What is enlightenment?

in #enlightenment6 years ago (edited)

What is enlightenment? Have you ever wondered about this. Do you think it's possible for someone to reach such a state here on earth? Or do you think it's complete bullshit?

Is enlightenment simply being very smart in one area and having high intelligence or is it something like Darth Vader or Yoda, having the ability to move things with the force!

I think that this question has been pondered countless times over the years by an innumerable amount of people from the time humans were able to think. From the ancient Greek philosophers to the vedic rishi's, enlightenment has always been of major concern and importance in the fields of philosophy and spiritual practices.

I never gave it much thought until I started practicing yoga in my twenties. When I started reading the different self help or eastern oriented philosophical books. at the bookstore or library. The word 'Enlightenment" kept coming up in different stories and books that I was reading at the time.

My understanding of enlightenment began to shift from just being a really smart person to someone who was beyond suffering. Someone like Buddha. Now he was enlightened. Having gained a state of Nirvana or a life free of pain and suffering. Buddha was considered by many and still is today to be one of the more well known examples of enlightenment in human form. Also known as the Bodhisattva embodiment of purity.

The other idea I would like to mention is having no attachment to any desire one may have. This is another well known principal of enlightenment I believe. The ability to really yearn for something but being able to let it go and let it come into life with proper attention and work. But not the obsessive thinking that is so rampant in today's way of achieving goals.

Of course these are only ideas of mine that I am coming up with again if you think all of this is complete BS I get it. Maybe it is but suffering is real and so to is happiness and the fact that I may have a choice in the matter is very intriguing to me and I think of all the things to talk about or discuss this is what should be right up there with all the other important subjects of the day.

As I get into the subject of enlightenment more I cant help but think of the Higher States of Consciousness. Transcendental Consciousness or TC, Cosmic Consciousness or CC, God Consciousness or GC and Unity Consciousness or UC. These are the four higher states of consciousness that are believed to be rlated to states of enlightenment.

Each state has it's own characteristics. These states exist beyond our normal waking,sleeping and dreaming states that we are far more accustom to.

Back to the original question of what is enlightenment I think it is fair to say that one who had gained and established these higher states in any form can be considered enlightened. Those of us who have experienced these states can be said to have had just that-an experience of enlightenment.

But then again just writing that come off as absurd. Because there really is no definition of enlightenment truly. But these are good perimeters for sake of discussion.

I recently watched Ip Ma on Netflix. Ip Man seems to have that higher state of transcendental consciousness with him in activity. When he is walking and talking as well as when he is fighting. He gives off a total enlightened presence even if it is an actor portraying him and that I might add was a job very well done. Bravo Donnie Yen

I like to think that someone who is genuinely happy is enlightened. Not someone pretending to be but someone who really gives off that authentic vibe of everything is going to be alright because everything is alright.
Maybe we can consider there are different levels of enlightenment. Some mental some more heart like. To be enlightened doesn't mean you have to be glowing at night or hovering over the floor by a few inches.

Can we say that enlightenment is a simple centered sense of well being? Having worries and problems like anyone but not letting them overshadow the good feelings of bliss. Having confidence and trust that things will get better even in the darkest hour. Who are the people who come to your mind that were able to do that in awful times? Are those people spiritual? Are they more enlightened than some of us?

Even with all of the crazy things going on today for me I have to have something that i can go to for some silence and peace of mind. There are too many things in the outside world right now that don't make any sense so for me experiencing silence is very important.

I have been fortunate enough to be living in the mountains where it is quiet with almost zero distractions maybe a few but other than the work I have to do I can write and meditate and research study as much as I can and that to me is a little slice of my own variety of enlightenment. Practicing pranayama, yoga asanas, and meditation is helping me stay centered and balanced mentally, emotionally and physically.

These are just words and thoughts I am having now and I just wanted to share. I am in no way saying this is truth in any way shape or form. I respect all views of religion, spirituality and truth seeking as long as it is based in love, forgiveness, peace, justice and equality for all!

Sort:  

Congratulations @eric328! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52