Punctuation saves lives!

in #education7 years ago (edited)

                      

Image source

Punctuation is extremely important when writing.  Not everyone understand this properly and in the above sentence you can see that by NOT using proper punctuation it can even change the meaning of a sentence. The problem with poor punctuation usage is that it makes life very difficult for readers who needs to read and understand what you have written.    

I often mark essays, and it can become extremely tiring sometimes, to try and figure out precisely what a student wants to say. What triggers me even more, is the fact that most students just don't care.  They expect to receive good marks and do not understand that it actually take hours to mark these essays. If they spend more time focusing on the punctuation part, then my life would be much easier!

Why is punctuation so important?


Many centuries ago, in the Hellenic Egyptian city of Alexandria, there was a brilliant man named Aristophanes.  He was a librarian, and in charge of one of the biggest libraries in town. In those days, it was extremely time consuming to read.  The Greeks wrote without using any punctuation where the letters ran together withnospaceorpunctuation. They also did not care about using capital letters.  It was all up to the reader to decide where to start each sentence or where the next one began.  One day, he just had enough. He was sick and tired of struggling to read, and developed a type of punctuation system that developed into the punctuation we have today.  

I am very grateful for Aristophanes that made reading so much easier.  When I was in high school, I had an extremely competent English teacher.  She taught me to love this language, and I went out of my way to learn as much as possible.  She obviously made an impact on me, as today I am an English teacher myself.  Even though this is not my first language, I prefer speaking and writing English.  

I am fanatic about punctuation and spelling and nothing makes me angrier, than incorrect spelling, and people not following the spelling rules.  Thank goodness someone had the sense to develop a computer program to fix spelling and grammar mistakes, otherwise I might have landed in some kind of psychiatric hospital because of this obsession.  

The key to successful writing and punctuation success is to keep it simple.  Don't over-complicate things. 

Please follow me 

Sort:  

You have such a valid point. It can be quite numbing to have to figure out what the piece is meant to read like when poorly punctuated!

True right...and then some students want to go back to the dark ages...LOL!

Always, if its to their advantage!!

I agree it's easier for the reader....but.....I am dyslexic and a writer and sometimes it grinds my gears when people aim to write and punctuation gets pulled upon every time. As a writer having a creative mind is better than good punctuation. Saying that I wouldn't sell many books without a good editor!

The fact that you are writing this is amazing to me! This means that you can overcome any obstacle in your life. (There are definitely exceptions though) I agree that a creative mind should come first but when people read, they do expect proper grammar and punctuation usage. I am just obsessed with this. LOL!

Thank you :-) It's frustrating mines quite mild but I have friends who have severe dyslexia and we have all finished degrees, but if we read from textbooks the way we write we wouldn't have done it lol so grammar is important. I think it has made my mind creative because you have to think outside the box. Alot of dyslexic people wont write though because of it and that is a shame.

I have a student that failed the same grade 3 times because he was dyslexic and the teachers just did not care. I told the mom to remove him from school and to home school him. He then had the individual attention he needed. He was brilliant at Maths though....

This:

The key to successful writing and punctuation success is to keep it simple. Don't over-complicate things.

Thank you for posting. I am very sure you will find lots of punctuation mistakes here on Steemit. :)

I do but I don't have to grade these posts! It is terrifying to grade essays and you have to rewrite half of these! LOL!

Lol! I was thinking what if you called yourself a Punctuation Police and graded all of our posts.

Damn. People will hate you! :P

I have student in class, that corrects everyone's grammar in class. It annoys me terribly so I would not dream of doing this! I am biting my nails sometimes though...LOL!

I think I may have told you about my friend Tom Bertonneau at the Mackinaw Center (a think tank in Michigan). He does studies on education and after interviewing the people that do the hiring at several major corps. (GM, Ford, etc.) the number one complaint about recent college grads is that NOBODY can write.

I have the opposite problem, I tend to punctuate the way I speak. If I want a pause, I add a comma; for a longer pause a semicolon, etc..

People struggle to read and write these days....I tend to do that too. I did an activity today where students only had to add commas in the paragraph, and they could not do this properly, after ensuring me they know exactly what they are doing. Ha ha! Practice makes perfect.

Having learned to write by reading (I had no formal education until I was in my 40's) I find that some of the best authors are actually some of the worst writers- grammatically speaking.

Wow that is brilliant @richq11 I salute you! You should write a post about this sometime. Seems like you caught up though...lol! Nothing wrong with your grammar or spelling!

I've written a few... My life story, The Kid That Became A Guy. Me And The Math Teacher...

I will check it out immediately! I love reading about other people's lives!

It's old, I wrote it 3-4 months ago

I like reading! Here on Steemit a post is old after 6 hours. LOL!

Words and sentences are vague without punctuation's. Lesson refreshed dear @giantbear

Ha ha ....see I can't stop teaching!

It makes me sad that in this era people has reading more accessible but doesn't do it, that's how I end up chatting with a family member and I don't know what the F they are saying because they aren't using any punctuation, exclamation or interrogation signs.

Don't get me started on reading! Kids don't read these days and that is why they can't spell or write properly. If they just understood how important it is to improve yourself.

true

Not only does it save lives, it can also save a lot of money!

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/03/16/lack-of-oxford-comma-costs-maine-company-millions-in-overtime.html

Fair play to the little man!

This has such a relevance in the world today . Young people today (like myself)will never understand how important it is to use the correct punctuation ,until it causes them problems later in life .

I tell you this every single day...lol...read and learn! Practice makes perfect!

This post has certainly struck a nerve in a lot of people I see LOL!

Have a good week sister.

Hi Barry hope you are doing good? Seems like it actually did struck a nerve...lol

I am getting by.

I do not hear much from you on my posts now but you are missed! I hope you have a nice week sister.

Thank you. I am so busy I hardly have time to write. I have 42 books for school to revamp and it is taking up all my time. My boss thinks I am wonder woman!

but you are a @giantbear lol

And a tired @giantbear. Am on my pc for at least 13 hours per day!

yes, I relate, injuries and life on my end sister.

I wish you well!!

but, with so many choices; many and varied, it's difficult to know what to do. So many simply don't even try.
Whatareyagonado? ;-)

Whatyougonnadoifthepunctuationpolicecomesforyou?

Imgonarunforthehillshehehehe

Yabetterstartrunning! Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59