Spirituality + Business- Why creating a a soul-driven business is your best bet.

If you’re an entrepreneur or an aspiring entrepreneur, you probably heard how important it is to have a “why”.

It’s important.

But I think sometimes, we get that a little mixed up, we often look at the obvious things, like money and financial freedom as the “why.” Because the money aspect usually translates into the “things” and “experiences” we want.

Obviously, generating revenue is the point of creating a business, but it doesn’t have to be the driving factor.

lamington.png

I’ve experienced this first hand. I had a business, I did the traditional business planning for securing a financial loan, as well as, the projections and marketing and advertising strategies. I also, on my own, was aware of my “why.” (I thought)

But heres the thing, I fell out of love with that business 2 years in. I was burnt out and the daily tasks of the business were not fulfilling. I felt the heavy obligation to keep pushing, that I was too far in now and crazy to give it all up. I had invested so much time, energy and money, I can’t go back now.

That feeling felt horrible. I was in a place in my life where, where what people thought of me mattered. I set out to start a business, to do things differently, to create more financial freedom and time freedom for myself.

I had to look at the price I was paying to get that though.

Was I willing to sell my soul for that?

I started looking at what I would have done different, if I had known better. And come to find out, I would not have started that business in the first place. It was a great business, just not for me.

It wasn’t that I was against business. I loved business and loved being an entrepreneur and a creator.

What I had got wrong was my real “why.”

Due to the burnt out and the confused state I found myself in, miserable, really. I started to pursue a path of Personal Development and Spiritual Growth. I thought at the time, that maybe, I just needed to fix my mindset and I’d fall back in love.

Something even better came from it. I had a lot of things that were “right”, it just simple wasn’t the right business for me. It just wasn’t aligned with who I was and what lit me up.

I was on a mission to find the things in my current business at the time, that did light me up and that I enjoyed, and then to gradually added new things that I discovered about myself on my path of self-awareness.

Overall, I discovered, I wanted to do meaningful work in the world. I could actually say, and even to this day, that my drive to for a purpose-driven business is more important to me than the financial gain.

I was after something that I wasn’t going to fall out of love with. I was after something I am in love with and always will be.

Long story short, I walked away from that first business I started and found what fit and aligned with my soul.

My “why” is soul-driven, My business is soul-driven, My intentions are soul-driven.

lamington-3.png

The point I want to make here, is there is no shortage of opportunities. Opportunity is everywhere, the question is, what opportunity fits the deep down part of you?

  • What lights you up?

  • What could you do all day long that doesn’t feel like work?

  • What impact do you want to have?

  • What would you still spend time doing even if you were rich?

  • What are your values and beliefs?

  • What are your core desired feelings?

Whether you are a veteran or an amateur in business or an aspiring entrepreneur, I urge you to explore these things. Get to know yourself. Don’t fool yourself. Forget about the money, for just a moment. Would it change the course of your plan?

Our life purpose comes down to wanting happiness and fulfillment. There are many ways in which we can achieve that, it’s identifying what things make you feel that way.

Often times, experiencing happiness and fulfillment has a lot more to do with what we can give than what we receive and sometimes, it’s the most simple pleasures that bring the most fulfillment.

Doing business has changed. Being an entrepreneur has maybe, even been redefined in the past decade.

20 years ago, it looked like black suits, briefcases, boardrooms and a lot disconnected marketing and advertising. You needed a shit ton on money and investors to get anything off the ground. Today, you can start with nothing, just a dream and your creative abilities.

Business is different and it’s going to continue to evolve in this direction.

Integrating your core values, beliefs, and desires into the way you plan to make a living, is the most intelligent thing you can do right now. It is the safest and strongest foundation.

Who are you? What are you going to do to set your soul on fire?

The money will follow.

lamington-4.png

#desiremap #enlightenedlifestyle

footer-2.jpg

Sort:  

I LOVE this! I feel like more and more people are giving up their traditional jobs to do something they are passionate about. I just started reading Caroline Myss's book "Sacred Contracts" its about finding your true calling in life, Its really interesting so far. Thanks for the great advice.

Yes, it seems like people are seeing there's other, more fulfilling ways to make a living.

