How open are you about your emotions?

in #ecotrain6 years ago
Open or closed. Like we are a jar of pickles. Even if are an open jar, we can still end up like *Pickle Rick, so is being open really a good word choice? Before I continue my previous train of thought that started with What does it mean to "own" your emotion?" and go on to this second part of the story (and yes, the third part is coming too) let's revisit the first analogy used. In my first post on this, I introduced you to owning a mask. Your knowledge of when to take that mask off and when to put it on is "owning it". To get more idea about what mask I am talking about, read that first post. Here, we will discuss those moments when the mask is off in more detail and go on a little journey of self-discovery to see how "open" about our emotions we really are. What really happens when the mask comes off and are we even ready for it?

Instead of using a word "open" I am leaning more to that of transparency. We could be, as people say "an open book" but what if that book is in a foreign language that nobody, not even us, can understand. Being open and being transparent are two very different things. Being open alone leaves a big possibility to be fake while being transparent is being genuine to oneself and realizing who we really are. If you are ready to take the mask off and join me on this little journey, find a mirror. We are going to have a little exercise.


We are often too subjective when it comes to us which is perfectly normal. After all, we are looking at us from inside, not outside. A change of perspective can sometimes be a fresh and revealing experience. To be open with others can seem like an important thing. In my humble opinion, it is far more important to be open and honest with yourself first. People can not know us if we ourselves do not have that knowledge and understanding.

“To know yourself,
leave the illusion
that you already do, behind.”



Take a look at yourself in the mirror. Take a good long look. Who do you see? Try to be as objective as possible. Take a figurative step back from yourself and observe yourself like you would a stranger. That person you are looking at and trying to get to know is someone else. This kind of approach is good when we need to put some things in perspective. Observing yourself this way can seem odd or even scary at first, but I assure you that it brings great benefits. Give it a try.


Alice? Are you ready to go down that rabbit hole? Are you sure? There is no telling what you may find. I will never forget what one very smart and wise person said "Digging inside yourself is like digging through a pile of sh*t." There is so much sh*it inside of us. Learned behavior, conditioned reactions, self-doubt, self-delusion, and fear provoked responses.

“You learn who you are by unlearning who they taught you to be.”
― Nikki Rowe

Have you ever been formally introduced to yourself? We do that with others, but not with ourselves. Not many people put the effort to learn about their faults and strengths. Not many people are honest with themselves about their emotions and it is always their choice. You choose not to know yourself and you choose not to do the work of self-discovery. You can just as easily choose to work on yourself. Keep looking at that mirror. Who do you see now?


You are free to act like you want. You are free to think what you want and you are free to live your life as you please. Wouldn't it be nice if you were happy while you were living it? Happiness comes from freedom, and freedom is the result of being true to oneself.

“Are you true to yourself?"



When people speak of being open about your emotions, they usually talk about crying when you want to cry, smiling too. Being openly emotional is expressing yourself freely and speaking your mind. Hugging people when you want, showing anger or sadness when you feel them. You do not really have to do that. There are no rules that you have to follow here except being who you are. We are all different. Some people express their feeling more often. Do not compare yourself with others. Compare yourself only to yourself from the past. Are you a better person today than you were yesterday? Before obsessing with are you open to others, focus on becoming honest and transparent with yourself first. Everything else will follow naturally. Your relationship to yourself is always reflected in all your relationships with others anyway.

Self-awareness is the key
to self-love because
when you know yourself,
love is really an only option.

UNTIL NEXT TIME,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!



