🏆 The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes available!

in #engagement6 years ago

Welcome to this weeks Curation and Engagement leagues, kindly sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag.

Firstly, huge thanks to @arcange who spent a good amount of time this morning working on my horrible query that collates this data each week. Excellent service and support from the @steemSQL owner and witness. Thanks @arcange!

Did you know that the Engagement Leagues show over double the average retention rate compared to the platform average?

Should I remove the small penalty for self-voting - what do you think?


To enter the leagues drop a comment below (Lifetime membership - unless you ask to be removed)

The leagues (tables) are reset each week and so any time is a good time to join!

On your marks, get set, curate!


newtitle.png


Introduction

My general views on curation rewards (to score highly in League 1) are:

  • Vote before the big hitters, but not too early!

  • Voting in the first minute will earn you a curation reward of almost 0.000

  • Voting between 1 and 29 minutes will earn an increasing % of the curation rewards split - This value peaking at 30 minutes and remaining the same from this point onwards

  • It is commonly suggested that 15-25 minutes is the best time to vote, especially on known 'power author' posts because they are likely to have more auto-votes coming in at these times - and you want to be ahead of these votes

  • Voting on good dtube/dlive/sndbox content, and utopian-io approved contributions (prior to the vote by @dtube / @utopian-io, etc) can earn some very good curation rewards

  • Voting on @ocd posts is likely to gain good curation rewards as founder @acidyo, and @anomadsoul support these posts after giving time for other accounts to vote - you will be in front of a couple of large votes here!

As you can see, a combination of many variables such as Steem Power, voting strength, voting weight, time of vote, and more, all play a part in the amount of rewards received.

My general opinion on maximizing engagement (to score highly in League 2) is to:

  • Spread your vote and write lots of engaging comments!

  • Use your vote on the comments of others to make yourself (vote) seen and provoke a reply


The data for league 1

The raw data has been collected from SteemSQL - @arcange's MS SQL Server copy of the Steem Blockchain.

The formula used for 'quality of financial curation skill' is:

Curation Rewards DIVIDED BY Steem Power MULTIPLIED BY 1000

This will return the amount of Curation rewards gained per 1000 Steem Power held


The rules (which will cause auto-filtering of your account if not met so just enter anyway and see what happens!) to appear in this league:

  • No programmed voting! Following a trail is OK, using a script to vote for you is not (but well done if you have done that!)

  • Must have voted at least once on a piece of content in the past 7 days

  • Must not have leased or delegated Steem Power in the last 14 days

  • Must not have Started a Power Down (withdrawal of Steem Power) in the last 15 days

The 2nd and 3rd points above are not 'bad' actions, but are required to reduce distortion of the figures.

And, as curation rewards for the past week are actually taken from votes made up to 14 days ago, we need a two week 'window' as mentioned above.

Don't let this put you off entering though - you will be automatically be excluded/appear each week, depending on the criteria above.

League 1 - Curating to maximize returns (Top 100)

The end column is what I think is a genuine indicator of how well you are financially working the curation game with the tools, including vested Steem Power, that you have at your disposal.

No prizes this week for League 1 as many of the top places are front running Bid-bots. I'll still produce the league so you can see who's doing the best job of that, but it doesn't feel right to be rewarding this approach. Nevertheless, well done to the top places :D


League 2 - Engagement and Excellence - Write on!



This the newer league which is not based around financial rewards and relates to engagement.

Everyone currently on my master list has a chance here - including those powering down or dealing in delegations this past couple of weeks.

I've used some metrics (which is the fancy way of saying that made up some numbers) relating to:

  • Posts (P)
  • Comments - number of (C)
  • Comments - replies to replies - depth > 2 (C R)
  • Comments - length in characters (C L)
  • Witness votes (W) (for those proxying witness votes, your total is always 30)
  • Upvotes to others (V)
  • Upvotes to different authors (U V)
  • Self-votes - a (getting smaller each week) minus score for this one sorry! (S V)




Firstly, if you are placed in the table above then you among the top 20% of the league entrants!

**Congratulations to this weeks 'new' Engagement League winner, the immovable force that was removed but is again stand at the top of the table....... @glenalbrethsen!

Glen is standing alone at the top this week and has entered almost as many characters onto the blockchain as 2nd and 3rd places combined, damnnn!

