A postman without letter

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Zumka was so friendly today. I remember when I met her first time when visiting the slums. She was playing with a fish and answering me with avoiding behavior.

Zumka is not student of our school @SchoolForSDG4 also she is not a student of any school. Her duty is to play with friends and go to fish market for work and get some fish as payment. Sometimes she earn some money too.

Why I couldn't support her ? I asked myself several times. But if I raise excuses, they changed slums and I couldn't find her to admit at school. Also still don't know where she live in. Today I met her when I was going to Women Empowerment riding my Bicycle. She called me "Sir" "Sir" . I felt I am post man and she need a letter of "Rights to access better education" " Right to find better future like other children" . My bicycle was going forward passing her but I was trying to stop pulling the break and I called "Hey, Zumka"

20171208_155726.jpg

my first question was "Where have you been long time?" She replied she was village and returned few days ago. She wish to come school. However, this is ending time for our academic calendar but I told him to come school tomorrow. I also said that she will get some surprise in few days. As you know @girlbeforemirror sent some gifts for kids. So I wish to share this with Zumka.

20171208_155733(0).jpg

But later I asked who are they with her. They are her friends and she was requesting me to admit one of them who are right side of the picture. They are not street children. They have identity. The left side kid work in a restaurant. He was with using one kind of drugs. I have seen may people do it but it is first time I saw a kid is using it. The things was in his mouth and he was not speaking.

Zumka's father lives in a village and mother is a street beggar. I have seen her several times walking here and there. I talked with her about Zumka. She looks like not understanding anything .

20170303_162652.jpg

The picture was taken 3 March 2017, when I went to find kids who are out of school. But the picture of Zumka mean lot to me. The small room was her living room but I found no equipment in the room.

Untitled.jpg

I was luck that I have grown this area and working with them and learning how life is difficult for some people. This fish might be her earning after working at market.

Let's see if she come school tomorrow. If we can support her providing education. I am searching for more needy family but it looks like that more needy kids don't need education but food first. On the other hand, parents need support financially.

Within our current setup, we will able to help 50 kids next year. We are also planing to make a project to generate revenue for school. Also we can add more kids in 2018 if we can do it.



May god help me to keep them at school. It is going harder to stop drop out. Sumon, Junayed, Alal-uddin stopped to come school. Earn money instead leaning. But the money is very little that you can't imagine.

Read More about our projects

Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. XVIII

by @Lindahas

Today I gave 18.75 USD = 1500 BDT to Jamila Begum (Al-amin's mother) on Behalf of SchoolForSDG4

by @Azizbd

Beanies Bound for Bangladesh.

by @girlbeforemirror

How the kids are Learning at School For SDG4 💓💓 || Part 18 ||💓💓

by @SchoolForSDG4

Upcycle your old discarded sweater.

by @girlbeforemirror

A Dollar A Day - an update on charitable giving on steemit - why it's real for me

by @pennsif

Speaker, Microphone and Modem : Are they important to add @SchoolForSDG4 ?

by @SchoolForSDG4

20170303_171358.jpg

Keep Supporting me by Resteem and Upvotes.

Please contact me @Azizbd for any information https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd .

Join @Adsactly Community


Adsactly is a Autonomous Decentralized Society Acting Cooperatively to Leverage You.

|| Twitter || Discord || Steemit ||


Sort:  

We are nearing the end and I am gonna work on a long term solution and plan to see how much more we can help. Bless you for all you are doing for these kids. But make sure you take care of yourself too. Make sure you are getting enough sleep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94