Pencil Portrait | The Eyes

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Hi all, how have you been? I did not post anything yesterday because I was busy working on this portrait and by the time I finished it, it was almost midnight. So I decided to post this today.

You will see a lot more portrait posts from me in the coming days because I am practicing and honing my portraiture skill. I have a couple of portraits that I am working on, one is of an elderly man and the other one is of a girl wearing a turban. The latter will be in colored pencils and the former will be in graphite.

I always on the lookout for new art medium and recently I bought a new set of drawing pencils from Staedtler. Nope, it's not your typical Mars Lumograph pencils, this one is called Mars Lumograph Black. Yep. This set has more carbon and is made to produce jet black results. I am always on the lookout for dark pencils. I have a 9B pencil from Staedtler but since it is graphite it produces graphite shine that I detest. I know it's unavoidable if you are working with graphite but I do wish I can achieve that dark tone minus the shine. I used charcoals before but somehow it's not my preferred medium. The closest thing I could find was my 8B Faber Castell water-soluble graphite. So, I am pretty excited about Mars Lumograph Black! I will try it out and will share my review here soon.

Some progress photos for this portrait. I used Faber Castell Aquarelle pencils. I made a terrible mistake with the nose bridge and it became larger than it should be LOL.

A Moment (by Mary Elizabeth Coleridge)

The clouds had made a crimson crown
About the mountains high.
The stormy sun was going down
In a stormy sky.

Why did you let your eyes so rest on me,
And hold your breath between?
In all the ages this can never be
As if it had not been.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Stencil Painting | Stranger On the Street

Stencil Painting | A Despairing Angel

Happy Father's Day! | My Dada.nyc Drawing

Self-Portrait | My Dada.nyc Drawing

The Beginning | My First Dada Drawing

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.
My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!

FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Hi @coloringiship, I like how you document the formation of your art, especially the step-by-step photos and the tools you use:-) My favourite pencils for colouring are Faber-Castell Polychromos - did you ever tried them out?

Thank you @zuckerzombie. Yes, I have a set of 36 pencils (plus some loose ones). I bought it about 3 years ago and yep, it is the best colored pencils out there. I love the vibrancy of it. And the lead is super strong it doesn't break easily. Really worth the $ splurged on it ;)

Yes, indeed the Polychromos are very expensive but worth the money;-)

the painting is perfect, I love it very much

am also ready to draw the abstract flowers earlier, please visit to see it

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Wonderful sketch. I like your composition too. Good job.

wow ! it looks like those old black and white photos i always liked . have you heard of the painting " the praying hands " ? If you can do eyes , you can do hands too . ;D

Yes, I have seen that painting before. Thank you @annabellenoelle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33