A Clarion Call to UNITE Against Cruelty, Madness and Division!

in #election8 years ago (edited)


source

Like most of you, the outcome of the election appalls me. But now is not the time to wallow in sadness, or to become abusive towards Trump voters. That sort of treatment may well be part of why they voted how they did, and will only escalate violence.


source

It is time to recommit to kindness. I've struggled with that this week. I've been in this funk, with confused, depressive thoughts about my past. It made me say some reprehensibly hurtful things to someone close to me, so I am in no position to hold myself up as an example to anybody else.


source

Trump winning was a wake up call. I don't have even another minute of my life to waste being that way. Not with an avatar of cruelty in control of the most powerful nation on Earth, with both congress and the senate packed with his supporters.


source

Now is the time to look for whoever you know whose heart is not polluted, and organize. Eyes and ears open! Share information! Be vigilant, always ready to intervene if you see beatings, harassment, vandalism, etc. If you see a problem, it's your problem to do something about. Ideally with friends, as there is safety in numbers.


source

I am emphatically not advocating violence. These days smartphones make it very easy to document wrongdoing. Call the cops first, although it's hard to say how much help they will be at this point. It may come down to the actions of right thinking individual citizens.


source

Think of how many Jews were spared the ovens during WW2 because of the daring actions of just a few conscientious dissenters. Now imagine if it had been a hundred people, or a thousand. Are there not at least that many Americans left with a clean, brave heart?


source

I am ready to throw my body on the gears of the machine which Trump is now in control of. I take personal responsibility for the safety of people around me which Trump's supporters habitually target, but also for the safety of those who may be targeted because they voted for him.


source

I fully rebuke and condemn cruelty, which is the emotional form of entropy, the enemy of all living things. You can't fight cruelty with more cruelty, you only increase the amount of it in the world if you do that. What you can do is refuse to hurt others, and refuse to stand by and allow others to be hurt, even knowing it may endanger you.


source

In the past I have been scornful of other people on the basis of religion. This, too, is something I will set aside. Right now I am open to collaboration with absolutely anybody whose goal is to disrupt violence, harassment and cruelty inspired by Trump's rise to power. I do not care what makes them want to do the right thing, only that they want to do it.


source

We still have the power. That never changed. We are America. So are the confused, lost, angry people out there beating the tar out of each other, but you and I don't have to allow that. Now is the time, more than ever before, to set aside old hatreds.


source

There was never a time in a history of our nation without them, after all. America has always been a disjointed, constantly quarreling patchwork of different personalities and values, a ramshackle union of constituent parts which somehow worked better together...like any family.


source

That's normal. It's the most American thing in the world that we are free to argue over any issue with each another, so long as it doesn't pick the other fellow's pocket, nor break his leg. What isn't normal is group beatings, death threats and other behavior you wouldn't tolerate between family members.


source

America has been poisoned with insanity, fear and anger. It's up to us to be the cure, before innocent lives are claimed. We must not seek refuge, asking "who will save me from this?" We must all save one another from it.

Sort:  

What an emotional.., and intelligent FUCKING post!
And I must say -- I am appalled and embarrassed that somehow we have come to this place as a nation. Good stuff, man...

well said @macksby, I agree!!!

This is a beautiful post, especially the last line. "We must not seek refuge, asking "who will save me from this?" We must all save one another from it." Yes. Electing Trump could be the best thing we've ever done, if it helps us remember where the true power in the world lies and brings us together to use it.

Interesting post, excellent your point of view, thank you for sharing it, congratulations

Do you realize if Hillary had won, someone on Trump's side would be writing practically the same thing, only of course with different names? Just to clear things up I'm not from the US, I am looking at you from a neutral point and what I see is a divided nation, which isn't what it should be, Trump won, help him make a success of his term, sounds difficult eh? But it's the best thing you can do.

Indeed, being that I am over the age of 5, I am aware that people exist out there with opinions diametrically opposed to mine on this matter. I'm unsure why that's supposed to be some sort of mind expanding revelation. I didn't want Hillary either, I voted Johnson in an attempt to carve out a niche for more than two parties in this country and I don't regret it.

Look I've been reading a lot of posts not just here and apparently nobody liked Trump or Hillary, so why did these people vote for them? Wouldn't the logical thing be to not vote? That might actually have expanded a lot of other minds.

No, because voting for a third party can eventually fragment the current left/right dichotomy into a system more like European countries where many different parties all have a realistic chance of winning.

Also, did you read the article fully? This is not just another "oh no Trump" post but a call to disrupt violence resulting from the election outcome whether it's against Trump supporters or their habitual targets.

You don't have a left/right dichotomy in the US, maybe if Sanders had been a candidate you would have, what you had were two right wing elites with very dangerous ideas.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64