Electric cars and Decentralized energy

in #environment6 years ago

I have wanted an electric car for quite a long time, well before they were trendy, maybe even back in the late 80s. It didn't have to be electric though, just green. I am no hippie nor am I technological enough to go too deep into the details of exactly what is green or not but, that is not what this post is about as you can see from the title.

At the moment, I drive a 2010 Honda Civic. I bought it new and I am hoping to hold onto it until I can afford a decent electric car. My want for electric has been even higher since starting to think more about decentralization.

Back during the oil crisis, engine sizes and cars got smaller to reduce fuel consumption. This likely worked out really well for the Japanese manufacturers as they already had small engines because they import all their oil. Paying for oil is expensive so efficiency is important and they are also the lean experts. I live in Finland where they import 6 billion dollars worth a year, they refine some for export out again but, most is consumed internally.

This is why I am so interested in electric cars, self-reliance, well country self-reliance. There are a growing number of ways to create electricity and even though not all are green, an electric car doesn't care which one it uses. However, my Honda is completely reliant on oil and, the handful of companies and banks that have their grip on the oil industry.

If hypothetically, Finland had 100% electric cars on the road, there would be very little need for imported oil as there are a multitude of ways electricity can be produced. As the car numbers increased of course, more ways would be developed and their efficiencies improved.

I am not saying that this is necessarily green but, it is a step to having the noose of the oil industry removed and, more energy produced and paid for locally. That means more money goes into local pockets (hopefully) than conglomerate banks. It also cuts down on oil tankers roaming the waters and the inevitable environmental disasters.

If I lived in my own home instead of an apartment building, I would have some solar panels too which may not provide all I need but, it would add some percentage into the system. Maybe with a powercell on the wall to hold charge, it would provide a decent amount, at least when the sun shone.

If the goal is to become self-sufficient to some degree, then decentralization and ownership of energy is a must. Sure, one could live off the land completely but, that is not going to be suitable for 7 billion people in this world, let alone the projected 10 billion in the next 50 years.

The countries like the US can increase fracking and coal but, not every country has this option, nor wants to do it this way because of the pollution it causes. People talk about the cost of green technology but economies of scale will come into play and, some tech is very low cost once set up which means a fast ROI

There are obviously many things to consider but it seems like a no-brainer for decentralized thinkers to think green also. At least on some matters. For me at least, I am really hoping that my next car will be an electric car that I will increasingly be able to buy local energy for and perhaps even get to a point where I can produce my own energy for it.

Another thing that will be great is that around cities at least, most people wouldn't need a car if the electric ones were self-driving also, as when people weren't using their own for example during a work day, they could lease it out as a taxi. That would mean a lot of people wouldn't need to outlay the purchase price and those that do will be able to get a return on their investment, which is very rare when buying a car. Traffic congestion would lesson and there would be much fewer accidents. All of these things come with a multitude of other savings too, both financial and environmental.

Currently, the battery life will decrease over time but, as technology advances, the price will come down plus, the new battery can be fitted to an old car. That reduces materials and costs again plus makes an older car perform much like a newer one.

For me, thinking decentralized can't just be limited to financial aspects alone as to break away from fiat and authority, it is going to require breaking away from the resource dependency they hold over us. Electric cars are not the entire answer but, they do seem to be a step in the right direction.

Ever wonder why there is so much resistance to electric cars? People in crypto should really recognize it as FUD being spread by people who have something to lose, whether it be their industries or their tax revenues. There are many prongs to breaking away from authority and it might mean a Lambo gets taken off the table.

Our reliance on energy enslaves us in so many ways from powering our cars to our phones, cutting our grass to lighting our homes. You want anarchy? Take control of the power. Literally.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

A student of mine has a top of the line Tesla that he let me drive when he bought it a few years ago. With the latest upgrades, that'll do me just fine.

Sort:  

Electric cars might be a good option for countries who can afford it. From the point of view of efficiency they are the most inefficient vehicle available on road - no offense man. Of course I understand the fact that it would cut the dependency of imported crude to nil for Finland. It can be a pretty good option in that sense

Rest of the world though................ they are only economically viable if the original energy source is nuclear or renewable. Since most of world's electrical energy comes from non-renewable resources an electric car would actually amount to more pollution as the countries try to produce more electricity for the electric cars.

Maybe in a few years...........

