Working with Bozz: Servcom - Part 1

in #esteem6 years ago

Last week I finished up my series about the three years I worked at Radio Shack.

It was a great job to get me through college and it also reinforced to me that a job in retail was not something that I wanted to do the rest of my life.

I wanted a standard job where you have a fixed schedule from week to week and month to month. Weekends off instead of a day off here and then another day of later in the week. I was searching for the more traditional job that to some degree doesn't exist anymore.

As I stated in one of the earlier posts in the series. I worked at Radio Shack for a short time with a guy that left us to work in sales for a local technology consulting company.

They had contracts with many cutomers in the area including Dow Chemical, schools, banks, churches, and hospitals. The company was actually split into two parts with two men as the owners.

One man owned the majority of the sales company (Solutions Plus) and the other man owned the majority of the service company (Servcom Maintenance). Each man in turn owned a minority portion of the other company.

I was working at Radio Shack one day when the former employee called the store and asked to talk to me. He mentioned that the service portion of the company was looking to hire some techs and he wanted to know if I would be interested.

Since I was actually just finishing up my Bachelor's degree in Computer Information Systems, I was more than happy to get into a job that was more closely related to the industry. Even if I had to start at the bottom, I thought the opportunity was a good one.

I gave my two weeks notice, much to the annoyance of the manager at Radio Shack as he had now lost two of his good employees to the same company (sort of) in the last couple of months.

As a matter of fact the manager of Radio Shacks wife worked for a company that used the consulting services of Solutions Plus and Servcom. I never heard the whole story, but I think they threatened to pull their business from them over the alleged poaching of us from Radio Shack.

Since we were at will employees, I don't really see what the bid deal was. Radio Shack was never a lifetime commitment for me, so it really shouldn't have been that big of a surprise.

At the time I started Servcom there were only about five other employees in that business. There were the two higher level techs that did mostly server and networking stuff. One was certified and trained in Novell which was really popular back then. The other one was their Windows server guy. I don't think either of them had their college degree, but it didn't really matter. Their on the job experience and technical certifications made my college degree look pretty worthless.

It didn't take me long to realize there was a huge difference between learning about something and actually doing it every day. I'd venture to guess that I learned more about technology in the one year I worked for Servcom than the whole time I was in college.

There was also the desk guy who managed all of our workorders and all of the service calls that came in. He was the one that coordinated with the sales side of the business when a sales person would need a tech to come take care of something for a customer.

Finally, there were two other guys and myself that were the standard techs. Servcom had a contract with a local cable company that would later become Spectrum. This is important because that contract was the main reason for my job at the beginning.

Occasionally the other two techs would be called away to help the higher level techs with this or that but our main reason for being there was all tied to the cable company.

Now that I have the stage set, make sure you come back next week to hear about my new position. I was really excited to have a full time job with fixed hours, little did I know that wouldn't be the case for long...

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Hey @bozz. Will wait for the next post. Sounds interesting and so true. We had guys arrive from college and University with their text book ideas that never worked and what they knew was dangerous. Basically they had to start from scratch.

Yeah, I am glad I have my degree, but if I could go back and do it all over again, I would have tried to have had a job that gave me hands on experience while I was in college. It also would have been nice to have gotten some certifications while I was in full on "learning mode".

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I remember that word, 'techs' from the US. We are not really named that here. It doesn't sound like we are anything special when marked so generically.. my thoughts.

No, I don't really like it either, but what are you going to do. Many times I am still introduced as the "tech guy" even though I am the director the the department. It gets under my skin quite a bit, but it is irrelevant enough to most people that I just look petty if I correct them.

I am a greta believer that hand son learningis the best way to learn, but in this day and age a degree is also very much key, that said I never got around to getting one

looking forward to following on with this series

Thanks! I appreciate it. It probably won't be as long as the Radio Shack one since I was only there a year.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am sure it will still be very interesting no matter how long or short it is

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.437 which ranks you at #6843 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 73 places in the last three days (old rank 6916).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 270 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 290 (10/23/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91