#monochromemonday: Civil War Reenactment

in #esteem6 years ago

Growing up my dad was a freelance photographer. It was a hobby that he enjoyed doing when he wasn't being an autoworker through the week. He used to do weddings, family photos, senior pictures, and one or two of his pictures even made it to magazine covers.

As a compliment to his hobby of taking pictures, we also had a darkroom where he could develop and print the pictures. Since he is colorblind it was a strictly black and white dark room. I think that is part of the reason I am so drawn to black and white photos as an adult. My dad is still quite the photographer, but he isn't quite as mobile as he used to be. Plus with the advent of digital photography his darkroom is long gone.

Many years ago, my good friend(the one who helps with my truck) used to be involved in Civil War reenactments. On one occasion @mrsbozz and I decided to drive down to Jackson, MI to watch him participate in one of them. Never having been to one before, I didn't quite know what to expect.

Needless to say, it was impressive. They basically took over the whole park and everywhere you looked there were canvas tents and people walking around in period garb. I think I have shared some of these photos before, but honestly I don't remember which ones.

Plus if I did, it was a long time ago when I was just staring on Steemit and chances are that brilliant post got lost in the shuffle somewhere of Plankton hell. So today I am going to share those photos with you. I used black and white as much as possible because I thought it would be most appropriate for the material. That's why I am entering them into the #monochromemonday challenge hosted by @old-guy-photos.

I can't recall which battle they were recreating, but they basically had it set up with a fortified line as you can see here and another line advancing towards them with the cannons backing them up. Because it is a reenactment you will see modern things and people mixed in with the actors and props. Too bad civilians back in the day couldn't have gotten a warning similar to the sign above.

I always try to be careful when I am taking pictures of people. I felt in this case they probably had resigned themselves to the fact that people were going to be taking pictures and it probably wasn't that big of a deal.

I don't think I would have gotten this photo if @mrsbozz hadn't been paying better attention than me. She gave me a quick nudge and I immediately knew what she was trying to tell me. I think this is probably one of my most favorite pictures I have ever taken.

Pretty easy to tell this is a reenactment given the vehicles in the background. On top of that, I don't think the soliders back then would have been looking so fresh and clean.

Here is another view of the fortifications before the battle started.

My best photo of the cannons is the one I used at the beginning, but this is one from the beginning of the battle.

And one from the middle of the battle.

Finally, the surrender...

Thanks for coming along on this journey back in time with me!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

What great shots that work so well in B&W, I would love to go to one of those re-enactments one day it would be such a blast to experience

Thank you! You would probably have to go a bit South to find one near you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I think your right, none of them near here, but one day I will get to one

Wonderful photos @bozz, we used to have an annual Military Tattoo here, was quite brilliant and so interesting. Whenever I look at monochrome pics I think of a little guy who asked his Dad if colours were only invented in modern times, he thought that's how the world looked before, weird what goes through their minds not so;);)

That is pretty funny! Kids minds are pretty impressive sometimes. Thanks for the comment!

What great photos! Really impressive. The little girl in the bonnet is just absolutely priceless.

Reading Lizelle's comment reminded me of growing up with monochrome TV. Life was different then....

Ah yes, we used to have a couple of black and white tv's in the house when I was growing up. Things sure have changed!

Great photos. Thanks for sharing @bozz

Thank you!

Wonderful photos and perfect in black and white. I love reenactments. Often the ones around here are the black powder Mountain Man/ Fur Trader sort of gatherings along the Mississippi River, but I have been to several Civil War re enactments, too. Nearby Galena IL was the hometown of Ulysses S Grant. They are quite fascinating to attend and you really do feel like you've stepped back in time.

We have a thing near the town where I live called River of Time that sounds a lot like what you folks have over there. It would be interesting to go to one of the larger reenactments sometime.

Prairie Villa rendezvous has been going on since 1976. It's a big deal event but I haven't been to it in years. It would be fun to go again to take pictures!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I went to this reenactment back around 2008, it was a really good one.

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 411 (02/25/19)

@bozz You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42