Sort:  

The EOS token distribution is run entirely on the Ethereum blockchain over a period of 341 days. @eosio

You said the sale last 365 days. I think you should correct this.

I agree with what you say in this post. We'll see how it goes.

good catch. got the 365 from the earlier releases, though it had been updated with the official release. corrected.

so, should I buy tokens at a later time after a month? do you think the price will go up

I can't advise what you should or shouldn't do, other than to educate yourself and make your own decisions.

Personally, the only reason I'd see to invest in the first five day period is if it was transparent that there was a HUGE sum of like a billion dollars already contributed that'd put the price for that period at a relative low.

Otherwise, I'd be watching day-to-day at the very end of the 23h periods as to what price is relative to earlier periods and what the exchange prices are - which would be tough without an app like suggested above or knowledge of how to read the contract coding as it updates...

Hope this helps out some people, wish us all good luck https://steemit.com/eos/@dowha/5jy9k-why-you-should-not-buy-eos-on-the-first-ico

There is a way to determine the price of the EOS through the contributions so far, by using the token distribution interface. It lists right there how much contributions have there been so far during that particular window. The way to know the price is to divide the total contributions so far (in dollars) over the number of tokens in that particular window.

well I'll be damned. seems they've got that base already covered. thanks for the clarification. :-)

yeah :)
you're welcome!

When EOS is available to purchase, people are making it out to be like an IOC. Does this mean that we need to trade ethereum to buy it through a wallet that supports smart contracts?

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 2.03.23 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 2.04.44 PM.png

Thanks for the great help! Got Metamask.

Will need to buy with ETH, yes.

Saw a post somewhere clarifying how to buy, simplifying the process for different wallets - can't recall which exactly now, though should be able find out if you dig a bit... any Ethereum client or something like MyEtherWallet should do the job well....

thank you for posting i really informative i think i should also share :)

Not gonna lie I'm really excited for this ico. I've been ignoring basically all of them lately due to the overhyped nature (seems like every year or two it's something new, last one was the blochchain now it's any and every ico) and just finding coins I'll track later on but I'm super excited to invest in eos.

Love your posts as always dude.

Thanks for sharing. We definitely need a better distribution model than recent sales. Even Civic, which was supposed to be "fair," I got shut out of... probably for the better. EOS will be interesting.

Very interesting...I hope you will continue to keep us all updated. Very exciting times, I feel blessed to be on the front lines here at Steemit!

Can you provide any clarity on this in regards to the token sale...
"US-IP detected, participation not allowed"

Mmmm... as in that is the message you're getting when trying to go to the EOS website?

Does it say in the terms/agreement that US citizens can't invest? T'is possible, as some ICOs - like Blockchain Capital's, run by brock Pierce who is a partner in EOS, do have that limitation - in which case, the website could be checking the location of your IP address...

In which case, the workaround could be to get a VPN and select a server outside the US...

That is the message that I get whenI go to the get tokens section.

I see. Thanks for the clarification....why cant the good things in life be easy :)

cuz they'd lose their value, and wouldn't taste nearly as good after the struggle... :-)

very true.... :)

Thank you for your analysis that helps me a lot to understand this new crypto. I will follow you because I need someone like you to help me understand what is going on in crypto

any particular aspects you're most interested in or feeling stuck with at the moment?

I'd be happy to help direct you to some of the previous posts I've made that may shorten your learning curve, though don't want to overwhelm with too much info at once.

lemme know where you're at, what you need, and what you're looking for, and I'll share a few posts specific to kickstarting in that direction... :-)

@izbing

Good to have you here! I have to say you are quite the machine!

3053 posts
1375 followers
2244 following

In less than 3 weeks!

less than 3 weeks?? I been here over a year now...

Not you @rok-sivante!! Sorry for the confusion!!

I meant @izbing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39