Random Wednesday Ramblings

in #esteem6 years ago

Things I like

My wife and I celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary this week.

While I have a number of things queued up that I can post about, I wanted to take a break and talk about some of the things that I enjoy.

If you weren't sure, the first one I want to talk about is my wife. This past year has been a pretty crazy one for us. She has been so supportive through my diagnosis and fight with testicular cancer.

Likewise, she has been supportive and humors me in my pursuits on Steemit. She still laughs when we are out somewhere and I stop to take a picture of something because it would be a good post.

She is also the one that reminds me to take pictures when we go out to eat and I am so busy enjoying my meal that I forget.

I met her at work twelve or so years ago and it has been a joy spending every moment with her since then. We both work for a public school district (her as an elementary social worker, me as the director of technology). I knew I had to get to know her better the minute I met her. There were definitely some bumps along the way, but we made it through!

I am happy to say that she now has a Steemit account of her own. She probably won't be posting anything, but if she ever decides to start, keep an eye out for @mrsbozz it will be well worth your time!

Steem Monsters

The main reason my wife has an account on Steemit now is because I donated to the kickstarter campaign for Steem Monsters.

If you haven't heard of Steem Monsters yet, it is time for you to crawl out from under that rock and take in some sunlight! I am super excited about the future of this game built on the Steem blockchain.

Years ago, I played a game called Hellfire: The Summoning, it was a mobile game that had elemental cards you could level up and evolve to make them stronger and give them more abilities.

The game had a pay to play aspect and sadly when the company decided to pull the plug on the game, there were many people who had spent a lot of money left in the lurch.

I feel like Steem Monsters has something much better going for it in that respect. If I decide to stop playing tomorrow, I actually own my cards and I can sell them on the market for a decent price if I want to.

Game play so far has been pretty awesome. It took me a while to find a couple of hands that were good enough to get me some wins. My biggest complaint is during the day when I am able to play, there aren't that many people on. I find myself battling the same people over and over again.

It would also be pretty cool if they could get an app. I was going to gift my extra account to my brother in law, but he doesn't have desktop or laptop to play on via web browser, so not having a native app was a deal breaker for him.

I think if they want it to continue to grow and evolve, they will need to develop something at some point. Like I said, I wouldn't be surprised if they are already working on it. They have a great team and have developed a spectacular product so far.

I can't wait to see what the future brings and how the end of the tournament is going to shake out!

NuScale Power

Finally, the last thing I wanted to talk about is something that I wrote about pretty early in my Steemit career.

NuScale Power is a company that I have been following for close to a year now. They have this fantastic plan for what are called Small Modular Reactors (SMR).

According to their website these reactors are capable of generating 60MW of electricty in a much safer method.

The reactors can be daisy-chained together to increase the power output and they take up much less square acerage than a traditional power plant including old school nuclear reactors.

The most exciting thing about the project though is they are virtually immune to meltdowns.

In fact based on what I read several months ago the technology is so impressive that the Nuclear Regulatory Commission completed their review and approval of the project in record time.

If they were a publicy traded company, I would be buying stock in them like yesterday. That is how awesome I think the potential is for this company.

I take part in frequent survey's from my local gas and electric company. They are often trying to guauge what kind of opinion people have of them and if we think they are doing everything they can to help the environment.

Inevitably I always mention to them in the comments section that they need to be investigating the concept of SMR's and how they can be one of the initial implementors of this awesome technology.

In true rambling form, it looks like this post is going to be close to 900 words. Thanks for stopping in and reading about a couple of the things that I am really excited about lately!

image source

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Happy Anniversary! That's a cool deal.

Urrrk. I haven't even looked at SteemMonsters. But I think the game on the block chain is a cooool idea.

I really like small nuclear as an option in our world today. The only real drawback is the long term waste storage. And I do mean LONG term. I really think they are a viable option.

For sure! It would be awesome if we could just throw it all in a rocket and send it to the sun!

Firstly Happy Anniversary, and I bought a bunch of Steem Monster cards have one gold legendary that is quite valuable but holding on to it for now , not sure if I will ever play the game I havent made the time to see who it works yet, but the cards may be an investment

Wow! Lucky you, I wasn't able to get any legendaries, I have some gold cards though. It is pretty fun to play and not super hard to get the hang of. I like that it can be as mindless or as deep as you want it to be. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe this weekend I will check out the game side of it :)

Don't be surprised if you get addicted! Keep track of the cards people are using that beat you. It will help you refine your deck and strategy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tip, I just took a look and see one can do practice games so may try that sometime

I did breifly play hearthstone which I think is similar

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.395 which ranks you at #6908 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 6920).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #137.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It's nice to see real people sharing their pictures in their posts. Very well written post, thanks for that. ☺

Thank you! I did use the one photo from pixabay, but I try to use my own photos as much as I can. I am kind of picture whore when it comes to snapping shots of stuff. My wife will frequently go through our shared album and be like "why did you take a picture of this?". It's tough being a blogger :)

Happy Anniversary to you both! It’s such a blessing that you have a supportive wife by your side and who is able to walk with you along this journey. Many blessings to you ~

Thank you!

Happy anniversary man!

Thanks! I appreciate it! It has been an amazing 10 years for sure!

Happy anniversary!

I think I need to get out from underneath my rock for some sunlight :)

Thank you! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 285 (10/18/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62502.56
ETH 3008.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50