Help My Little Sister with Her Fundraiser

in #en6 years ago (edited)

My sister Alicia with her Husband Jim

Little Bratty Sister Syndrome

April 21st, 1968, was a very special year! Well, I guess the day and year were special. My first younger sibling was born. I am the 2nd male-born, that means I have an older brother. So it was pretty special having a sister. I was 9 years old at the time, so there were no issues of sibling rivalry. Just shadows of future pain in the butt little bratty sister syndrome. 

Little did I know. 

Chrunchy Test-tubes, Yum

No, she was a great kid little sister, although there was the time when she got into my chemistry set and wanted to munch on the test-tubes. Yeah, I remember that emergency room visit. Of course, there was blood, but the bigger concern was what she may have swallowed in the way of chemicals. Not any problems in that regard, although that may explain some of her more peculiar traits.

Baby Aspirin

And then there was the time she got into the baby aspirin and took the whole bottle. I believe that was an ER visit, but at least I wasn't responsible for that one. 

Tasty Testicles

And then there was the time when she was in her terrible twos and my mom, sis and I were shopping at a toy store and it was time to go. "Come on Sis, mom says it's time to go." "No, I don't want to", she says. So using my big brother(me now 11, if you're paying attention)  "authority" I grab her hand and say "come on!" Well, you'll sort of have to use your imagination on this one, but as a two-year-old, she was about crotch height to me and with rage in her eyes she went full on pit-bull and bit me in the crotch. Thank God for heavy duty Levis. Yep, just like a pit bull, she bit and fortunately(fortunately?) she just got the skin of my scrotal sac. Just imagine grabbing that skin and that old pit bull sister jerking her head back and forth to do the maximum damage. Ouch.

There was blood on that one, but fortunately(really?) she just got a small piece of skin. I'm sweating as I write this. No ER visit, just a little blood, pain and a hell of a lot of embarrassment, especially when we got home and my mom wanted me to show my dad what his sweet little pit bull daughter had done.

Serious Stuff

Ok, enough with the frivolity and to the point. She was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer in 2015. I'm going to quote below from a fundraiser she started today on Facebook and which is why I'm starting this Fundition;

"This year, 2018, is another year in which I've been blessed to celebrate my birthday. In 2015, we weren't certain I'd see my next birthday, let alone see the big 5-0 Yet, here I am, still acclimating to my new normal, and doing what I can, whenever possible, to bring awareness to the women I meet.
NormaLeah is a non-profit organization named after two sisters who were both taken by this horrible disease; Ovarian Cancer. This organization's main goal is to educate and bring awareness to women far and wide. 
They have provided me, free of charge, with awareness cards to hand out to those I meet, to leave in ladies restrooms, doctor's offices, etc. 
One such card actually led to the recognition of symptoms and immediate action taken for one woman I had the pleasure of meeting shortly after her diagnosis. Because of her granddaughter seeing these cards and really encouraging her grandmother to seek medical care, she had two more years with her family. That may not seem like much, but had she continued to ignore her symptoms, she would not have been afforded that precious time with her family.
So, please help me support this organization so we can continue to bring awareness to women everywhere and help women have more precious time with their families."

I tried to get her signed up with Steemit, but she missed the phone verification step and she also lives in the sticks with spotty internet access. I think to use her cell phones internet, she has to stand on a bucket on the northwest corner of her property, in conjunction with a full moon and hold her phone like the statue of liberty torch, while she's making chicken sounds.... Maybe the effects of the chemistry set mishap...

Here is her facebook link if you would like to check it out https://www.facebook.com/alicia.tucksenthomson

All funds received from this Steemit post will go towards my sisters fund raiser for NormaLeah Ovarian Cancer Initiative.
https://www.guidestar.org/profile/26-2976159 please check the link for information about this group and what they do.

I hope that you will be able to see the facebook link for verification.

I am blessed to be able to celebrate her big five(5) Oh(0) coming up this 21st of April, (I just realized she missed 4/20 by a day, Hmm, strange that).


Alicia a few years back.

,

Support this project on Fundition.io

Sort:  

I am the curator for the crowdfunding community upfundme here on steemit with memebers funding for all sorts of things.

You can find out more and the rules here.

Enjoy your time here:)

Always count on my friend support, very good post for the benefit of all, good information

Thank you for your support.


SDG

Hey there @sighmanjestah - Hope my upvote can do a little to help, and I'll check out the links you've provided. Hope all's well ;)

I was just thinking about you the other day, but my old brain forgot to look you up! I hope all is going well with you as well.


SDG

Yes, thank goodness :) Charlene's doing great and is in the process of drafting her first .. introductory post here for steemit. I'm not sure she wants to go into too many details re her recent ordeal, but I'm sure she'll touch upon it in some way.

Great and worthy cause, love the people who love others and can help make someone’s life a little more comfortable as tribulations arise. May God bless all who give with a loving heart ❤️.

You have my support. I wish you the best, will include this in the treatment support section of charity I support that I'm drafting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74