Catching Up

in #esteem5 years ago

As much as I enjoy taking a break from Steemit on the weekends and just spending time with my family, it is sometimes hard to get caught up on Monday.

This weekend was pretty uneventful for the most part. @mrsbozz and I moved around our living room so we can have a place to put our Christmas tree. Who knows when we will get that up, maybe December 22nd?

Just having our dog Jovi, Christmas days isn't as big of a thing as it probably is for some families. When one of us wants something we simply go and buy it for the other one. The only presents under our tree are usually the ones that go to our nieces and nephews.

You can see why putting the tree up just to take it down is really not that much of a priority for us. There are some years we have discussed not even having a tree.

I got to watch my one niece play basketball again this weekend. It is pretty cool because as an elementary student she gets to play basketball in the same gym where @mrsbozz played High School basketball and volleyball.

They ended up losing the game, but some of the things we noticed they needed to work on last game were much improved this time. @mrsbozz's brother is the coach so I know he will get them playing great in no time!

We did some more experimentation in our Instant Pot again this weekend as well. I didn't get any pictures, but I think we plan on using it this week for a dinner or two, so I will try to do better. I promise!

Given all of the excitement that has happened in the past week with Steemit, I have been thinking a lot about it lately.

Specifically my mind has been focusing on engagement a lot. There was a time that I thought that growing your account was a sure fire way to get more followers and in turn upvotes on Steemit.

At one time that may have been the case, but I guess I am not seeing it as much lately. I feel like I get a decent amount of comments on my posts, I don't feel like it has really increased since I purchased some Steem and powered it up though.

There are several dolphins that I find myself engaging with quite frequently on Steemit. I frequently visit their blogs commenting and upvoting pretty much every post they write. Honestly, most of them I probably started doing it in hopes that they would reciprocate. As time passed though, I find myself actually enjoying their posts and although my interaction in the past with them was always genuine, it seems deeper now.

Given some mathematical laws and principals that I don't really know, it can be assumed that eventually the appreciation would be returned. I am finding though that is rare if ever the case.

I get it to some degree, dolphins probably have a pretty significant number of followers and therefore a lot of love to try and give out.

I can relate to that just being a minnow. There are many posts I miss or just can't get to because of time constraints.

Sometimes when I really get thinking about it I start to question the quality of my own posts. I have a feeling I am not the only one that does this either.

I think that can be very dangerous though. The minute you start doubting yourself you are just pushing yourself one step closer to quitting. I have a feeling far too many great Steemians have probably given up because they thought their content wasn't good enough.

We need to change this, and I am not really sure how. As much as so many people don't agree with the idea of circle jerk voting, I would suggest that some of that just happens naturally. As you interact with other users circles of friends and circles with similar interests form.

I really think we should look at how to expand those circles as opposed to outright condemming them. Of course, the upvote circles that deal with mindless spam content can go away forever as far as I am concerned :)

I really wish I had answers for some of the questions I am asking. It would really make me feel better about the future of a lot of people here on Steemit. Hopefully with the implementation of @steeveapp, some of those hidden gems will start to see the light of day more.

I know a lot of people say (especially in these times) that you shouldn't focus on the rewards. Being upfront though, I say it's hard not to. The truth is, if it weren't for some perks I get from delegating, some shares I have with @steembasicincome, and the free upvotes I get from posting with @esteem, my posts don't make much more than they did when I was a plankton. In many cases they make even less (which I assume can be attributed to the price decline).

That's just sad to me. With close to a year on the platform now, some of my own money invested and powered up, a handful of @curie's, and being a member of some really great communities, I guess I expected more.

Don't get me wrong, I am not going anywhere, but right now especially, I think we all need to take a overhead view of Steemit in general as well as our place here. Where are we at? Where do we want to be? How can we get there? How can we help others get from where they are to where they want to be?

Steemit is a community after all, and like most communities it grows and it evolves. Are we going to grow and evolve with it or try to keep doing things the old way and lose members in the process?

Sorry if this was too much rambling. I just had some thoughts that I felt needed to get out there, even if they are a bit disjointed and random :)

I'd love to hear your feeback though, do you agree with me? Disagree? Do you have any thoughts of your own on what I wrote about? Leave me a comment!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

If I miss even a day of steemit, Gina has nervous breakdown and a panic attack :D I am glad you had a nice weekend and I understand that it can be hard when earnings are lower than we would want them to be, I am having the same problems (thinking) but I remind myself that crypto falls and crypto raises, it is just what crypto does. It will rise again soon enough.

I used to panic a lot more than I do now. It seriously took me about three hours just to catch up on posts and comments this morning. That was just for the 10 people that STEEM plus allows me to favorite. I will be the first to admit how hard it is to keep up. Maybe I am answering my own questions about dolphin behavior as I type this. Thanks for the great comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Vote values are so small with the value of steem today. It's the number of votes and the engagement I get with my peers that I really pay attention to.

I firmly believe that the more we do at this down cycle the better we will be in the up times. Not just financially, but in terms of votes and 'impact' on the platform.

