Steemit Top 50 Songs ListsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

A couple of weeks ago, I was invited to participate in this challenge started by @verhp11.

It has taken me a while to circle back around to it but I knew it was something that I definitely wanted to be invloved in.

The rules are pretty simple:

Challenge at least three persons to participate

Use the tag #steemithitslist

Select a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 30 songs in your top list

The Steemit list will be constructed out of the songs that are posted with the hashtag.

The final list, with playlist, will be posted on 31 december.

I am actually going to break from the rules and not specifically challenge anyone. Most of the people that I frequently interact with have already entered their submission. If you follow me though and happen to read this, feel free to submit your own entry.

I basically just pulled a portion of my favorites list from Spotify to enter as my submission. The full list consists of hundreds of songs and I seriously don't think any of us wants to be here that long!

I am only going to select a few of them from the list to highlight though they are all good. I apologize that the artist names are cut off on some of the songs. I tried to adjust the columns and ended up sorting the songs into a new order that I am not sure I can undo.

She Wants Revenge - Tear You Apart

I'd actually never heard of this band before and this is the first time that I have seen the video for this song. I heard it on an episode of American Horror Story though, I think it was the Hotel season. There was something about it that I just really enjoyed. It got added to my playlist immediately.

Maroon 5 - Sugar

I know a lot of people aren't fans of Maroon 5. That is fine. I am sure I am not a fan of some of the music that they enjoy. Besides having in my opinion a good groove, the main reason I like this song is because of the video.

The legitimately drove around L.A. on a Saturday and crashed a bunch of weddings (and taped the reactions). Can you imagine if that had been your wedding? Talk about a day to remember!

Again, even if you don't like their music you have to at least respect that fact that Adam is a decent guitar player when he chooses to play.

Andrew Duhon - Gonna Take a Little Rain

I seriously couldn't tell you how I discovered Andrew Duhon. If I had to guess, I was listening to something on Spotify and after that playlist ended they started playing stuff they thought I might like. This was probably one of the songs they picked.

I like the way it flows. Okay, get ready for an honest moment... I have done a ton of challenges like this. I find them difficult. I, like a lot of people, view music as something you feel and experience more than just something you listen to. That usually makes it hard for me to put into words what a song means to me or how it makes me feel.

It's just something that is, almost like a force of nature.

Old Crow Medicine Show - Sweet Amarillo

Old Crow has a decent history of taking Bob Dylan songs and ideas and turning them into something great. See "Wagon Wheel". I used to hate bluegrass music, I pretty much grew up hating all country music for the most part. I am not sure why, but I did.

I am so very glad that I changed that perspective and I am now able to enjoy a large variety of music. Old Crow does a really good job of almost making bluegrass a mainstream thing. All without compromsing their craft or the integrity of the music.

That's my list. I apologize there aren't any "harder" songs in there. Trust me, my full list includes everything... rap, heavy metal, hair metal, showtunes, classic rock, r&b, blues, jazz, Christian rock, you name it.

All videos were pulled from Youtube.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Love the "Sugar" song. Great group and lead singer

I agree, they have some good hits and they have managed to stay on the charts for many years.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love your list, but, truly, the song Sugar captured my heart after the video and the whole thing is legitimate.

Who wouldn't want Adam Levine to crash their wedding?

!tip

I know right?! The video was an awesome concept. Quite honestly I get a little teary each time I watch it seeing the peoples reactions. I am a big softy though.

Posted using Partiko Android

She Wants Revenge - Tear You Apart

Reminds me of Joy Division, even the name of the song is similar to their most famous one.

Maroon 5 - Sugar

I like the one, but not all by the band. It needs adding to the 'Slobberchops Choice cuts' :)

I will have to check out Joy Division.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow you're a @bozz :) Great list !!! Songs are noted ;)

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaaa sugar, I love that song. Great choices by the way!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

A few of these i hadnt heard so going to add them to a playlist and listen to them on my next walk

Sounds like a plan. There is some good stuff there. I would have covered all of them but I didn't want my post to get too long.

Posted using Partiko Android

Listening to them now as I work through replying to comments always good to add new music to my playlists

Awesome, I hope you like them!

Posted using Partiko Android

So far I do great additiions to what is my walk around playlist

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

In the first two choices the videos were so compelling I forgot about the songs! That first one is quite creepy. I don't listen to much country music, but I really enjoyed the Old Crow Medicine Show song. It has a really authentic sound.

Yes, I agree with the one video being creepy. Old Crow has a lot of great songs.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 341 (12/15/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64050.44
ETH 2502.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65