EOS just overtook Litecoin on CoinMarketCap!

in #eos6 years ago

This is outside of my typical post as I’m not an analyst, crypto-expert or in any way qualified to talk about the intricacies of the cryptosphere. With that disclosure, though, I’m going to do it anyway. HOLY SHIT! EOS just overtook Litecoin […and ADA for that matter] on CoinMarketCap! Weeks ago, @lovejoy and I commented on how EOS was slowly creeping up the ranks, sitting just under LTC before this recent continuation of the correction. Tonight, in what I find to be a huge milestone, EOS is now number five on CMC, just under BCH.

I look forward to getting some insight on what this means from the crypto-analytic minds here on Steemit much smarter and more educated than me. I can, however, share what this moment means for me personally, as someone who has been a believer in the EOS platform since it’s first announcement. Through @mada, @robrigo, @fox, @lovejoy and other close friends, I’ve come to see @dan as an exceptional human being in ability to see ambitious goals, implement the tools to achieve them and stay mindful of how those accomplishments affect human beings.

In my time here I’ve come to realize, I am one of those human beings who’s life has been bettered, exponentially, year over year as a regular user and supporter of a platform @dan built in cooperation with the rest of the Steemit team. As EOS announcements first made ripples across the blockchain world, I’d decided I was going to be a part of this, even with a shortage of information and plenty of FUD, I felt this project was going to be something special.

My plan was to hold EOS until it 10x’ed, sell half and keep the rest for a year or two. After a recent conversation with @mada, @lovejoy and @robrigo, I’ve been seeing my stake in this blockchain as something bigger than turning a quick profit. I’ve watched interviews with @dan where he spoke of freedom. That word has been taking on a deeper sentiment for me lately as we close in on the end of the EOS distribution and the launch of the blockchain. I want to be a comic book artist more than anything, and I genuinely do believe EOS is my path to the job I’ve wanted my entire life.

ONO is a new decentralized social network set to launch on the EOS platform in just four days! During that same conversation with my friends at @caffetto, one of them said “…the day will come when you’ll be able to live off of airdrops, app expansion dividends and renting your EOS stake.”. I think that was the comment that broke me through my previous way of thinking that I could potentially make money. We spoke of theoretical projects, initiatives and even social networks, but here we are; less than a week away from the first social network on EOS about to go live. No longer “theoretical” and two months before the blockchain is live.

I’m excited. This is something I’ve been an evangelist for since it was first announced. I’m seeing this complicated relationship emerging between EOS believers and STEEM loyalists. I can’t speak for everyone, but my hopeful optimism for what EOS will become is not mutually exclusive to my love for Steemit. In fact, the resoundingly positive change Steemit has made in my life is what supports my EOS enthusiasm. I’m sure I’ll be creating an ONO accounts, and when EOS rolls out their official social network, I’ll join that as well…but Steemit was my first love and initial introduction to the blockchain and it’ll always hold that place in my decentralized heart. With Hivemind implemented, Communities on the near horizon and SMT’s coming, there’s more to be excited about here in our little corner of the internet than ever before.

Thanks for letting me ramble about something I know little about […in comparison to many here on Steemit]. My excitement had moved me and what I love so much about Steemit is that I have an outlet for my thoughts and feelings. Follow me here @kommienezuspadt for more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on life and cryptocurrency! Good night!

Sort:  

A belated April's fools day?
If not, holy shit indeed.
EOS may be better than ETH, but its inflation rate and dan's history of serial quitting and competing against his own creations, make me doubt its long term success.
I wonder what he has in mind now.
Early adoption of his creations seems to be wise so far, as long as one sells in time.

You got a 33.33% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!

You got a 31.58% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @stimialiti!

It’s amazing that the first airdrop is about to happen a couple of months before EOS even goes live. This has a bright future.

Absolutely. The airdrop situation could be a really big deal or those us planning to hold EOS long term. I think the rest of this year is going to be exciting and disrupting.

Agreed. I wish it would launch already ( I donundefstand it takes time, I’m just s little impatient). Airdrops, especially if they pan out as described, could change the whole landscape.

What do you need to get in on the air drop ? Is owning a few shares of EOS on Binance enough ?

You get 1:1 new tokens on the air drop but to automatically get them you need to have at least 100 EOS and hold them
On an address you control. You will then be automatically credited with tokens. If you have less than 100 tokens you need to apply manually.

If you have tokens on an exchange you need to contact the exchange to see if they support the airdrop.

Another reason to never keep coins/ tokens on exchanges. Use a wallet.

So if I have EOS on exodus I'll get an automatic drop w/o doing anything?

You will have to check if exodus is supporting the airdrop. Quite possibly no. You can only be sure of airdrops going forward if you control the address. Either way it’s too late for this one as the DAC was dropped based on the chain as at 15 April.

Okay. Thanks.

posting a very good friend, I upvote and resteem yes.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Wow, I knew nothing about this. Haven't been on Coinmarket cap for a while since nowadays I just look at Blockfolio and track the coins I'm holding. Crazy that EOS has climbed that high. I'll be on the lookout from now on and jumping on ONO from the beginning. Thanks for the heads up @kommienezuspadt!

Since I made this post, LTC has reclaimed the #5 position on CoinMarketCap, but it was still a really significant milestone @midlet. We're 60 days away from the blockchain going live.

I'm looking at EOS now as if I was looking at ETH at $4.

Absolutely @fr3eze. I've picked EOS up at $14 and felt [...and still feel] that it was a good investment.

its not about photography, but its also a nice post sir.. thanks for sharing this..

Thanks very much @azilanaitmay825! Thanks for reading and commenting.

Is EOS Holding profitable now?

It's gone up $3 in the last two days @mominsdt, so I'd say so. Longer term it's going to be a much bigger deal. Not only because of it's monetary value but because of the stake you'll have in future projects and applications.

I got a few divination questions on EOS today. I did a post on one.

For those who are too creeped out by clicking on links in the comment section, its a recent post with EOS in the title.

Awwwww! Cool. I should hire @tarotbyfergus to do an EOS reading and compare notes! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83