Maybe in a few years...........

This is the issue that everyone keeps pushing as the tech doesn't advance as the demand is low. Yes, places like Finland and the like should be hammering away at it but, just like here, it takes more than the proverbial whales to make the difference.

Since most of world's electrical energy comes from non-renewable resources

And when will this change otherwise?

  1. I think the story is far deeper than what might look on the surface. The traditional auto industry won't allow it to happen until they are sure that this could be viable for them in long run (of course not for the world).

  2. Current day projections (as far as I remember) indicate at least a century before the transition could be justifiably called in the beginning of completion.

The traditional auto industry won't allow it to happen until they are sure that this could be viable for them in long run (of course not for the world).

Of course they won't. They are a great source of the FUD.

indicate at least a century before the transition could be justifiably called in the beginning of completion.

We should wait another 20 years then ;)

Electric cars have their issues, but I don't think they are insurmountable.

Many had a problem with their low range, which I think has actually been addressed by the latest generation of electric cars. Even electric cars from many years ago could already do well for standard travel within a city. Now they're even good enough that you can travel between cities, even if they aren't exactly incredibly close. Then you can either swap out a battery, if need be, or stop for a charge. The new graphene batteries will make this a complete non-issue, as you'll likely be able to drive nearly non-stop for a day or more.

Then you have the issue of where the energy comes from, but that's not actually an issue of the electric cars, but the fact that many governments haven't addressed the issue of the number of coal factories and other such negative power plants in certain countries. Having electric cars just brings the issue more to the forefront.

China is quickly becoming the main producer of solar cells and wind turbines, but again, this is not the fault of the electric cars. We need to address such issues separately. Countries could easily help fund local plants to produce such things, as well as the electric cars themselves.

There could also be an argument as to the amount of energy needed to produce electric cars, but once again, I believe this is an issue that needs to be addressed separately.

I think the main issue is one that's not often considered, mining. You see, the batteries used currently are lithium-ion, which require a lot of dirty mining in certain countries. It's not necessarily an issue though, if we put money into different graphene battery tech. Graphene allows for much better batteries, as far as power density, such that we could choose to use much more environmentally friendly battery technologies, and still have quite a bit of range.

Low range is really only an issue with long distances without stopping points, somethin that isn't an issue in many places.

Now they're even good enough that you can travel between cities, even if they aren't exactly incredibly close.

The furthest I ever need to travel without stopping is Helsinki which is under 200 km away and there are charging points along the way just in case anyway.

China is quickly becoming the main producer of solar cells and wind turbines, but again, this is not the fault of the electric cars. We need to address such issues separately. Countries could easily help fund local plants to produce such things, as well as the electric cars themselves.

There could also be an argument as to the amount of energy needed to produce electric cars, but once again, I believe this is an issue that needs to be addressed separately.

Yep, i think they are separate issues also as they are changes that need to be made whether for cars or not. Having the cars just speeds it up hopefully.

I think the main issue is one that's not often considered, mining. You see, the batteries used currently are lithium-ion, which require a lot of dirty mining in certain countries.

Again, this will change as you noted and graphene looks promising.

The furthest I ever need to travel without stopping is Helsinki which is under 200 km away and there are charging points along the way just in case anyway.

I didn't want to quote exact ranges, because I mostly do imperial measurements, and I would have had to look them up. But, I did this time.

Model S boasts the longest operating range of all consumer EVs in the U.S. at an estimated 337 miles, it costs more to run (at the equivalent of 98 mpg) than the smaller Tesla Model 3 with a maximum 310-mile range at an estimated 130 mpg-e.
From 10 LONGEST-RANGE ELECTRIC VEHICLES FOR 2018 BY JIM GORZELANY, Contributing Writer for motor1.com

I think in the 300+ mile range (482km+), that's pretty much licking most long range trips, especially considering we've had battery technology recently jump, and the next generation batteries are even better. If we also put in maglevs big enough to transport the cars cross country, you wouldn't even need to charge. Technically you could charge one on a train, while you sat in the dining car, or some sort of entertainment hall. Perhaps an arcade. Now that would be cool.

I'm not a huge fan of electric cars as the sole solution TBH. I'm a fan of making public transport the priority. But we might naturally progess to maglev between cities and small electric vehicles in the city that are free, or rentable. With electric cars becoming cheaper, and self driving becoming a reality, there will be companies that start to pop up all over the place offering cheap as hell rides. Less and less people in major cities own cars as it is. Imagine when you can get a ride anywhere for a fraction of an hours work.