Little did he know, I installed a camera at his home ready to record him in action:



Well done Glen! 🏆

@gillianpearce is clear in 2nd and has produced over 550 comments, with over 200 of those deeper than 'level 2' - fine work Gill!

In 3rd place this week, I think with his highest placing so far, @bashadow. One of only 3 league entrants to top 100,000 characters this week. Nice one!

Excellent engagement levels and top 10 (OK, 11!) places for @lynncoyle1, @leeart, @fullcoverbetting, @maverickinvictus, @abh12345, @davemccoy, @eaglespirit, and @paulag (well done boss!), who will all be receiving some STEEM this week.

Do you want to be a part of the leagues? Let me know below!


Prizes

League 2

0 votes to self - Spot Prizes

Lucky number 25 in League 2

A @steembasicincome share, courtesy of @fullcoverbetting goes to @crypto-econom1st who wins for the 2nd week in a row - wtf! 🎱 🍀


Finally

  • If you have spotted any glaring errors in my post, please let me know so I can fix them

  • If you would like to be added or removed from my personal curation league, let me know

  • If you have any other comments or suggestions, please enter them into the box below


As always, thank you very much for being a part of one of the most engaged communities on Steem 😊

Asher @abh12345

steemdivider.png

If you feel that the Curation Leagues are a worthwhile addition to the Steem Blockchain, please consider a vote for our witness - @steemcommunity - https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Find out more about our project here
steemdivider.png

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you @abh12345 :) I took it easier this week for sure, but even if I hadn't, I'm not sure I could have come close to reaching Glen's numbers!

Congratulations to all the winners as well!

As far as self-votes go, I like the way you've been doing it Ash. There's something to say for no self-votes and in fact, I used to very occasionally upvote myself, but because of this League, I don't at all any more. And for personal reasons, I like the way I feel not self upvoting.

Glen was clearly on fire this past week. Perhaps you can organise which one of you is going to go all out on a particular week? :D

Thanks for the feedback on the self-votes. I wanted to ask because, well, I'm sure you've been reading around and seen the discussions. I think so far, the community is hugely in favor of keeping a small penalty.

Have a lovely Sunday Lynn!

Were there actually people that said you should remove the penalty?

While reading those comments I was wondering how many of the whales, orcas and dolphins self vote? And what's the average percentage they self vote?

Of I think about some of the big earners, they mostly all upvote their own posts. But I think and hope that's just because my mind remembers those and not the ones like you that don't self vote.

Perhaps a nice subject for blockchainbi research?

@abh12345, I will never be able to complete with Glen's numbers this past week. I guess he really liked being the top dog and set a fire under his own behind haha

Yes, I've been following the discussions around regarding self-votes; I'm glad it's leaning towards the small penalty.

Thank again Asher ;)

I get what you mean about the feeling of not self-voting. There's definitely an attraction to self-voting, but I feel better about not. I can also see the other side of the argument from reading other people's responses. It could easily be considered marketing or whatever, but I just make a personal choice not to self-vote. It helps that I'm in the league, because it's extra motivation to not do so.

@themanwithnoname I feel the exact same way, and if others choose to do it, that's certainly within their right to do so.

Yeah, it's their right and if I were in a position to be able to get a living wage from self-voting myself, I'd be tempted to do so. As it is, it's more of a game for me, so I'd rather play it how I think I should than how I could. That might change in the future, but I really like helping people on their journeys and I like that it feels like I'm helping build something.

Fast-Reply? How'd you get into that?

Yes, that would be tempting ;)

Fast Reply: check out my latest post...just found it and I love it.

I missed that post. I'll check it out.

Congratulations to you. You're always able to take whatever time you have and make it meaningful and impacting.

I guess I was kind of a man on a mission this week, but even so, I was hoping my numbers would get higher. I'm happy to be over 200K-plus again. I felt like I was slacking somehow, though I'm not sure what I would have done differently the previous two weeks. I guess there are just times where things don't work out despite what may very well be your best efforts. :)

@glenalbrethsen I'm always pleasantly surprised to see where I am in the standings...sounds like you and I are our own worst critics :)

If we are, then that's not a bad thing, really. That means we've got no one else to worry about but ourselves. And we won't feel pushed except by ourselves, and we won't have to answer to anyone but ourselves. Sounds like a pretty good combination to me. :)

@glenalbrethsen, that sounds absolutely perfect :)

Congratulation to the top 10 You inspire me in so many ways

Congratulation to all who made the list top 20% of the league , amazing !

