#fosteraminnow ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago

I wrote this post yesterday that brought up some things I have been concerned about lately. Specifically, the fact that the majority of my post rewards can be attributed to groups that I have delegated SP to.

Though I haven't gotten as many responses to the post as I had hoped, the ones I have gotten so far have been great. I was having a short discussion back and forth with @tattoodjay when an epiphany struck me. I've seen challenges like this before when I first started Steemit, but I thought, "how cool would it be to start my own"?

I was going to call it the adapotaminnow challenge, but apparently there is already an initiative that has taken that tag. They seem to be defunct, but I didn't want to step on any toes so I came up with the #fosteraminnow idea.

As I got thinking about it, I decided that #fosteraminnow is probably a better description anyway. When you adopt something you are taking it on forever. When you are fostering something you are only doing it temorarily. Sometimes it goes on to be something more permenant, but not always.

I know how exciting it can be when a larger account gives you a big upvote on one of your posts.

It's even more exciting when you know you got that upvote because they actually read your post and liked the content.

Not because they were war part of a trail or because you delegated SP to a specific group.

So here is my idea and the rules for this challenge.

  • Pick a user who has less than 60 or so Reputation and less than 300 or so SP.

  • Foster them for two weeks by giving them upvotes and comments on most of their posts.

  • Any two of their posts per week you need to give a 100% upvote on.

  • Write a post using the #fosteraminnow tag telling who you are fostering and why.

That's it! Pretty easy right?

Please note, I made sure I said most of their posts because sometimes there may just be a post that you don't like.

I also tried to pick a Rep/SP range that would include active users who show they are trying but might not be getting the rewards they deserve.

Finally, this might take a little time on your part to find that perfect minnow to support. Fishing is all about patience right?

My hope is that this challenge isn't just picked up by a couple of people, done for two weeks, and then fizzles out. I'd like to see it proliferate Steemit so that as many minnows as possible can be fostered.

Speaking of minnows, according to SteemPlus, I myself am a minnow, but I don't feel that excludes me from participating. I am choosing to foster @manoldonchev for the next two weeks.

I spent some time digging through my feed trying to find the perfect user. I couldn't say how long I have been following him, it appears he has only been on the platform for a couple of months.

Upon looking closer though I found a humor in his writing and a passion for photography that I totally want to support. Moving forward for the next two weeks I will be focusing a set amount of my time on @manoldonchev's blog (except the weekends, I take a break from Steemit on the weekends).

Are you ready to foster a minnow today?

P.S. With the holiday season upon us, I know some will not be on as much as usual. Please feel free to join the challenge and just start your actual fostering when things die down and you are more active again in a week or so.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

plankton might be a better term @bozz! Minnow's used to be large once.. when STEEM was $2.50 a pop, but plankton's or redfish are the smallest of the small and in your catagory of 300SP or less.

Still its a good initative if you can find any good ones. I have a added a few to chops in the last few weeks.

Yeah, I didn't feel like it flowed as well and I was hoping to get some dolphins on board so I figured I would start there. Plus the tag is out there now so I can't really change it :) I love what you do with the chops account! Hopefully others can use this to give back as well.

FOR TSE: ---> This is a perfectly fabulous idea. I am definitely going to do something about it -- and maybe try to carry it you-know-where and see what traction we might get through group effort. GREAT thinking!!!

Thanks! That would be awesome! I appreciate it.

Love the initiative!! Im not really high enough level to make a difference, but Ill try anyway. Ill have to get on here later and find someone to foster, for what it's worth. :D

Thanks! I appreciate the support! I think we can help a lot of people with this challenge.

What an awesome idea @bozz, I will certainly take you up on this challenge even though I'm still a minnow! I've often wondered what would happen without the support of the groups here!

Thanks! I appreciate it! I look forward to seeing who you foster!

What a cool idea and I will join, but the next couple of weeks I am going to be a bit less frequent on here but remind me in the New Yaear if I forget and I will be all aboard and fostering a Minnow without a doubt i love the idea

Awesome! Glad to hear it!

What a great idea! I'll go fishing tomorrow :)

Awesome! Glad to hear it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree 100% with the sentiment and reasons behind this project @bozz, and I hope you find a lot of participants. For me though, this comes at a very unfortunate moment in life; I can still barely keep up keeping my promise to post an article every day. Also, with the holidays coming up, the next two weeks will be even more hectic... So I can't make any promises, I'm sad to say...

I love that you're doing this though, so I'll promise you this: I'm going to follow you and upvote as much of your posts that I'm able to, not just these next weeks, starting with this one :-)

Keep up the good work, and thanks for supporting the platform! (I'm still mining BOID to; so thanks for that tip again also ;-)) 😍

No problem! I am plugging away at the BOID mining as well. They have some super exciting stuff coming out in the next couple of months. You should follow their Telegram if you don't already. Thanks for the support and I totally understand! No worries at all!

Thank you for your trust and support. Let's see where this nice initiative goes. I will try to learn more about it these days.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.67% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.576 which ranks you at #5880 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 16 places in the last three days (old rank 5896).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49