All images used in this post are made using those that are under CC0 license which means they are free for personal and commercial use. You can find the original image by following this link: tweetyspics
- the smoke clipart used is from Free Clip Art Library
- the bitmoji is well... my bitmoji. Get yours at https://www.bitmoji.com/

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

UH, yes, the learned behavior. That one is really big and even more intrusive than self doubt and low confidence. Unless we really sit down and discuss certain things in detail , there will be like zero progress on emotional or even mental plan.
In emotional plan, as expected, I am direct like a blunt end of a shovel ( so either I feel and show, or don't feel a thing and have nothing to express... simple ) , but on mental plan the things can get complicated.
Essentially, I think of those two like same thing but one causes the tears and another a headache. (!!!)
Me telling somebody that a pattern they adopted is not really necessary for getting into a tune to ourselves ( some people really need that, most of us need a few laughs and a movie night...) starts a whole avalanche of the reasons for and against.
To draw a line, to much sh*t to clean in one sitting, so it requires some work.

Oh yeah, way too much sh*t for just one sitting, it is (in my opinion) a lifelong work. But hey, it is always an interesting work and it brings so much 💚

Great post!
My jar of pickles is tightly shut, except to a very few. Being open and 'owning' your emotions and who you are is not an easy task!
Thanks for the inspiration! ♥

It is not an easy task, pretty hard actually but we can try. Good luck 💚💚💚

oh wow, what a deep and reflective post on this QOTW! I really like how you have drawn us in to our own self inquiry, and posed some very good questions! Who i see when I look in the mirror is SUCH a hard question to answer! I have gazed for many minutes quite intently as a process before, and that is quite a powerful exercise..

<3

Mirrors are a great tool to use in your self-work. We do not look at ourselves enough. Did you know that some people do not even look at the mirror while they are brushing their teeth? Now, there is a serial problem, to not be able to look at oneself at least once a day. Thank you for your lovely comment honey 💚

a very interesting read
I have to admit I am one that wears a mask, very few actually know the real me and my emotional side

As long as you do not wear that mask with yourself, I have no problem with that. Being honest with yourself is far more important than being honest with others.

@zen-art Very true No I know myself well as does my wife, so that is good :)

Beautifully written @zen-art. I enjoyed reading this and it's such a beautiful message that you shared. You're also right you can't be truly open and honest with others unless you are with yourself.

Yes, being honest with ourselves is a crucial first step to everything else 💚

An excellent Post.So thought provoking. You bring up points I haven't really thought of in this Context.

I think taking a personal, honest 'inventory' of ourselves is something we all should strive for.

Thanks for the post @zen-art

You are very sweet, thank you for your lovely comment 💚

This is such a great subject and I know I'm a open book as in my emotions are written on my face and sometimes people know my feelings before I do. Mabye not that drastic but enough for me to wish I could hide a little.
If I lie you can tell and only time I don't show is when I grief as I rather be there for others and wait to cry until I'm alone and even then I don't allow myself to really cry enough.
That's my working progress. I belive in honesty and if I do wrong I can't let it go in my head so I need to fix it. I can't really tell what kind of person I am really and open book can mean many different things. I think there are times I may have worn a mask... But I do know I'm true to myself almost always 😉 lol
Well written and a good reminder and made me think... Thank you for sharing.
Have a wonderful week beautiful.
Much love! 💖🌹🤗🌹💖

We all wear a mask sometimes, it is even healthy sometimes, but that mask should never be worn when looking at our selves. And honey, cry, tears are beautiful, they are melted emotions. You have a great week too 💚

There are often misconceptions about "opening up", probably leading to the belief that it's a sign of weakness. To accept and acknowledge our emotions, and to act objectively in spite of it, is truly a test of character.

That is a very wrong learned behavior that someone long long long time ago started and we did not get away from it yet. I hope we will soon. 💚

You are free to act like you want. You are free to think what you want and you are free to live your life as you please. Wouldn't it be nice if you were happy while you were living it? Happiness comes from freedom, and freedom is the result of being true to oneself.

THIS!!!!! ^^ I love the way you lay out your ideas and constantly invite us to be honest with ourselves, and kind. Being true to myself has always been important to me, but sometimes knowing what steps to take gets tricky. Taking a step back and 'witnessing' yourself can be so helpful. 💖

Yes, witnessing ourselves can be very helpful and empowering too. We get a fresh perspective. Thank you for your lovely words honey 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61164.79
ETH 2416.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63