I have called this a contest . I was sure wrong for doing so . Not one of those that I have engaged with are in a competition . Sharing their knowledge and experiences with others is counter to any competition and that's what they ALL have in common .

To those who have joined the league in the past couple of weeks . I congratulate you . This is a big step you have taken in your journey here on this platform . I encourage you to keep at it , not to get discouraged . Engage with those around you and here and the success you seek will arrive in due time

I see that I was awarded the "0 votes to self - Spot Prizes" I thank you not only for myself but also for the one that I pass it on to .

Besides having my arm twisted by @lynncoyle1 this league of people is one of the best experiences I have had here on Steemit

I have to echo your sentiments. First of congratulations for your Top 25 placing, and second for the leagues being among the best experiences you've had on Steemit. In my case, they're the best experience of my short time here.

Yes the League only comes in second to the people of the league . There are one in the same but as one gets to know them individually the experiences expodenturly expands . We say the same thing with different words but our gratitude is equal as with many others here . Who would have thought that a platform could bring so much to so many people . I never thought it was such when I first came to steemit . My eyes have sure been opened and view expanded .

Thanks @wolfhart for the kind words, I'm happy you feel that way about the Leagues 😁

Lynn, Dave, and many of the #newbieresteemday crew have done a fine job in promoting the Leagues this year - good to see you were referred by one of the best 😁

Yes the League only comes in second to the people of the league . There are one in the same but as one gets to know them individually the experiences expodenturly expands . We say the same thing with different words but our gratitude is equal as with many others here . Who would have thought that a platform could bring so much to so many people . I never thought it was such when I first came to steemit . My eyes have sure been opened and view expanded .

Glad to hear it @wolfhart, it's certainly new ground we are all covering here - it's a good thing!

It is new ground . and a foundation is being built that is spreading . I don't know if its because my circle has expanded or its a new think . But what I see , hear and my gut tells me it's catching on . To many newbies speak of it now then before .

yes and everyday they make me a better steemeian .

I got nothing else , that says it all . can't be expounded on or it will lose its meaning . :)

Oh yea I started that experiment Should see in a couple days how it turns out

Loading...

Thank You

Asher, once again a great game... I'm happy to re-enter the top 10 again and thank you for the prize as always! You and @paulag and @carlgnash are all amazing to help so many week after week.

The IF Is Truly Amazing!

I've already congratulated IF, he is really something... He has not only distanced himself from everyone, he has now even beautified up the comment section.. In an effort to keep up, I have attempted myself to follow on his wonderful lead.

My Answer To Your Question

And finally, you asked a question about the self-vote penalty. I am mixed on that one. Honestly the no-vote rule that YOU HAVE HERE is something that has been in my mind since I received your first delegation. I have always felt that if I received a delegation from you, that I owed it to my delegators to use that upvote on others and not on me.

However, I will also say that the system is geared so that people can always find ways to increase their votes values and/or cash flow to themselves (via bot votes, membership clubs, and through actual delegation for money). So I don't necessarily look down on someone who uses any of these methods (even self-votes), because they are doing as people that own the system has told them is ok.

So my vote would be to keep the penalty in place in your game, because it is a valuable reminder to any of us that have received a delegation that we have a gift that should be used for the community. But having said that, I certainly would understand the conflicted mind that some people see when they realize that self-voting and delagating to bid-bots is basically the same thing. Since that is the case, then I personally don't cast any negativity for doing either!

I Hope You (And IF) Like My Comment 😁

Every time I see stuff like the bird and the cat and the other dividers, I have flashbacks of the late 1990s. All that's missing is the dancing baby and maybe a sign that says upvote me flashing with lasers coming out of it. :)

I knew I wasn't going to be much of a trendsetter.

lol.... that's funny... maybe @amariespeaks or @beeyou could work on that one for you (they're both getting good at giphys)

Nope. I'm not asking for a return to the late '90s. Far from it. Discourage is more the word.

