(IJCH) "Cosmopolis:" - So Disturbing, So Thought Provoking. I loved it! (Major Props to @vimukthi for Recommending It)

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) "Cosmopolis:" - So Disturbing, So Thought Provoking. I loved it! (Major Props to @vimukthi for Recommending It)

cosmopolis_ver2.jpg
Source (Base Source)

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings)

2.png
Source (Base Source)

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

business-handshake.jpg
Source (Base Source)

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Cosmopolis

hero_EB20120822REVIEWS120829995AR.jpg
Source(Base Source)

Here's the trailer:

Riding across Manhattan in a stretch limo in order to get a haircut, a 28-year-old billionaire asset manager's day devolves into an odyssey with a cast of characters that start to tear his world apart.

Source

I really enjoyed this movie!

Again, many thanks to @vimukthi for recommending it.

Why did I like it?

  • I could imagine someone actually having a strange life like the billinaire in the movie.

  • The life, financial,and sexual philosophies portrayed were intriguing.

  • My girlfriend has asked me the same questions that the women in the movie asked AND I pretty much responded with the same answers.

  • The global shift of wealth and its impact was aptly symbolized by the dead rat movement.

  • Although it is stated in the movie that women have a difficulty with being indifferent, I think that goes with most of the average, middle class population.

  • Me? I think I'm still hardheaded; strongly inclined with "completing the mission at all costs" - a rather dichotomous mindset at times.

  • The movie graphically shows that whatever wealth a person has, he spends it on the pursuit of "feelings" (AKA: the objects and situations to potentially produce those "feelings").

Source

"Your true wealth is your time and freedom. Money is just a tool for trading your time, a container to store your economic energy until you're ready to deploy it."

(Mike Maloney, https://goldsilver.com/hidden-secrets/)

Source

"Most people focus on getting rich rather than becoming wealthy."

{Dr. R. Buckminster Fuller - architect, futurist, inventor and visionary.)

"Most everyone spend their lives chasing money, but they don't know that it [money] is simply a chimera (an illusion)." - JaiChai

I totally recommend viewing this movie; especially if you like thought provoking ideas and great dialogue.

cosmopolis.jpg
Source (Base Source)

By JaiChai

(This article contains excerpts from: https://busy.org/@jaichai/ijch-wealth-what-a-concept-dr-buckminster-fuller-and-my-favorite-definition-of-wealth)

Thanks for stopping by.

600800.jpg
Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

400.jpg
Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

"I appreciate all your support!"

Sort:  

I didn't find the movie to be disturbing. But it was easily one of the most intriguing ones ever. The ending was just perfect for the kind of story it was telling. I was kind of expecting for that kind of an ending. I even found the character to be more relatable than 99.9% of all fictional characters I've seen.

Also I love and agree with the quotes you have provided. 100% upvoted and resteemed.

Since you recommended a David Cronenberg movie, I'd like to recommend ExistenZ which I totally loved. I'm also very sure that you'd enjoy anything by Mamoru Oshii + mnay episodes of Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex.

Thanks again for the post. I elieve in the importance and ability of movies to expand human mind.

Existenz and Videodrome are my Other David Cronenberg favorites. I actually had to check the release date of the movie on Wikipedia and read about it few minitues into Videodrome. if it was leleased on 2003 it would have been way ahead of its time. But it was actually released in 1983.

I can say the the late 90s had some great movies that explored the nature of reality. The obvious best was The Matrix. Dark City was also really great. In fact the ending reminded me a little bit of what Matrix Revolutions ending looked like. Dark City was even better than ExistenZ IMO. The Thirteenth Floor was a really great one too. It wasn't as good as the other masterpieces but it was really good.

Truman show touches similar themes but without much of sci-fi
Enjoy yourself!

Thanks for the comment. I started watching Arrival today and it looks like it'd be great. So I decided to wait some time and watch it with zero disturbances around.

V.Nice post I Like Your Post

Please Follow Me @rehanshah And Upvote My Post
Thank You

checking you out totally cool

I haven't watched this one. But looks the kind i should enjoy.

The thriller of this movie alone made me to start salivating for it...Nice thriller you have got

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37