Experimental Learning - Space Education; By Dr. Dorit Israeli

in #education8 years ago

During my working years as a teacher and as a headmaster of a Sciences Center and also as a lecturer in universities, I developed several educational programs, to benefit the students, and all in the area of experimental learning.

One of the most beautiful and colorful (in my opinion) was the Space and aviation project.
In order to give a motion of space environmental surrounding, I defined one of the classrooms, in the center, as a space view (see pictures). All the activities and learning of Space subjects took place in this classroom.

pic1.jpg

Most of learning was done while the students (age 10-15) were laying on the floor, faces to the ceiling and in dark classroom, gazing at the presentations of space projected on the ceiling and on the walls (see pictures).
The presentations contained stars maps and the shape of the vast universe all around our planet - Earth.

pic2.jpg

In another activity the students defined and built space ships, space colonies and so on, all connected to the space subject. All the buildings materials were recycled (I went to several factories and took their garbage).

pic3.jpg pic4.jpg

The students also prepared their own presentations and lectured to the class. One of the main self-presentation was the Space quiz. The quiz took place in our auditorium and all classes participated.

DSCF0001.jpg DSCF1455.jpg DSCF1452.jpg

In my opinion, this way of learning and teaching is the best, for the students and the teachers as well.
During the activities I noticed the children faces, they seemed to be happy with the activities, they collaborated with the teachers and most importantly they learned the subject very well.

DSCF1450.jpg

Later, I took this model and implemented it to other subjects.
As you can imagine, the Space subject was very colorful and interesting, but you can perform experimental learning in every other subject.

Next post will describe my animal's corner in school.

Sort:  

Hello dori-israeli, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Great Work - Keep on Steeming!

Thanks a lot, soon I will post hear more interesting work.

Sweet. I wish we had this in school back in the day lol

Thank you, me too.

Hey Dorit, i wish more teacher like you would use original ways like that to teach students.

It is a great opportunity for them to learn, unfortunatly today not many can do this.

To wrap it up - it was done in a room fool of computers! And the kids dont even care, how cool is that?

Maybe the teachers of today can learn something from you!

Thanks, I am touched from your responce. I hope teachers will read my post and use my program with their students, that's the maine reson I posted it.
soon will be chapter 2 - our Petting zoo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51