I believe. I just bought Steem with a small amount of money I received from my mother's estate. As opposed to a drone which I could convince myself would improve my posts :)

I'm glad you are hanging in, because I really enjoy being able to read and react to your posts, and love your reaction to mine. Thank you.

Thanks I appreciate it. I, like a lot of people wish they had not removed the number of views statistic from posts. That was really helpful in determining engagement. Don't worry, I am not going anywhere! I might struggle to find things to write about over the Winter though...

Posted using Partiko Android

We to only have ourselves now and as we spend Christmas often away from home for a couple of years we didnt do a tree, this year we did one again but a nice little small one that works for us

As for your comment son interaction, I made it to Dolphin, but I really also have not noticed a lot of increase in the rewards I get as a dolphin, It helps me to vote on more post, but my votes I give are not huge, mainly because i like interacting with those I follow and interact with, so have to give out a lot of smaller votes, I could limit myself to 10 big votes, but I like sharting my votes around, it may not be the bets way to increase the votes I receive but I honestly enjoytthe way I do things and interat with people now So I will not changeit

That is a good way to think about it. There are times I find I have some extra VP and I try to give it out as best I can. I recently adjusted my votes up a little because I want them to mean something to people. I guess I just expected growth to be a little more exponential as you increase SP...

Posted using Partiko Android

I try and support when I can, I am somewhat generous to those who join the Wednesday Walks and randomly give out tips, since my votes aren't that big

!tip

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Lights Camera Action Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Just keep looking at the amount of STEEM, and not the $$ value. @newhope sent you a little love on this one and its just shy of $2. Consider STEEM is 35c each, thats 5.7 STEEM right now for this post so far - curation.

Not long back, STEEM was $2 a pop, so your post would have been $11.40 by now. Does that look any better?

It does an thanks for the perspective. I had never heard of the @newhope account before and then I saw that upvote come across and I was surprised. As I have grown over the past year on here I know that my engagement has grown as well. I am commenting much more than I had ever imagined in the past. I'd like to see some more of it returned on my own posts. Maybe I am just in a rut where I feel like it is the same 5 people that always comment on my posts. It doesn't mean I appreciate them any less. You know?

@newhope has been around forever and is one of the silent orca's, good that you got a visit.

Your writing today is thought provoking and none of us should be doing it for the money. We can earn more at McDonalds.

For sure. I have mentioned that my thought process has shifted over the past couple of months. That being said though you would hope that as your writing grows and evolves that your rewards would follow. If I didn't care about at all about making money I would be posting on Facebook. There are many more people that I know active on there than I do here. I'm not saying I am going to do that, I am just making a point that something needs to be different, but I am not sure what it is. I think everyone kind of feels it, we just can't put it into words maybe.

I know many more on Facebook, but cant be bothered with it any more. Facebook is all one liners and people showing off mostly, this requires talent and to be able to write. it is terrible value for your time, but I still get a kick out of it.

I'm trying to post less frequently - aiming for one quality post a week, and it's really for the reasons you say. Not that I'm feeling frustrated with my progress on Steemit - I posted very frequently for a while, and I think it did grow my rep. But I just don't have the time to devote to regular posting or wider post reading. In my opinion there is so much excellent quality on Steemit, that I simply don't have the time to read or listen to or watch all the posts I'd like to, so I've spread my autovoting net more widely, and I'm aiming to be more focused about my posting and my post-reading on Steemit going forward.
It's interesting that you mention Steeve, because that is something I like the sound of, though I haven't looked into it yet. I've just been away too much!
I will sometimes write more than one post a week if I have something I really feel driven to write about, but I'm not going to push myself to write a lot of posts any more - one a week is enough, I think.

Ultimately we all have to do what is best for us. Thanks for the great comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Dont stress it will pick.up.one of these days. Looks a bit cold in the photo lol. Nothi g wrong with your posts and it is not you. I have also questioned but thought stuff it.

Thanks for the comment! I know myself I need to be better about spreading my vote around and engaging with people outside of the small group that I use SteemPlus to follow as favorites. Like I said, I don't have a solution, but I have met a lot of people that would love to share their success on Steemit via upvotes if they could just get to dolphin level themselves to make it worth it for the others.

I think we will be good dolphins as we would have done it the hard way. Keep powering up and dont get down. Take advantage of the low steem as it is easier to earn at the moment. It may not seem so with payouts but it is. Maybe drop the dolphins who arent supporting you and concentrate on who is around you and you will grow quicker. Just a thought

Good thoughts!

I can relate a lot to what you are saying. It is sometimes hard to stay motivated , not for the rewarding but indeed engagement with the dolphins and beyond.... but then again,the most of then get a lot of attention and perhaps it is difficult to follow. But I keep on posting whether or not it is read 😂😂 have a great day @bozz

Thanks you too! Yeah, I hear you, I can't imagine what their circumstances are, which is why I was hesitant to call out one specific person. I imagine when you have posts that get hundreds of comments you find yourself wanting to help all of them, but not having the means to do it even as a dolphin.

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.547 which ranks you at #6038 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #215.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97