Fly Fishing - Choosing a Fly

in #education6 years ago

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



Image Source


Fly Fishing - Choosing a Fly


Introduction

One of the most critical aspects of ensuring success with fly fishing is mastering the task of choosing the right fly for the environment and conditions you will be fishing in. the difference in choice from one fly to the next could be the difference in landing a monster fish or driving home empty handed. We will briefly explore the various considerations you should examine when choosing a fly at your favorite stream, as well as the different categories of flies and what they mean to you in the field.


Variety, Variety, Variety

Image Source Pixabay
Enough cannot be said about having a large variety of different types of flies with you when you venture out to the streams, rivers, and ponds. The type of fly you will use will depend greatly upon the location you choose to fish and the weather conditions on that particular day. What may work in the spring on your favorite stream may not work in the fall. Flies are intended to mimic the colors and movements of the local insects, worms, and other creepy-crawlies the fish would be feeding on during the time and at the area you are fishing. That is why the greater variety you have to choose from, the better the chance you have of matching a fly to whatever is buzzing/crawling around when you are at the fishing location.

Wet or Dry

Generally flies are divided into two major groups: Dry flies and wet flies. Dry flies mimic flying insects or an insect that has fallen onto the top of the water from the trees. They are designed to float on top of the water and the goal is to elicit a top-water strike. It has been my experience that dry flies work much better in warmer weather and climates. A sub-group of the dry fly section is what is referred to as poppers. Poppers are usually made out of foam or cork and make a distinctive “popping” noise when you pull the line. They are usually larger than most dry flies and are excellent on ponds and lakes for bass and panfish. They most resemble larger flying insects such as flies, beetles, bees, etc.



I've caught more fish on this type of popper than all the other flies I've tried combined. Bettis Popper



Bubble Bee Popper



Dry Fly



Another Dry Fly


Wet flies are intended to be used underwater and attempt to mimic various insects in the larvae stage of development and also small fish or minnows.. They are made out different types of materials and many times a strike indicator is used to assist the angler in seeing when the bait is being taken. Some varieties of wet flies are zebra midges, San Juan worms, wooly boogers, and minnows.



Pink San Juan Worm. Super powerful wet fly



Zebra Midge Wet Fly



Modified Minnow - Excellent for aggressive fish such as Croppie, Bass, Etc.


Conclusion

Again, not enough can be said about ensuring that you have an abundant variety of flies when you hit the trails. Most flies are relatively small compared to traditional fishing lures and several different types can be carried in a small pouch or in a pocket. I personally have a side-sling style bag and I have several hard plastic cases. I separate the flies in the categories of wet, dry, and poppers. The cases have clear sides so a quick peek will tell me what type of flies are inside. When I get to a new stream, or one that I haven’t fished in awhile, I turn over some rocks and look through some leaves to see what kind of insects are abundant and then I try to match them to any number of flies that I have in my cases. I hope this shed a little light on the proper selection process for flies and I thank you for taking the time to read it. Tight lines!


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I always like using that dry fly up top as both an attractor and an indicator with the nymph below. That midge sure looks nice for trout. :)

Shoot. It's been so long, I'll need my glasses for sure to see the dry fly nowadays.

Thanks for the support and for taking the time to comment. It's funny you mention glasses, I'm finding it much, much harder to get the flies on the fas snaps....lol That midge is deadly in fall and winter!

Do you make your flies? I know fly fishing is an art in itself and I know I could never get it to fly out without getting tangled lol

I've been fly fishing since I was about 8 years old and I still get tangled EVERY TIME I go out! lol I have all of the tools and materials to tie my own flies, but I just do not have the time. It is much easier for me to buy them. I have a few guys on Etsy I buy from.

I seen someone make one before and, ya it took a long time. Something to do as a hobby when you retire and have more time. Oooooor spend that much more time fishing :p

Great post. You covered it pretty well! I think the flies I have caught the most fish on are the Woolly Bugger, Bead Head Prince Nymph and the Bead Head Hare's Ear.

That wooly booger has slayed many a fish! Thanks for the support!

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

I know nothing about fly fishing, other than what you just taught me, however your Tolkien quote is awesome. I'm a big fan of his writing. I discovered it as a 9 year old when I read The Hobbit and have been hooked since.

See what I did there? Hooked? Like in fishing? Had to bring my comment back to the topic of your post somehow! :)

Ps. If you live in Australia and frequent the outback you come to hate flies pretty quickly. :)

I love Tolkien! The worlds he created caught my imagination at a young age as well and I was never able to cast him from my thoughts for very long.. Ah, two can play that game...lol We have a few biting flies in my area and I much prefer the fake ones.

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

I don't know much about fly fishing and it's not really popular here, but it's a good read for knowledge. Thank you for the sharing.
(those flies really colourful!)

Thank you for taking the time to read it!

It's my pleasure!

Great info! Thank you for sharing, A lot of similar concepts to the way I choose a lure so I hope it's an easy grasp when I start fly fishing

It is extremely similar to other types of lure selection. Be careful though, fly fishing easily becomes an all consuming obsession! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88