EOS: Now for a fistful of Euros

in #eos6 years ago

You certainly hear about EOS now being tradable on Austrian Crypto Exchange Bitpanda, but there is more to this news, kindly hinted to my by @tsto:

https://twitter.com/bitpanda/status/1022784800518754304

It seems we are now able to buy into EOS (among other crypto) with cash and that via the Federal Postal Services and it's 400 branch offices throught the country. So maybe it's even possible to spend some Euros in some Alpine hamlet on your holidays?

So how does this work?

You walk in an Postal office where you buy a voucher starting from 50€. This voucher you can then use on the bitpanda platform:
https://www.bitpanda.com/en/togo

So actually it's just a coupon for an exchange, the possible good thing here, is they don't require any KYC procedure (curious how that works out legally), so that's not so bad.

Is this legit or just a scam?

Apparently it is, since the Austrian Post Office, which is semi-federal, also advertises this offer and links to the bitpanda page: https://www.post.at/en/personal_postal_branches_products_services.php#20615
bitpanda.post.eos.png

I assume you wont be able to buy a set amount of EOS, but only to feed the 50+ Eur to Bitpanda. But for sure i intend to try this out. Binance demonstrates more and more that they are not trustworthy as regards EOS.

Do you think that will help adoption?

Sort:  

Well it will certainly help adoption in Austria. I especially like the part about no KYC as I am not a big fan of handing my identity over to companies that are not regulated and do not have a track record of probity. The irony being I would actually trust the postal service.

In the UK Cryptomate was offering direct purchases of EOS. It was where I was buying my EOS. Unfortunately this is/was limited to people with UK bank accounts and the markup is pretty steep varying around 5-7%. At the moment EOS trading is suspended.

In the future I am going to be trying out Skrill the Paypal clone.....ish. They recently announced that they will be trading BTC, Ether, LTC and BCH in co-operation with Bitpay and there is NO KYC beyond your bank details. This is available worldwide for converting to and from fiat. I'll report back on how smooth it is.

Binance demonstrates more and more that they are not trustworthy as regards EOS.

What have Binance been up to? I've been trading with EOS on Binance, mostly the BTC pairing so if you have any info it would help.

Withdrawals (and recently deposits) have been suspended for nearly two weeks now, with the blatant note "wallet maintenance". All otherexchanges and wallets are working just fine.

Oh yes I noticed that. It could well be legit as I'm sure there will have been teething problems with the changeover. I'd rather have a secure wallet than lose all my coins :D

I wasn't planning on withdrawing the EOS off Binance as I was trading with it so it didn't affect me. I do have some EOS offline tho.

Nice post...I noticed the Binance withdraw issue. Very sketchy.

Yes, icompletely understood the caution after main net launch, other than blocking withdrawals they should see into supporting voting

@creativeblue supporting the greats initiatives!
go ahead...

Thx, will do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58