But now that you mentioned them, I'm sure we're bound to see something of their creations. :)

How's this... You got my thinking cap on!

dancing baby 2.gif

Well, considering this isn't my or your post, you should probably ask @abh12345 what he thinks of you cluttering up his comment section.

It's a good think I'm not photosensitive or I'd probably be having a seizure right now. :)

haha :)

I just had to turn the brightness down for this!

Time to get the sunglasses out ;)

lol... I didn't think about the medical ramifications... :P.... I see Asher has already got his shades out ;)

Sunglasses on and sun at his back from what I can tell.

Yeah. So, who know. You could have sent half of the engagement league into shock with your dancing baby and flashing lasers. Upside is, you may have taken a few spammers and scammers trolling the page with them. There's generally always a silver lining if you look for it.

Wait. Seriously. I may have just stumbled onto something. :)

Am I in the wrong place? I clicked from the 'reply' menu and this looks like a post! Very snazzy!

Glen is a good egg (as Lynn would say I think), and this now means that little more incentive to others, which can only be good for the League.

The community has spoken with regards to the self-vote penalty, I think in unanimous favor of it staying in place. Of course that wont affect the likes of you and many of the top 20, but will perhaps mean that the others know what they need to do to reach that sphere.

Great stuff, see you on the blockchain :)

hahaha... and thanks! Glen was inspirational, so lets see if we can get a trend going here for Asher's League of Excellence :P ...

And I figured it would, it is always a good reminder to see that nice 0 every week :D

I still enjoy checking out your league post on Sunday even though I know I’m nowhere close to being in the top ranking anymore. Everyone sure can type away! That top spot sure is hard to maintain. It’s a tossup between Glen and the two ladies weekly.

Thanks again for the league compilation. I hope you had a beautiful Sunday!

It's OK, we prefer quality over quantity. 😜

Lol, why, thank you for calling our giphy conversations quality!

Well then, I have an idea. How about we just completely hijack this thread with a deep and meaningful conversation between the two of us. There is no limit to the amount of trash I can talk. I can go on on forever. Like right now. My mind never sleeps remember? SO lots of characters are good right? Are all characters acceptable? How about these characters? Do these count towards the league? !@#$%^&*()_+?><":{}

Lol, I have too much respect for Asher to hijack his thread with our lame humor. Go to my posts to have our quality chitchat, no one ever stops there. I would think those characters count though, just like these ones 😂 😝🤓💯🚁🙎🏻‍♀️ but Asher will confirm if he comes across this silly convo.

I know what you mean, @beeyou. I haven't been as consistent, so I've been out of the top 10 more than I've been in it recently. I still like seeing how people are doing though. It makes sense that there would be a higher retention rate for those who are in the league. Asher needs a delegation from Steemit for his hard work.

I super agree with Asher receiving a delegation from Steemit. Now, how do we get them to pay attention to this corner of the Steemit world? That’s the tough part.

You’re still doing well @themanwithnoname. We both may not be in the top but many of our friends are. I’m always happy to see them still up there and engaging away.

I don't worry about it too much. Like you said, they're friends, so no need to get upset. When the one guy won a few weeks back, I was not happy. But it looks like he hasn't been back. I just do what I can and try not to drive myself crazy with needing to comment. :)

Asher needs a delegation from Steemit for his hard work.

Totally agree on @abh12345 getting that, @themanwithnoname.

It's super tough to get near the top! I think in replying to these comments I start the week pretty well, but to keep this pace up throughout - damn!

My pleasure, it was a long morning which went into the afternoon - hopefully just a couple of hours next week.

I ate out with mum and her 79 year old BF :D I hope you have a lovely day too @beeyou!

I am nowhere in the race to be on top, I gladly admit defeat on this one. May the King and Queens reign! I’m happy to be the peasant cheering on from the trenches. 😀

How sweet with your mom and her worldly BF! Eating out ensures that you can choose your dinner selection and not have to eat a veggie dinner if you feel like some surf & turf.

Hope next week will be smoother. The time you put into gathering the data is time missed out enjoying the beautiful summer day.

I've taken myself out of the incentive equation so, the two ladies can trade back and forth if they so desire. Those two certainly can type away. I just make up for it with time. :)

Can my friend @yasu join this league too?

yes i will add this account :)

Thank you.