But for the time now, I would say buy a good electric that you like, planning on selling it in the next few years and buying a new longer range one. With that in mind, you might even consider used. In 3-5 years, they're going to be insane distances. In 10-15 years, exponentially more than that.

There are so many variables in the future but they need o start happening now. Yes, public transport should take long range anyway. Self-driving private/txi/mixed fr the shuttling to specific destinations. I think that if the world was a better place, there would be more movement toward seeing how good we can be instead of what ever this current nonsense is we are doing now. Half the global expenditure on military and put it into funding clean tech solutions and healthcare.

I'll love to see electric cars mainstream faster for various reasons of my own. Top on my list is that it'll hopefully put an end to the bloody oil wars and force nations to innovate and cooperate

I think it might cause more wars as the Middle East relies on the income heavily and it is how they keep peace in the area. Doesn't have to be that way but, probably will.

Electric will happen in cars . I heard the other day that they now have an electric car that will go 300 miles before a recharge is required .
I looked into solar and wind for us here the outlay of cash was numbing and it would be a 15 year breakeven point . I think we could do better than that .
The regulations need to be dealt with so that they don't interfear with development . The big oil always seem to get regulation in that benefit them and leave out any competitors , making it impossible to get a decent foothold in any market .

Regulations, taxes, blah blah.. nonsense isn't it. It is essentially the same as code is law here, so the status quo remains as the code-makers benefit from it.

Loading...

Yeh when I've bee thinking decentralisation/distributed systems (mostly the latter) I tend to apply it to everything that makes sense to me to apply it to. And because that kind of includes government, pretty much every idea I have gets dismissed pretty much off the bat as impossible because reasons XD

I'd love an electric car, so far the idea has been rejected mostly because of the cost but also a lot because of the belief that they're not as powerful and the lack of charging stations etc etc etc. Seeing as we have two cars anyway I think my next one is going to be electric and I'll just deal with all the shenanigans that it will come with.

I love your closing line :)

goatsig

There are enough charging points in most cities these days plus they can be charged at home too and power? I did 0-100 in under 3 seconds in my clients car ;P

If they can have solar panels on the roof you'd be okay forever XD

I'm not a hoon, if it goes fast enough on the road and handles nicely I'm happy XD I'd like to say I'm just in that life stage where I have to have the soccer mum car but eve after I won't necessarily have to transport a tribe of children around for a while I'll still be transporting big dogs so I'll always need the soccer mum car. I don't think they came in electric last I checked but maybe by the time I need a new car? XD

goatsig

I gathered some money to buy solar panels, here in my country there is lot of loadsheding and government continues to increase the prices of electricity so I wanted to get rid of them.
as far as electric car is concerned I want to have it but the money!!! you know something I once stumbled on a video in youtube it had somthing called fart car when I watched the video it was bit too nasty but its amazing !!! its of just two minutes. I am sure you will like it.
watch here
I still doubt is it really real haha !

I am low on budget I dont even have a car, but I want to have that car or once I heard about flying car I am gonna buy it!!!!! just kidding its way too expensive.
As you explained every problem above there is a magic trick to just vanish all of them. HOW???
here is how.. Lets hope steem price goes to 100$ tomorrow, you will have money to buy many of them and your own house. lets hope :) lols
but in reality it might go to 100$ someday !!!

Electric car might be good, I still prefer manual. Though the world is changing due to technology advancement. I believe people choice still prevail. The 🚗 is so colourful, I bet how it inside will look like

Hi taraz. agree with you about looking forward to an electric car. Some countries are more advanced along this path than others. I was in Paris last year and they are available to the residents t get around the city. They have a card which gives them access to this facility. They are dotted all over the city plugged in and charging. I was quite amazed how far ahead they were.
Formula 1 has done a lot of development around batteries and storing energy and energy recovery from the braking system. I think over the next 5 years we will be looking at a longer battery life per charge so you don't have to stop every 200 or 300 km's. I am looking forward to having instant power and some whiplash.

The distance isn't much of a problem here, even for me, I am rarely have to drive 400 kms and even if I do, i am likely to stop along the way for a coffee anyway (perhaps some crypto too). The tech will definitely advance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63