THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 64 - EASTERN NARROW MOUTHED TOAD

in #education6 years ago

This creature is one cool little frog!


I never had the pleasure of meeting this species until we moved to Arkansas, but I sure do like seeing them around! While it is called a "toad" in its name, it is actually a frog. Interestingly enough, these feed primarily on ants and only grow to about two inches in length.

Thanks to the son of @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood for supplying me with this one too. Enjoy the video my friends, and I'll see you in the wild! The information is the video and post is original, but I did have a quick refresher from this source

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 64

EASTERN NARROW MOUTHED TOAD


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-narrow-mouthed-toad

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Oh yes, frog
Very steady animal.
They mind their biz.
It looks small though.

Loading...

Hey good to know about that amphibians are a good indicator of a healthy ecosystem, because they absorb all the surrounding chemicals from the environment through their skin.

We recently switched out our pool cleaning system from chlorine based to a Ionizer-Heavy Metal system where it dissolves copper and silver into the pool water to kill algae and bacteria. Must be less toxic as all the frogs and toads and even salamanders have returned to the area and are loud as hell at night!

I can recall a time when the pool smelled of chlorine, and there were no frogs around. Just lots of pesty insects. Not the same!

Interesting, I never heard of that kind of pool cleaning system.

This frog is so small why it is poisonous and poisonous but whatever you do is a great job which is very good for my work...

Beautiful creature. I remember some time last week seeing a purely yellow frog. I was wowed but unluckily, my phone wasn't with me to take photos.

You ooze with confidence and courage which is why you find it very comfortable handling these creatures.....quite interesting

We have a beautiful world with amazing creatures around.
Its great that you spare some time to interact with you environment...including the wild!
Thanks for sharing

Keep steeming!

Thanks man! I love being out in the wild with the animals!

Hi @papa-pepper, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

He is a really cute little fellow. I would love to have these guys here. We have an overabundance of ants here. They are so bad here near the beach that my friend bought a pair of anteaters!

Really? A pair of anteaters? You should take some photos and make a post about that... if you haven't already.

I haven't yet! Just a little problem. I need to cross a danger zone for the protests to get to his place. I don't want to be dodging mortars.

This is a rare one for me, i must admit. Papa knows too much haha. I haven't seen this before, and it is good to see. The little frog wants to run away to play. Well done Papa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71227.76
ETH 3816.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43