ALZHEIMER: AN UNEXPECTED TRIP WITHOUT MEMORIES

in #english6 years ago (edited)

This short sentence reveals a truth that is not easy to understand and accept, because, upon receiving the diagnosis of Alzheimer's from a loved one, in some cases the father or mother, initiates an unexpected journey that will culminate without memories and with total absence, Even though that special person can still eat, drink, walk, talk and laugh, but when he looks us straight in the eye he is no longer able to recognize us, much less remember all the shared moments or his own identity. This situation is frustrating, generates a high degree of helplessness and sadness in the family, we try with one method and another, until we come to understand the damage that this terrible disease generates to the brain, understanding that they escaped from the real world to live in their own called Alzheimer.

However, although there is no definitive cure, surrendering is not an option, we must be courageous, have a lot of courage and apply an overdose of love, patience, tolerance and understanding to occupy the place of companions on that trip, thus fulfilling the Mandate Divine "Honor your father and your mother," which includes, in addition to respect, assisting them in their needs and giving them all the care, as they did with us in our childhood. It should be emphasized that in the presence of this pathology they need us, they depend on our support, we do not let them carry out that trip alone, because during each stage of the disease the fear, the disorientation, the agitation, and the insecurity invade them constantly, but a hug, a smile, a kiss, a love or a handshake will be enough to tell you, here I am, you are not traveling alone! Reflect and practice the words of this beautiful anonymous poem:

Do not ask me to remember,
Do not try to make me understand,
Let me rest and know that you are with me.
Kiss me on the cheek and take me by the hand
I'm more confused than you think,
I'm sad, sick and lost
All I know is that I need you to be with me,
Do not lose your patience with me,
Do not scold me, do not yell at me or cry,
I can not help the way he acted
I can not change even if I try,
Just remember that I need you,
That the best of me is gone,
Please, do not fail me and stay with me,
Love me until my life ends

I would add, we should love them until the end of the trip. From here I want to support all people diagnosed with Alzheimer's and their families, never throw in the towel please, because they are not alone, we are thousands of families worldwide affected with this scourge, do not give up, let's open the window to Hope , that some day this evil will be definitively defeated and eradicated from society and our lives.

Sort:  

@darlis2211 you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @darlis2211! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @darlis2211! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72