normally I would be awake due to my work schedule. With the surgery I am taking 2 to 3 naps a day LOL. Best way to heal :D. I'm exhausted right now though.

Someone told me.. once your body got any surgery.. you need to rest more than before.. to give a chance for your body to heal the wound naturally.. and I hope it doesn't hurt you too much... waiting for you mindful monday though😊

Maybe I'll work on healing :) I've been sleeping as needed but using frequency healing too.

Do you mean chemo therapy @tryskele? What is frequency healing? Another kind of meditation?

Interesting foodies, I wouldn't mind trying a few of those... others, I'm not so sure. 😀

Thanks for your article, @cicisaja!

I've come to your post after reading Paying it Forward Curation Contest - Week 17 : Looking Back To Move Forward by @dipoabasch

You may want to try nasi tutug if it is made by professional chef😉 well.. tempe is one of best menus for the vegetarian, I read a post that a vegetarian restaurant in Florence served Tempe which taste like burger bacon.. uhhmm.. we have a spesific way to make that too.. we call it "Tempe Bacem" ... if you happened at the Indonesian Restaurant, you should try a bit.

Thank you @trincowski.. my other half seems like a bit lazy to find a better blogger😂 that's not fair, but.. what can I do?

Thanks for your reply. He's promoting you, that's not so bad, is it?

he didn't ask for my permission actually, but I think.. if he didn't feature me, someone else will.. I understand his reason and he can't do that anymore in the future, hahaha

there you go my dear, do you remember how we exchange souvenir with him, coffee and pam sugar? and you must ask him to stop for a cup of your special coffee later. and you're featured again! check this out Paying it Forward Curation Contest - Week 17 : Looking Back To Move Forward

LOL... I'm one step forward now, do you need anything?

all right.. now we're even.. I'm gonna catch you up.. I need to do my part too, LOL.. thanks for featuring me this week and I hope that you'll continued to join the contest in the future too.
sana.. rapat dulu.. malah balas-balasan komen, jan lama-lama kali, dah lapar ini.. katanya mau makan sepiring berdua?

Hi Cici I am so glad you were featured! Makes it easier for me to make the rounds 😉 I have not been on as much this week because of work so I will need to catch up on Steemit soon.
I love that little motor cart. I am really loving that you write about your life. I bet that seller meets all kinds of interesting people every day.

Hello @headchange😉 glad that you still make the rounds in your tight schedule😊. Actually.. there're 2 moto-carts who sell vegetables and 10 pushing-carts around my neighbourhood. But this one is the most famous one because we can reach him by phone 😅 yeah.. sometimes he told us story about his costumers and receive a phone call to ensure that he brought the fishes or special seasonings for them.

Thank you for stopping by✌

The loving husband featured his lovely wife. That should be it, right? Otherwise the wife should spank the husband... Peace @dipoabasch. And I'm just kidding @cicisaja, don't spank him. 😄

Kidding aside, making the tempe sounds like making rice wine. I used to see my mother make rice wine. Now one of my elder brothers does it. All they needed are half-steam cooked glutinous rice, the fermenting powder and banana leaves. Maybe I'll ask my elder brother to do that with soy beans instead of rice, huh! How long is the fermenting of tempe?

Don't worry @macoolette, I knew that sometimes he made a strange move of pay it forward..LOL but I can tell ya that this time He's just being lazy to swim in the Steemit big ocean to find any. well.. he won't included me anymore just like I didn't included him more than one time.

Yeah.. the process is almost the same like making the Rice Wine or Fermented Cassava that We in Indonesia called it Tape or Tapai. To make Tempe, you need to boil the soybean, soaking it, clean the skin and then spread the mold (I think the mold is different to rice wine or fermented cassava, but I'm not really sure either) and Keep it for 2 days before its ready to consume.

well... You should ask him to try, there's so many youtube video about how to make it. share with us if you succeeded, Ok?

Ohhh, I thought that is his nature of being a loving husband. Laziness it is! 😂

You know what? We call the rice wine tapey. It is a dialect in the north which is not a common Filipino may not understand. It looks like we have the same terminology for rice wine.

Yes, maybe I should ask my brother to try making tempe when I get home to the state. I'll sure share how it went. 😊

hahaha.. we're melanesian right, we have so many same word like mangaon = mangan (java) = makan(Indonesia) = eat,
salamat = selamat = save/happy, I used to watched Philipine's drama when I was a kid, tagalog dialogue for sure.. and we didn't quite understand the language, but the sound of the words so sexy to me. I think that many people of Moro also speak melayu or malay. so.. the word for Tapey or Tape or Tapai refers to the same thing, what about fermented cassava or ubi/uli in bahasa? do you know it? the process is the same with rice wine but using cassava roots.

Oh, I did not realize that we have the same, or almost the same, terminologies. Yes, the sample words have the same meaning in our dialects here. The funny thing is, most are just dialects and not in our national language.

Yes, my mother also used to ferment cassava though we consume them after few days like your tempe. We don't keep them for long like the rice wine. I think my mother once said that fermenting the cassava is good at early stage and not for making wine. She also made strawberry wines.

