The grandmother lie

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Dear teachers and professors,

We (Stella and I) have read an article in Shit Academics Say about how grandmothers appear to die just for final exams. Then, for writing this article we found out that actually there’s a several number of texts on that particular matter: teachers making fun of this or sharing their struggle about how not to act like an asshole nor an innocent easy-to-trick fool.

Ok, let’s be honest. Stella and I have been students for a long time now and we are both teachers.

First thing first, Stella claims she has never used the dead grandmother’s tale before but she has told that some family members were sick (not the ones she cares about). Truth be told, lying about the health or life of someone close to you feels like crap.

In my case, and I’m Alex by the way, I have “killed” a several range of family members to avoid presenting exams or simply going to classes in the University.

Hold on, I know what you are thinking. I don’t feel bad for telling lies about such a serious topic because I have never done it without a good reason. One time I said my grandmother died, but actually I had to go to court to testify against my mother, I just didn’t want to have to say that. Another time I said my mother died because I had an emergency psychologist appointment. Stella told the lie because she had other kinds of trouble with her family and she was devastated… See where I’m heading?

Let’s face it, if you haven’t study for your exam, having a few more days aren’t going to give you any advantage.

On the other hand, in one article, a professor says that he can relate with the event of a grandmother actually dying before the exam, but he’s not that naïve to believe all his students when they provide this excuse for missing an exam. So, he would ask for evidence (copy of death certificate or an obituary), even knowing that everyone will think the worst of him for making such and insensitive demand. Maybe I understand why he does this, I mean, probably it gets a little annoying having always someone in your class, semester by semester, saying the same thing. Especially if you had already identified that this student is often the one doing worst at the class and perhaps you know that this guy could’ve tried a little harder instead of lying. Yeah, I get that.

For me, as a student it was a relief to have classes with the kind of professors that wouldn’t ask questions. The fact that they trusted me showed respect when I needed it. As a teacher, I want to let my students know that I respect them; and understand that probably what sounds like a lame excuse is code for “I’m not feeling well right now, I need some time to be at my best again”.

Come on teachers, let your students share as much as they want and even if you know deep down they are telling lies there is no need to take it personal (it is their education after all). Sure, it can be really frustrating when grandmothers happen to die just when the final exams are taking place but

………….guess what……………..

some grandmothers do not chose when to die and some of your students do not have to trust you with their problems.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

Congratulations @alexduarte! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @alexduarte! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52