Work in Progress: Butterfly and Innocence

in #elegance5 years ago

Butterfly and Innocence

A Work in Progress Acrylic and Oil on Canvas

It has been said that something
as small as the flutter of a butterfly's wing
can ultimately cause a typhoon
halfway around the world

-Chaos Theory


IMG_20181120_122355.jpg


Before we start...

Butterfly

If you have been seeing my previous posts and drawings, you might notice a number of butterfly artworks and paintings.

Butterflies have a lot of significance in my life especially to our family. My parents and relatives believes that if a butterfly visits your home, it is the soul of a deceased who wants to keep in touch with you. This is what I believe since I was a kid.
Butterflies are the best insect for me and my late brother, we used to chase them when we were young. We played in a field full of butterflies, bees and fireflies. That place was a paradise. We used to plant flowers for them.

Ink and graphite, watercolor, acrylic and more... these are the mediums I used to make butterfly paintings. Shaping their wings and then filling the colors inside makes me calm. A kind of therapy for me.

image.pngimage.png

some of my previous paintings and drawings

Sad story

⋘ ──────────── ∗ ⋅◈⋅ ∗ ──────────── ⋙
My brother died peacefully because of Epilepsy last 2016. There were butterflies our house since that sad morning, a lot of them. My parents think that it is him and my late Lola and Lola.
My mother always cry whenever she sees it.
But for me, it gives me a glimpse of happiness even though what happened is really unbelievable.
Those butterflies seem like to tell us " Be brave, stay strong
And my family has been stronger since that.
But sometimes, I still wish that my brother is still alive,
Still with us.
Painting, drawing
Watching late night movies
Playing and going to vacation
I still wish he was alive.
⋘ ──────────── ∗ ⋅◈⋅ ∗ ──────────── ⋙

Back to the Painting...

Food_.jpg
Back Story:

This is the last butterfly painting that up until now I can't finish. But I hope that someday I will have the power to finish this despite of the pain when I remember my late brother. This is supposed to be a tribute painting for him. But every time I hold my paint brushes, My tears won't stop falling. Even now when I 'm writing this.

This painting has been sitting on my room for more than a year. Then I decided to make something new. I can't decide what should I paint for my next exhibit. November 1, All Saints Day, has came. It is the day where people go to cemetery to visit their lost family member. This gave me an idea to use my old artwork... the unfinished butterfly wings.

Instead of painting a simple butterfly I decided to paint more within it. I added yellow flowers, which was the flower we gave to my brother at the cemetery. It was so bright and lively. Luckily, I took photos of that flower. I can't distinguish what kind of flower it is but it kind of looked like a small Daisy and Amarillo.IMG_20181101_122141.jpg

PROCESS:

This is the painting I would start over again. It only has a half wing. I am thing on what kind of background shall I make to make this look like floating.

IMG_20181102_212118.jpg

I sketched the flower using Burnt Sienna acrylic on the canvas. And then fill the colors with the corresponding shades and hues. This is a little bit challenging but is also fun. I used acrylic because it would dry fast. (at this point, i was still thinking of an effective background).

IMG_20181102_213821.jpgIMG_20181102_232412_1.jpg
IMG_20181102_232408.jpgIMG_20181102_220056.jpg

Painting it's leaves is the best part of the flower for me. I just used 2 shades of green here and a few mixed burnt sienna and white for the depth of the shadowy part. I hope I satisfied it. Continuing, I add more petals.

After finishing most part of the flowers, I have now gotten into my mind that I shall use black for the background and make the butterfly glow. (Dilemna: I don't have black acrylic paint) So I used black oil paint. This is kinda hard for me, for I don't want to use any oil and keep the texture matte. I used palette knife to spread the oil paint on the canvas. It's so satisfying until I was about to paint the corner and sides of the subject using palette knife. I had to be careful or else I will ruin the shape. I don't want to alter or repeat but it happened.


IMG_20181120_122251.jpg
This is the result of the process it made through my hands. I was left behind with another question now.

Shall I continue adding the other side of the wings and make it look the same? Shall I repaint and make new design for the wings? I wanted a galaxy style on this one, Shall I fill the other wings with galaxy-liked painting?

IMG_20181120_122152.jpg

IMG_20181120_122211.jpg

I shall continue this painting soon for I don't have much time again.

I will post updates here !
Thanks for dropping by.

IMG_20181117_110411207.jpg
That's me !

Toggle Night Mode to See Stars

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

[ ARTISTEEM COORDINATOR ]

Hello @aalagenesis, I noticed you are using the Artisteem tag but your artworks are not appearing in the platform. I suggest you visit the website found in the link below and publish your works there. It will appear in steemit as well. This is to help the curators find your posts.

This may mean you have to decide whether you want to keep using the Elegance platform as your main tag. :/

I also suggest you use the tag [CR] on your created posts. We have a guideline on the proper tagging of artworks also found in the link below. Thank you for supporting Artisteem.


You want to learn more about Artisteem ?
Follow @artisteem to be informed about new contests. Visit our website to discover the artworks from the community. Or just join our Discord server to chat with other users and get help from the team.

Artisteem Posting Guidelines · Guide for CO, CR, and CU

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

wow you are really talented. I can feel the pain behind the butterfly painting but I admire you for being brave. I am not an artist, for me It is good to fill the other wings with galaxy-liked painting.. but its still up to you.. whatever the outcome is, with your mighty hands it will still stand out..

This post is sponsored by Elegance - Art Community in collaboration with @appreciator and will be showcased in weekly Featured posts of @elegance. Just keep up the good work.


elegance.jpg

You are always bringing such lovely posts, @aalagenesis :D Every time, I feel happy to come across your beautiful arts !!!

Looking forward to seeing this painting finished <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sorry to hear about your brother 😔😔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99