I think it depends on interaction of our ancestors, the northern part of Philipina is the closest to Indonesia and Malaysia, so maybe few families have a blod relation and shared the same culture through words or certain habits too.

You're right😊 fermented cassava better eat when it still fresh and did'nt produce much water too. Never seen the strawberry wine... is it using special mold to make it? What about bilimbi... do you have bilimbi trees around?

My mother used the same fermenting powder with strawberry wines. It was good, only that it is certainly much sweeter than rice wine.

What bilimbi? You mean this very sour fruit? We call it balimbing.
images.jpeg
Source:

My playmates and I used to climb its tree when I was young. We had contest and brag to each other who can keep up with its very sour taste with hot chili. I once won but that was a history because I don't like hot (I mean the chili) food. It was my pride talking when I bet on the challenge. We never had it fermented though. I don't think my mother even knew that it can be fermented.

No that one.. it is also called belimbing or star fruits averrhoa carambola for the fruit in your picture and we ate it as Rujak or Fruit salad. But this👇

image

This is also called belimbing or belimbing sayur, averrhoa bilimbi. Very sour but also good for your health. And the Acehnese will sun-dried it then
Blend it with chili, onion and shrimps with sliced lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves to make "asam udeung"

Well.. may I know which part of philipina are you from? If it can not be fermented.. but surely can be sweetened😉 i made some post about it before. But will you make strawberry wine post... i need to see the process

The vegetable seller is a wonderful thing. You say he come to you?
Around here we have small fruit stands that carry the local grown vegetables. Some of the farms will let you come and pick your own from the field.When I was younger I would go to the field and pick flats of strawberries and take them and set up a stand next to busy road and sell them. The travelers love the berries.

Hello @kandywriter😊 yes, the vegetables, fishes, fruits, kitchen set, foods and sometimes clothes.. come to us here in Pamulang☺ and your story remind me to my hometown😢 Aceh. There's the same thing also about the fruits stands, aahh.. I've never take the picture of various fruit stands a long the road there.

Thank you for stopping by and you know what, I think
Many people inspired by other's story and many new strawberry fields that invite costumers to pick up their own strawberry, but I've never went to one of those fields/gardens because it's far from my home.

Oh Thank you Cici. The strawberry fields are a wonderful thing and the rows can seem so long when you are doing the picking. I have also been down south to Homestead Florida where the field look like oceans. I have seen Tomato plants as far as the eye can look. I wish you could have seen them. Same for the wonderful sunflowers that were growing near okeechobee down in the everglades. The farmers have hundreds of acres planted. Would sure hate to be the one picking them rows. I'll bet it takes them a day just to get to the other end.
The fruit stands are a blessing here as the cost is cheaper than the grocery stores and is fresher too.

Dear @kandywriter.. why don't make a post about that farm? It must be so lovely😉 dod I missed out your podt about it in the past?

I bet that I will spent the night to do picking up the berries😂 considering that I love berries😊 anyway about the sun flowers field.. don't they use any kind of harvester machine? I can't imagine if people should cut all the flowers down.. what's that for? Essential oil? What about the leaves? Is it annual harvesting on summer or ...

Come on @kandywriter.. please write about it.. you make me curious and you must take the responsibility of it.. well.. you know I can't go there, now but perhaps one day.

Any bee farm around too?

I just finished a new post I think you will like. Thanks for the idea. Yes they use harvester machines to crop the sun flowers. They use them for oil and seeds. Sunflower seeds are delicious and good for you. I am not sure when it comes to the tomatoes. I think they crop them green and then gas them to change them to red. I like the local ripe on vine best grown at home tomato.I see some Bee boxes a few miles from my house. they need them to pollinate everything. The strawberry farm has some setting way in the back which is 3 or 4 miles from home. The honey is wonderful.

that makes your story more interesting dear.. We also have sunflower seed here, we call it Kuaci or Kwaci, I don't know whether it is imported from China, but I've read somewhere that we used to have a company in Central Java Which produce the Kwaci. SunFlower Oil is not common here, maybe because we use Palm Oil or coconut oil.

well.. hope that when you take che che for his fun walk one day, you can take some pictures and share it with us. and I've read your post.. The story about Strawberry market, road market.. it's just amazing! thank you @kandywriter

Wow. I just love this article!!
I love learning about your life - we don't have anything like your vegetable seller - totally awesome!

thank you @viking-ventures, I knew that something like nothing to us but so special for other people in the world, just like what you've told me about the mormon... maybe it's nothing but mall community with special way of life, but even you're doing your own book cover is so special for me.

see.. Steemit makes everything special now, isn't it?

Yes, it is a special place that helps us learn about one-another - which really is the point of the internet to begin with.

Very cool! I've never seen vegetables sold on a cart.

Hey.. do you see any bananas there @bananamemos? Ahh.. I should have took pictures of my travelling bananas seller too.

We were actually quite sad to not see any bananas on his cart, but didn't want to bring it up 'cause we appreciate vegetables too.

he has.. but I think it was in the other side of his cart that I forgot to show you, He always brings bananas and other fruits too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58