Sort:  

I want to help create a world we all want to live in.

Rationality, I think, is an important key to a better world. The more people who get rekted by this because of irrational action, the more setbacks we'll have towards achieving our goals of a better world. I don't want to see people get hurt. I want them to benefit from rational decisions.

You are an idealist and I respect that.

I am also in favor of rationalism, and that's why I believe we should try to profit from these irrational people. With less money, they will breed less, and reason will triumph.

With less money, they will breed less, and reason will triumph.

That's not a rational position. See birth rates in poverty stricken areas. The facts show the exact opposite in areas with low income, low access to birth control, low education, high infant mortality, etc.

We're not in a simplistic Darwinian survival of the financially fittest situation anymore because we're controlling or own evolution as a species. The path forward, IMO, involves education, empowerment, moving more people up Maslow's Hierarchy, etc. I wrote a whole post on that How to Improve the World.

I dont think people from Africa, or more generally speaking, undeveloped countries are going to invest in EOS. It's mostly amer-euro rich people. You should have 0 regrets of using your brain to profit from these people, they would do it.

For me, it's not about regrets, it's about a rational position to improve my own wellbeing and the wellbeing of those I care about.

Let's assume for a moment a bunch of amer-euro rich people get massively butt-hurt here. What do think they will do next? They will run to mommy and daddy government to pass more legislation to protect them from themselves. Further restrictions on cryptocurrency will form and the government will be more than happy to have even more control over their human farms.

A competition mindset, IMO, is a primitive, archaic approach. We've dominated this planet as a species not just because of competition but because of our ability to cooperate through our language and technology.

I understand your point of view, but I am sadly more pessimistic about the human race. No matter if people get butthurt or not, legislation will happen, because of human greed and thrist for power. It's only a matter of time.

I hope your vision comes true. Mine is close. I guess we just disagree on the way to get there. Whichever the way, people need to start owning themselves and be free. There won't be any room for brainless people who need permanent assistance in our future. You believe it's possible to convert them all and transition without problems. I believe many people will struggle and won't be able to do it, ending up in major social disasters.

About humans on this planet... Firstly I wouldn't say 'dominated this planet' as there are actually some people who think we were created by God and put there as the master race of Earth. I would use 'top of the food chain' instead. And no, I don't believe it's through cooperation, language or technology that we achieved that. Imagine a simulation of a small earth, which is biologically as diverse as Earth right now (including some humans with no language, no technology). These humans would end up dominating as well, without developping tech or language. They would just hunt for hours, and sweat, follow the tracks of animals and find them, exhausted, only waiting to be finished off.

Good discussion.

I think being pessimistic or optimistic has a lot to do with our perceptions and data exposure. If we call reality "normal" then pessimism or optimism could be seen as thinking something outside of what's normal either based on delusions or a lack of information. For me, having read books like Origins of Virtue and The Better Angels of Our Nature, I'd like to think I have an accurate view of humanity as it is today. I tell myself my story is accurate and rational based on the inputs I have, but in reality I'm probably skewing things based on my personal, subjective experiences. In the same way, someone could read all kinds of books about how great humanity is right now, but if their own lives are miserable, they will probably be pessimistic.

people need to start owning themselves and be free

I agree.

There won't be any room for brainless people who need permanent assistance in our future.

Ah, but compared to AI, won't we all be brainless? Using the philosophical veil of ignorance, I hope we take a more cautious approach here as any one of us could have been born less fortunate either genetically or environmentally.

I believe many people will struggle and won't be able to do it

This is a very real possibility. It's why I've been exploring blockchain-based UBI concepts. I also appreciate the many posts @dantheman wrote on the concept which I linked to here.

As for whether or not humans are the "top of the food chain" put there by God or if they evolved to dominate the top of the food chain, seems to me to be different words to describe the same result.

These humans would end up dominating as well, without developping tech or language.

I disagree. There are many species which are far more effective killers than humans (sharks, lions, etc), but we overcome them through our cooperation and technology. I don't think that's just my opinion, I think there's plenty of evidence to support this position.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71