@abh12345 You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Thanks T-bot! :D

You are very welcome. Keep it up with the great projects!

It is amazing! I did wrote around the same number of comments like @glenalbrethsen but he managed to type 3 times as much characters than I did!
The video @abh12345 placed is Glenal in slow motion I guess 😁
Still glad that I managed to score another top 10 place.
I am the higest placed with self votes, so shame on me but I will follow the voice of the communy! If the self voting penalty stays is than that is fine for me!

haha :)

Yeah he was just warming up on that clip!

The community has spoken it seems :)

I thought the video looked really slow myself. :)

Nah, actually that's way faster than I type. It's like the tortoise and the hare. While the bunny is sleeping, or getting distracted, I just keep typing until I'm done and then move on to the next one.

Congratulations with the Top Ten placing, and keep sponsoring Lucky 25. :)

There could be some truth in there!
Today you showed what a great man you are. You shouldn't have done it, but you did.
This is a real gentlemen's gesture. My respect for you is immense. To be honest, I don't know if I would have done the same!
I will keep on sponsoring the lucky 25 as long as I can. For my account this is the best advertising I can buy!
Only genuine and interactive people in this leagues!

Well, to tell you the truth, you've been leading out on the gentleman's gestures. You and Asher and everyone who has anything to do with league sponsorship, or any other initiative that leaguers are invovled with. Holy cow, that's a lot of extra time and effort.

My decision here is probably late in the making but comes out of a desire to level the playing field. So, it's not exactly what you or Asher or others are doing each week. Your words are very kind, though.

@glenalbrethsen Thanks for the nice words. But to honest you can't put me on the same level than @abh12345. He is playing a few leagues above me!
I am just supporting his great project a little bit. The value of my price is not that much, but I do hope that it gives a little more dimension to the engagement league, just like you do!

Pls how does one join

Just like that :) Welcome!

Having one week old memories. ;)

Welcome, @cuppcake! You'll have lots of fun. Just post then comment awayyyyy daily and you'll be in the charts next week. ;)

And post 100 long comments per day and you might win 😬

Ha ha, just don't tell @glenalbrethsen what you're planning or he'll beat you to it. He really makes the rounds. And all of his comments are relevant. No spam.

Yeah I know. I honestly believe that all of the former winners and top engaged Steemonians from the 2nd league are undervalued in terms of financial rewards.

I think you're right there. There's a lot of value created when people are interacting. It adds "product" that people can consume, so they're working hard and should be rewarded. It will happen eventually. There are a lot of people that I started with who had the basic 15 SP delegation from Steemit and nothing else. Most of those people have over 250 SP now (a lot have delegations from people too) and they're able to give out bigger votes. I'm blessed to have a large (for me) delegation right now, so I'm able to do a lot more damage than I was before. That means I can help the group more, which means they can help the group more. At least that's how it's supposed to work.

I do make the rounds, especially if someone specifically mentions me. :) 100 comments a day over a seven day period with an average character length of 300 or more would pretty much beat me. I'd actually like to see someone pull that off. Because if it can be done, that means I might figure out a way to do it, too. :) @crypto-econom1st

Because if it can be done, that means I might figure out a way to do it, too.

Ha ha, "if someone else can beat me, then I can do better too!"

Hey, I guess I could just say, 'Bring it on!" and leave it at that. However, it's true. If someone can come up with a game plan that's legit, that isn't essentially spam, and can actually execute it, more power to them.

Especially if it actually serves the intended purpose of the league of getting out to all corners of Steemit and engaging. Really, if people were to increase their word count by a hundred or so characters, I probably wouldn't be in the running any more. Because if they're able to find that many places to leave a comment or reply they've got my main problem already solved. Then it's just a matter of taking the extra fifteen seconds it might require to come up with something else to add.

Then, I need to come up with something to counter back. Problem solving and improving upon what others do are probably the two things I really do best. The writing stuff I consider to be fun regardless. :)

You have a good grasp on what it would take and there's nothing like competition and necessity to get you to make changes. Maybe someone will come along who challenges you and it could take you to another level in your commenting game. Maybe it will open up new areas of Steemit that you didn't know existed. I'm still rooting for you!

;)

Congratzzz on your second streak Win, @crypto-econom1st.

That is the idea yes :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30