First EOStalk.io post, curious about distribution rounds over exchange purchases?

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

*EDIT* I was attempting to make my first post on the EOStalk.io forum. I was EOStalk.io was integrated with the STEEM blockchain. What I wasn't aware of is that my post on the message board would show up in my Steemit feed, so for anyone reading this wondering where the context is, that's the explanation. It's here, and I don't want to delete it, so let's just keep the EOS conversation going. My question below and curiosities on EOS distribution versus straight exchange trading still stands.

Hey, everyone! My name is Lars, I'm @kommienezuspadt on Steemit.  I saw the announcement for EOStalk.io a few weeks ago and have been meaning to post since. Tonight is the first chance I've had to sit down and make a brief introduction and ask question that's been on my mind.
I'm currently holding just over 2,000 EOS. I've bought them all through the EOS distribution app. Of the 33 or so rounds that've ended so far, I've had a variety of results [...none as good as round 0 of course]. The last few have actually ended above what I'm seeing EOS trading for on the exchanges.
I guess I'm just curious if there's any real benefit to buying EOS through distribution? I guess there are still rounds ending at $1.30 or less, but beyond that possibility? 
Just wondering what the EOS community thinks. A few friends in Minneapolis turned me on to Steemit last year. I never imagined in this time I'd be going through the process of buying something as elusive as EOS. I'm still a little wet behind the ears with a lot of the cryptocurrency strategies.
Thanks! Looking forward to posting here more often.
Sort:  

No real benefit, its the same result as buying on an exchange, the exchange is supposed to set the price and the EOS drops should end about the same as what the market is trading it in theory.. so no real benefit. Good job being in early though!!

Thanks @drpuffnstuff. That's what I assumed but it's great to get some confirmation. I was bullish on EOS, mostly on an instinct and with my limited crpyto-knowledge, anything Graphene seems to be a good long term play. STEEM, BitShares and EOS are what I plan on holding for the next 2 - 5 years. Myself, @lovejoy @mada and @denno took some involved steps to be sure we had the tools to buy EOS in that first round. I'm glad I did. I think I got it at $0.87!

That's a good start. And I hold some of all those coins too. Steem, bitshares, peerplays (graphene too!) , And eos. There are a couple coins I like too. Iota and BAT that I want to grab a bit of.. you got in at a good time. I would suggest just saving money or Bitcoin/ethereum for a bit before investing more, just incase it comes down once more coins come out. It has stayed steady though

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

I too am pretty new to all of this, but learning as I go. haha
:)

I have to say, this whole post does not make a lot of sense to me. As a neophyte in the whole crypto world, I lack a lot of contest here. Are there any good primers to catch me up?

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

@kellyjanderson, when's the next time you and Peter are in the Twin Cities? We really need to have a longer form, conversation about all of this. I know you'd fall down a rabbit hole and get in to all of this and there are endless opportunities for those that are on board early [...it's still early]. If you're not coming back to Minneapolis any time soon, maybe I can just call you one night and field some questions, then give you the broad strokes of what I know about EOS and other alt coins.

We might be in Minneapolis for the holidays. That would be the soonest we will be in Minneapolis. I will message you on messenger and we can figure out a time to have a conversation on the phone.

I'm holding a discussion on https://steemit.com/eos/@nsepia/eos-ico-is-a-ponzi-scheme-live-gambling-scam
Feel free to ask me any questions and I'll answer best I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43