Free books!

in #education6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5020.JPG

I got free books! You probably don't know me, but if you did you would know that there is a lot of bouncing and happy dancing going on right now. The Tattered Cover, an indie book store here in Denver, offers educators in the area a chance to get advanced release copies for free. Advanced Release Copies are books that are printed prior to mass publishing to be offered to journalists, librarians, and other people who give feedback on the book. I was given two conditions for the books- 1. DO NOT SELL THEM (the lady literally said it in all caps guys. I got caps locked in real life) and 2. have the kids who read them write a short review. Since my students usually write a review of the books that they read anyway, that was pretty easy to agree to. I am so excited to stick these in my classroom library.

I have a pretty extensive classroom library. I have three bookshelves full of books, all organized by genre. At least, I think it's extensive. Until I try to find a book for a student. Their preferences are all over the place. Then I really wish it was just a smidge bigger. Or a lot bigger. My fantasy section takes up two full shelves- many of them my personal books that wandered over to my classroom library. In the last four years at my current school, I have had two of them actually get borrowed. Two. 1. 2. I fangirl a little when it happens actually, just because I really like talking to students about books that I have read. I probably scare kids off, I get that enthusiastic about it.

IMG_5022.JPG
And one of the ARC copies came with a sticker! I really like freebies. It's a problem.

One of my kids the other day privately told me, "Low-key miss, now that you make us read, I kind of like it". I tried not to dance right then and there, because it weirds kids out. But seriously, when she left, I was wiggling like there was no tomorrow. If that happens to just one kid in my whole career, then I'm good with it. The kids have to read a book of their choice, within their reading level, once a month, and do a short project on it. I offer a lot of choice with the projects- text someone about it, talk to someone and take video, write a letter to the author, write a script, write a review. There are a ton of options, and they are all designed to be completed in 15 minutes or so. I have never done the math to figure out what the rate of completion on my homework is- I'll keep my illusions, thank you. I know it's bad, but I don't need to know how bad. But having a kid tell me she's learning to like reading from my class? I'll take it.


mspgif.gif



Photos and text are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Two thumbs up! I love your enthusiasm for books and for encouraging the love of books in kids. I wish I have a teacher like you back in school :)

Your enthusiasm for books and reading leaps off the screen and is endearing. (You're also much younger than I thought!) I'm no teacher -English teachers are my heroes - but I come from a family of educators.

For my part, and out of selfish reasons as an author, I also try to cultivate a passion for literature in the little people of my life (I've got 19 nieces and nephews). Like you, I encourage them to write letters to the author & will take them along with me to book festivals and introduce them to writers.

Thank you, for what you do for books, @sunravelme; better readers make for better humans!

book sea.jpg

Ooooo next time I'm around my nieces and nephews I will have to take them to a book related event! I usually give them education related gifts, but now I know what the next gift will be!

Excellent! DC Book Fair is a treat, with activities, readings, free gifts, and edible food :) Miami book fair is another happening event - have fun!

It's wonderful doing what you're doing, helping the younger generation acquire the immense longtime benefit and happiness from reading. Even more pleasing is when the people you're trying to help appreciate it. So I can understand when you leaped for joy in your heart (implied) when your student appreciated your effort.

I have a pretty extensive classroom library. I have three bookshelves full of books, all organized by genre. At least, I think it's extensive.

Lol

All I can say is you've done marvelously well with the library you have.

Good job

Blessings

I have lucked out and had most of it paid for by the schools I work at, or by grants. I'm hoping that I will be able to start buying a few more books per month, so that I can bulk it up a little more with requests.

Continue to be inspired...I forget that you're in Denver. We need to connect at some point and share our favorite Steemit tales :)

Yaaaaaas our Rocky Mountain group plans tons of meet ups! Hopefully we will get a chance to connect :)

It’s so wondetful that you are inspiring kids to read! I totally get that you would be doing a happy dance when one of them reveals they have discovered the wonder of literature. Kudos to you!

Thank you! It gets really exciting when they find books they like and ask for specific ones.

Aw, very inspiring post!

When I was in school we had a similar reading project, but only once, not monthly. We could choose a book from the school library (it was a big deal that we even had one because the school was pretty small) and had to do some small tasks, like summaries of chapters or other things I can´t remember.
It was much more fun than reading books the teacher chose, because everyone had something they were interested in and I think that had an impact.

I think it´s great that you spark the interest to read in your pupils, well done :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26