A Case of the Monday's?

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I was trying to find the meme from "Office Space" for my intro picture, but I couldn't find one that was free for use, so you will have to settle for a picture of my Christmas tree.

That's right, despite all laws of the universe @mrsbozz and I got our Christmas tree up a full two weeks before Christmas this year.

Typically, we are sitting around a couple days before Christmas, look at each other and silently communicate that we should probably get this thing up huh.

It is a pretty simple tree, but it has served us well over the years. We both have allergies so a real tree is off the table.

@mrsbozz is actually hosting Mah Jong tonight with her mother and aunts, so I think that is part of the reason she wanted to get the tree up. They have been playing Mah Jong for several years now and it is something they really enjoy.

They tought me how to play once, but it is just a little too much concentration for my attention deficit disorder mind to handle.

I have to be honest, I am starting to get more and more apprehensive about Monday's on Steemit. Not because I am worried about the future of Steemit. More because as we move into Winter I find myself having less and less material to write about when I dive back in on Monday's.

That is pretty concerning for me. I mean it isn't like I have a huge group of followers that I have to placate. I have a handful and I appreciate them very much. Without their help and support, I probably wouldn't be here still doing what I am doing. My hope is that one day, I can be like some of the dolphins and whales on here. Throw up a quick but well written post about the meal you had over the weekend and earn about $30.

Not that it is all about the rewards, but if you want to grow your account, you need those rewards to invest back into SP. Even if you are here for the social interaction and the community, it's still hard to ignore the rewards (or lack thereoff).

In addition to decorating inside, I also got our outdoor decorations setup. When we first bought our house, I thought it might be a good idea to throw some lights up along the roofline and around the windows. I soon found out that our house sits much too high for my ladder to reach. There wasn't an easy or safe way to put the lights up that I had planned.

@mrsbozz and I quickly came up with a new strategy and I built these trees that sit in our front yard. I made them using tomato cages and strings of lights. Each tree consists of about three to four strings of lights. In the future I am planning on replacing them with LED lights. The way they are now my electric bill goes up about $50 to $75 for the month of December when I run them from dusk to about 10 PM.

We always try to make sure that we put them in a different order each year so that people actually know we are celebrating Christmas and not just trying to recreate the Italian or Mexican flag!

This Sunday I also did what I frequently do on Sunday's throughout the year. I went to church and sat with my parents. It is a relatively progressive church and they like to do crazy things with the decorating in the sanctuary. I thought it looked pretty cool so I took a picture.

I have been attending this church for over 40 years and I can tell you that I spent many sermons as a kid counting the stained glass panels that you can see here.

I get church isn't everyones thing. I also get that many churches have done a really good job of pushing a lot of people away. I choose to go to be with my family and because it edifies my soul. In the Summer I camp a lot and am not able to go as frequently. I can tell when I haven't been in a while, not because I feel guilty, but because I know I need that spiritual refreshing.

Anyway, that was my weekend. @mrsbozz and I also ran around to a couple nearby cities to do our grocery shopping and some Christmas shopping.

What did you do for your weekend? How do you keep things fresh on Steemit during those times when you aren't making new content happen?

I look forward to reading your comments!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Viva Christmas! Feliz Navidad! Pretty cool alternative to the roof lighting.

A relatively slow weekend for me. Sam and I found some new dirt to sniff in our walk Saturday, then I actually went out Saturday night and rubbed shoulders with other folks. Sunday I watched Gonzaga lose and Detroit win. Neither of which I was particularly happy with :)

Next weekend I'm going camping. It's sorta Popsicle temps around here but it's a good meeting of the clan in the booming metropolis of Borrego Springs, CA.

It wasn't pretty, but I was happy with the outcome of the Detroit/Arizona game. Have fun camping! It will probably be nice to just get out and seem some stars.

Thanks for sharing @bozz. Nice little tree. I like them smaller instead of the big ones. Even though my wife has to have a big one lol

Cool Church, btw

Yeah, we have always had a smaller tree just because we don't usually have a ton of room in our living room for them. Even at our old house space was a commodity. Thanks for stopping in and for the comment. That church has been good to me. Lots of memories there...

Wow! Nice xmas tree man.. 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I appreciate it!

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

@mrsbozz is NOT playing mahjong... she just kicked my arse in SteemMonsters!

Anyway, nice tree that you got up there! We finally got ours up today as well, it's nice to be in the festive spirit now!

Hah! That was actually me, she doesn't do much with her Steem Monsters account either. That is a little to "nerdy" for her. Yes, it is nice to have our tree up!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.38% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I was trying to find the meme from "Office Space" for my intro picture, but I couldn't find one that was free for use, so you will have to settle for a picture of my Christmas tree.

There is something delightfully quirky about this statement. ^^^

("I was going to take you out for a really nice dinner, but those places cost a lot of money. So here. Have a stick of gum. You're welcome." )

That sounds about how I roll! I needed a segway because the title honestly came after the post idea. It was always going to be the Christmas tree 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.570 which ranks you at #5904 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 134 places in the last three days (old rank 6038).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 337 (12/11/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47