My Ether Wallet: EOS registrationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

Dear freedom loving Steemians.

If you would be so kind as to lend me your ears for a few moments, I have a couple of questions regarding the above!

SirKnight has a recently set up a 'My Ether Wallet', primarily to hold and register EOS tokens - it being done now as a test case for some potential larger acquisitions (though STEEM remains my first love.)

With approximately 50 tokens - successfully transferred in from Exodus - SirKnight followed the steps to register the tokens with EOS and believes this was done correctly and was charged a small amount of Ether for the privilege.

However, now in the main dashboard - there appears to be no evidence / confirmation that the tokens have in fact been registered.

Questions:

  1. Where in My Ether Wallet or other, does SirKnight go to confirm these tokens have been registered?

  2. If SirKnight moves more tokens into the same 'My Ether Wallet'account - do these need to be registered also, or are they automatically picked up because the wallet account and the EOS public key are now linked?

  3. Should SirKnight decide to set up a new My Ether Wallet for new EOS tokens, can he use the same EOS registration public code?

Thank you for your time.

I am... SirKnight!

By the way... careful participating in the EOS token distribution using MetaMask - as if spending nearly $50 to receive 12 Tokens wasn't bad enough - Metamask, now seems to want another $50 or so to claim the tokens - WTF? Writing the tokens off now as an 'Education Expense'.


@crypto-investor (calling you out Ted in the hope you have the answers).

Image:
https://www.myetherwallet.com/

Sort:  

mine sitting still in exodus,not registered plus yesterday my laptop screen was only black and white.....kaputt...lol...not funny....
had to setup my old laptop which only runs 32bit not 64bit.cant access exodus at the moment,works only 64bit...
have to go to Bangkok (400km) at one stage to IT Plaza and see what they can do....no way around here to get it fixed/if....
anyway good luck with your EOS.....i have to do that too one day.....
have a nice day...

Urs, check point 13 here: https://eos.io/faq.html, I have the same problem with my whole position sitting on Bitfinex. Is the question WHY they have a referal to Bitfinex at the bottom of the official decentralized "givemeyourmoney" site???

thanks,i transfered them to exodus after i purchased them in bitfinex.
i read somewhere that exodus is compatible now but the registering you still have to do....which i cant,i dont have a computer at the moment who runs on 64bit....
so you wonder while mainstream wont jump in on all these things.....to complicated....

Reminds me of the first fax machines and emails.

shocking isnt it.....thanks for the coffee invitation...im on my way...lol....i wish it would be that easy....

I have been buying through metamask since the begining. When claiming for me it says it will charge you x amount in gas price to claim although when i do claim only a very small percentage comes off my remaining eth balance im not sure excatly how it works but i am happy with it..i also buy from bitfinex and tranfer to mwtamask, then on the eos.io site thwy auromatically come up registered from the first time i registered my keys i presume?

SK. You don't actually register the tokens. Rather you are registering the ether address where the tokens are held so they can be authenticated and EOS then sent to that address when the release occurs.

How to check whether registration was successful can be found in my post on the process here: https://steemit.com/eos/@scooter77/exchanging-steem-or-sbd-for-eos-using-exodus-wallet-to-register-eos-tokens

Hope that helps!

Hi scooter. I am holding my EOS on Bitfinex. I had thought that my Bitfinex wallet has the registration function integrated? I am not so happy using Metamask. Is this really a big problem to your mind?

Hi @lucky.digger. I'm not sure about Bitfinex, but you need to ensure you have them registered before the ICO ends in June 2018 or you lose everything. Your ETH address needs to be linked to a public EOS key to have them registered. Plenty of time to check it out.

I too have a few EOS tokens in my Exodus wallet. But I was unaware I had to register them? Was just gonna hold them. What is the benefit of transferring/registering them? Do I have to or just hold?

Somebody smarter than me please splain it to me.

Phil.jpg

You have to register them - by the end of the ICO - or they will be worthless
http://support.exodus.io/article/65-i-ve-received-eos-tokens-in-exodus-how-do-i-register-them
I haven't done it yet..

Part of the reason I got Exodus was to not have to download and maintain too many wallets. Fail. Thanks for the info. @drwom

Still a great wallet - plus it facilitates the process. Much more convoluted without it.
Anyway, by my reckoning we have a year or so to sort it - but probably better to do it sooner than later 👍

I bought a little over 10 tokens just to hodl. Pretty lack luster performance so far but I like what the EOS platform says it can do. We'll see how it shakes out.

Yep
It's worth giving the link in @scooter77 s post above a read as well - it explains the why behind the how to register the tokens, if you know what I mean.

He also links to a @bulleth article which is also a good read on EOS

Cheers

Good call on the @bulleth article. Also watched the @cryptogordo video and followed them as well. Makes me feel better about my EOS. Think Im gonna pick up a few more.

Gave you a follow and upvote too. @drwom Good looking out.

Thanks Harleyman!
Follow back :-)
I gonna check out the #steemitbookclub as well

Yep - it certainly looks like it'll do well in the long run..

No worries!

wow so complex - i had wanted to buy some EOS but will wait until it is a simpler method -- good on you giving it a go

this is great content for steemit sirknight!

Thank you for your post.

thanks for the information friend @sirknight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38