Beer Saturday : Weekend WarmupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago

This past weekend I decided to take @mrsbozz to dinner at a new place we had never been to before.

There is a reason why this is a #beersaturday post and not a Tasteem post though...

I had done some research and saw that the establishment served a decent variety of food as well as beverages so I thought it might be an interesting place to try.

We got to the place in the late afternoon after having gotten groceries at the grocery store. There were maybe a handful of people in the place and they were all sitting at the bar talking like they were regulars.

We found a high top table along one of the walls and took a seat. Eventually, a waitress came up and took our order. I was trying to read what they had on tap when she asked me if I wanted her to just tell me. I figured that probably made the most sense so I told her to go ahead.

@mrsbozz got a captain and diet coke and I settled on the Kentucky Ale Kentucky Vanilla Barrel Cream Ale. Settled really isn't the word I should have used. It was actually pretty fantastic. I have had the regular Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale in the past and was pretty happy with it. I remember it was pretty expensive though coming in at around $12 for a six pack.

Because we made it during happy hour, the price of my pint was closer to $5 which some may consider high, but that actually isn't too bad for a craft beer in the states.

It actually wasn't what I was expecting when it showed up to the table. I was thinking it was going to be a much darker beer than it ended up being. After the first sip I didn't really mind though. You can definitely taste the vanilla and the subtle notes from the bourbon barrel also come through. Although it is a cream ale it didn't have much of a head and it goes down in a smooth satisfying way.

@mrsbozz and I waited for a while after getting our drinks and noticed that the waitress never gave us menus or asked if we wanted to look at one. Personally, we didn't feel that we should have to ask for menus so I finished my beer, and @mrsbozz had one more of her cocktails.

Giving up on the thought of food from this establishment I made a quick call to a local pizza joint less than a block away, we finished our drinks, picked up the pizza and enjoyed it at home.

I talked to my friend later that night and he verified that though their food is good it is more a place that people to go drink rather than eat, so maybe that is why we were never offered a menu. Chances are we will not be returning, so in the end we may never know. I asked @mrsbozz later that night if her drink was at least mixed well and she said "not for a short". Pretty disappointing despite the winner I found with my beer.

On a side note, we saw a 50 degree temperature swing this past weekend going from about -10 Fahrenheit last week to 40 degrees on Sunday.

This is what happens when you run your heat 24/7 during a week of sub zero temps. We had a nice ice stalagmite working it's way up towards our furnace exhaust pipe.

I kicked it over on Sunday morning because I was concerned about it growing even more and blocking the exhaust pipe. It seems like each year there are a number of fatalities due to carbon monoxide poisoning from people not keeping their exhaust pipes clear of snow and ice.

Hopefully the polar vortex has left us for the remainder of the Winter, but only time will tell... If you get a chance to try any of the Kentucky Ales, I highly recommend you do so.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Sounds like a nice beer, I have to admit I do miss my beers I was a big beer drinker, but on the blood thinners I am only allowed one beer, and to me thats just a taster and would only frustrate me LOL

Good thing you noticed the Stalagmite growing towards the exhaust and kicked it over, hopefully it wont swing back that cold again but always good to be cautious

Interesting. "The reason it's not a tastem review..."

I went to a BBQ joint in Gilette, WY this summer. I had the taste of Q in my mouth and there was a place with high reviews on my end of town. Perfect. Except it wasn't. Perfect. It's funny because I had a really terrific Chinese meal then night before less than half a mile away.

So, some days chicken, some days feathers. I'm glad you had a good beer.

Thanks I appreciate it! I can't imagine having the jones for Q and not being able to get it. That's a travesty right there!

I wouldn't return either and most likely you made the right choice and left. If they were known for good food the regulars would all be eating.

Very good point. They did have a weird shrimp cocktail/nacho bar sitting out, but who knows how long it had been sitting out exposed to room temperature!

Have always eaten where the regulars eat. If there is no food then there is a good reason for that.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.660 which ranks you at #5498 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 231 places in the last three days (old rank 5729).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 391 (02/05/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34