I have read some and listened to, some videos of Caroline Myss. I love how she puts things into perspective. I've never read that book, but I think I will look into it, thanks for mentioning it.

Thanks for reading my post! :)

You are welcome 😊

Oh. My. Goodness. I could have written your exact words, except for the part about making the change. Your experience mirrors mine, profoundly. I'm shifting my focus right now to activities with more "soul", that help people be their best and grow, and activities that tell the story of the human condition.

I think there is a massive shift in business, driven partly by a shift in the rising divine feminine. Unless we align with our divine purpose we are destined to fail in our business activities. And that's a good thing! We will have a more peaceful, productive, harmonious and balanced world.

Much love to you, thanks for your post :-)

There's nothing anymore rewarding than helping others see and know their highest potential. Good for you for working towards things with more "soul".

I agree, I think business in general is heading in the right direction. People are waking up and realizing we don't have to follow the "rules" or be so rigid to be a successful business person.

Oh, and thanks for the resteem!! :)

#What could you do all day that doesn't feel like work
#what lights you up
#what would you spend time doing if you were rich.
#what impact do you want to make
#what are your desired feelings.
Reading all these makes me feel like you spoke about me. These should be the guilding principles for any entrepreneur. When a business fails, the passion and desire you have for such area would keep you going.
Once I sit at my sewing machine in morning, it becomes very hard to stand up just to eat because I barely feel the Hunger.
I'm not a pro at what I do yet but I aim at in. Back in the University, I never took a dim from anyone. Not because the money is small but I thought of how I could contribute to the lives of those that could barely pay for these services in other places. Never felt bad about it... after all, I was doing what I love.
I recently picked up a new interest in making shoes and bags and what really counts at the moment still isn't the money. Although, I now make money offering these services but I'm not profit driven as much as I want people to see what I can do.

Doing something you love and something you actually look forward to everyday is pretty amazing. Asking ourselves questions is very helpful, especially as an entrepreneur.

Making shoes and handbags sound very interesting! I've tried some sewing over the years, I can do it but I don't exactly have enough patients....lol Maybe you can share some of your work on your blog, I Love to see.

Thanks for reading and thoughtful comment!

Thanks, I will.

Great post.

Opportunity is everywhere, the question is, what opportunity fits the deep down part of you?

That can be so hard for me to stay mindful about. Especially when it seems that my soul is pulling away from the opportunities that "make sense."

I have had a number of false-starts or burn outs after pursuing something that I thought was coming from the deep down parts of myself. The problem is, I hardly know myself. This has made be somewhat closed off to the idea of diving into something. And given the financial barriers of needing to provide for a family of 7, any break-out pursuit would need to be ramped up as a side-gig while working my day job for some time.

As you mention here, I think I need to know my soul some more before making that kind of commitment.

Cheers,
Sam

It can be a slow process, an ongoing one, really. We tend to forget who we are (or never really ever knew) at the core. Life, society and influences can steer us every which way. It's a process of getting back to that place of knowing. (kind of like who you were as a child can reveal a lot)

And wow, providing for a family of 7 would not be easy. Nothing wrong with a side-gig! I think as we practice self-awareness, uncover more and more clues that light up the soul, the answers come, and the opportunities will reveal themselves at the right time.

Thanks for reading and commenting!

I love this response. Thank you for that.

who you were as a child can reveal a lot

I wholeheartedly agree. I've been doing some deep-diving work around this idea because I am pretty out of touch with my childhood--trauma has a way of doing that.

It has not been easy, but I can see the progress and need to remember to stay patient.

Going back to our childhood can feel really foreign, and yes, patience are definitely needed. Good luck on your journey :)

Completely agree with this. I remember seeing an Instagram quote a while back asking, if you had all the money you needed would you still do what you're about to do? Success definitely follows passion! Nice words, sister!

Sometimes, that path can look uncertain but it's worth it in the end.

Thanks so much for reading! :)

Whatever you do, there's a why. Define your why because it is your driving forces to move forward and keep going when you have a hard time.

Thank you @tressareid for sharing this :)

Yes, it absolutely gets us through the hard times. Thanks for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32